We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Guembe Hostel House
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loi Suites Iguazu(Puerto Iguazu)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saint George(Puerto Iguazu)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panoramic Grand(Puerto Iguazu)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tupa Hotel Boutique(Puerto Iguazu)
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
18
34
34
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
34
34
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conditioningin townrouterhammockswifi
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'll start with the negatives:
The wifi refused to connect to our devices (but there was a computer in the lobby which you could use)
The room smelled slightly moldy (but was greatly improved by the air-conditioning)
Two bathrooms for everyone without en-suite bathrooms

But there were a ton of positives:
Very cheap (60 pesos per person per night - and we basically had a private room because we had 5 people for a 5-bed dorm)
Air-conditioning (a lifesaver in the weather + great to keep the insects out)
Location (2 blocks from the bus station and 1 from a great little ice-cream shop)
Kitchen and parrilla fully utilizable and they didn't complain despite us cooking all day err day
The receptionists were very friendly and let us use the lockers, store our bags and even use the bathrooms after we checked out (and even before we checked in)

All in all, we had a pretty great stay for the price we paid. Don't expect luxury, speak some Spanish (their English isn't great at all) and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows (for some natural light) and/or air-conditioning
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I've read quite horrible reviews about this hostel and it is not that awful! It's far from great however.

There is a nice swimming pool and a breakfast with home made cake , juice, bread ... Basic but enough
The girls at the réception are very nice and helpful.
The rooms are ok, but our smelt a bit mold.
They do not seem to clean the shared bathrooms everyday
The hostel is not very expensive and you get what you pay for. It seems that they are doing the minimum effort to keep up the hostel.
Not a bas stay. But not the best hostel ever. But if you are on a budget, consider the opportunity

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CnCaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I booked into this hostel after having a pretty mouldy experience in another hostel nearby and I was hoping for a good nights sleep and a hot shower.
They were pretty helpful when I arrived letting me check in at 9am as the room was ready. The girl didn't speak English, but I don't speak very good Spanish so can't complain and we got round communication with Google translate.
Returning from my day trip out I took a shower that was hot, but getting out I noticed there was a dead cockroach on the floor. Then more live ones started to appear. The guy on reception was very helpful coming to the room to remove the dead cockroach and get rid of the live ones explaining that there are occasional cockroaches in the area, but the hostel didn't have a problem. Then more appeared and it was to much for me.
After one sleepless night in the hostel (it was now late at night and I had paid) I hightailed it out of there to a more expensive but clean option.
I spoke to some other people who had been there a few nights and they said that they had no problems so maybe I was unlucky.
Saving graces - location is good, very close to the bus station. Also the staff on reception were as helpful as they could be. But if you hate cockroaches like me, then don't stay there!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_A3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The hostel is extremely dirty. The room smells of damp walls. There are plenty of blood marks of dead insects on the wall, and for me the worse is bed linen. So dirty, we were thankful we had sleeping bags with us. The bathroom was even worse, the smell was amazing. We had to give up and pass on shower.
The staffs are smiley, but unfortunately not helpful and not informative. Any question and they shrug their shoulders, offering to call the manager, who unfortunately does not answer the phone.
Comparing to another hostels in South America this one dose not allowed you to hang around after check out and they don’t offer luggage storage. This facility is available at the bus terminal but only until 7pm.
Puerto Iguazu is a beautiful place; don’t spoil your time by staying in this inhospitable hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwaDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Sinc it's one of the cheapest in Iguazu, it was a good hostel. There's a pool for when it's too hot and air conditioning in the rooms. It's not that clean though and breakfast is average, like anywhere else but white a homemade cake.
I really disliked that we had to wait the whole day for our bus after check out and they wanted us to pay for using the shower and even the pool! It was really hot and we were bored, I don't really understand what it would cost them to let us use the pool but I found it insulting (I understand the shower, but why not the pool?). Not enough bathrooms.

It's not the best hostel there is but if you're on a budget, it's definitely fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieSultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews