We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cautiva Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cautiva Lodge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Staff spoke no English when we were there,completely understandable. But there was no hot water and they couldn't understand when we were telling them, it states there is free wifi and there was none. Our rooms was very old and bed linen had stains all over them. It was a bit out of the way we paid $85 a night and didn't stay there our second nit I would recommend staying somewhere different

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had a great 3 night stay in La Cautiva over Christmas. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The pool area was very clean and spacious. The kids spent hours playing in the pool. The 2 bedroom villas were very clean and spacious and well air conditioned. The restaurant was basic but nice and there was a well stocked wine cellar. The kids loved playing on the grounds while we sat over our dinner...they discovered all types of fruit trees as well as ducks and frogs. The staff brought us to and from the falls as well as to the airport. The lodge is located off the beaten track so you need to either walk alot or get taxi/remises to and from the town or the falls. The only slight inconveniences were that the credit card facilities were not working so everything had to be paid by cash, and the internet didnt always work but if you are a relaxed taveller and dont get bothered by little hiccups then you'll love La Cautiva.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were disappointed with the bungalow for the cost, and quite concerned about the safety of the narrow, steep, and largely unprotected stairway to upstairs for young children. There were quite a few other issues that were not great: a temperamental shower that required continual adjustment to avoid scalding/freezing, toilet that blocked often, pretty foul dishcloths, a so-so breakfast of many breads but nothing fresh, a banging window shutter we had to fix ourselves, lumpy uncomfortable pillows, an unclean pool, very very unclean pool toilets, and most egregious, being told we were using what we thought were bathmats incorrectly (so that they got...dirty). The problem we could not overcome was roofing iron coming loose on the last night of our stay during a storm and then banging incredibly loudly for hours until the storm subsided. The next day when we asked the hotel what they would like to do about it they replied nothing - we should have got up in the middle of the night in the middle of the storm with our three children and moved to another bungalow (where we no doubt would have still heard the noise anyway). On the plus side there was free wifi everywhere and we enjoyed the lodge's pleasant surroundings. While it is some distance from the town centre there are some interesting things to do nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

La Cautiva is very well looked after. It looks stunning, pool is big, the area is really nice to relax at the end of the day. We stayed in a bungalow for 6 people, 1 double room and 2 bunkbeds in other room. We were only 4 people, so space was not an issue. However, there was only one bathroom, the kitchen was not well stocked and we only had 2 seats outside. The owners do have a food delivery option for lunch only. This was good value at only 28 pesos/person. They have a restaurant which serves food in the evening, breakfast is average.
When you visit the falls, book a remis (taxi) from town. We paid 140 pesos return, whereas the hotel were asking 260! The location is out of town, but this was not an issue as we had the remis booked each day. There is a supermarket 3k from hotel which offers much cheaper wine than the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
2.0 mi away
Yreta Apart
Yreta Apart
#32 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
#29 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
#21 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Iguazu Rey Hostel
#36 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.8 mi away
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
#22 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toucan Lodge
Toucan Lodge
#50 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cautiva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cautiva Lodge

Property: La Cautiva Lodge
Address: Calle Apostoles 90 | Zona de Granja, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cautiva Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cautiva Lodge is a unique place in Puerto Iguazú. It has 5 cabins fully equipped with capacity up to 6 people. We also offer classic and deluxe rooms. A jungle and quiet environment that only in La Cautiva Lodge you will find. Experience jungle just minutes away from the Iguazu National Park. It is the ideal place to connect with the green and natural. La Cautiva Lodge is an eco-friendly and environmentally friendly hotel. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Cautiva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing