We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overpriced, management has no pride in their property”
Review of Los Helechos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Helechos
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The positive about this hotel is that it is in a moderately quiet side street, and yet close to the bus station and several reasonably good restaurants as well as the central bus station, from where the falls and all else can be reached. But this is about where the positive ends. The hotel looks like nobody has thought of renovating it for 30 years, and it's just being used as a cash cow to milk all the tourists who after all have to stay somewhere. It is definitely not three stars, perhaps 1 or 2. the bathrooms look like they have been added later, they are tiny tiny tiny, barely enough to even get in, and yet they are grimy and in need of remodeling. The furniture is old, not very functional, and partly broken. But the worst may be the breakfast - they have no interest in making it even a little appealing, all you get is dry bread, margarine and jello from the common small plastic containers.

Some TLC could do wonders for this place - but there isn't anybody caring about such kinds of things, rather they charge horrendous prices for which you can stay in a plush Marriott resort in the US. The worst price-performance ratio I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeoPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Had to spend one night here as the brazilian consulate was closed for 2 days so our trip was pushed back. Had come from a beautiful B and B named Casa Yaguarete. It was 100 pesos cheaper and a million times better.

Los Helechos was a complete rip off, unless you are paying 100 pesos for a double, its not worth it. The TV was 13 inches and was fuzzy half the time, the toilet ran all night, the sheets kept coming off the matress as they werent big enough for the bed, the sink had ants crawling all over it, the air cond was so noisy and went on and off all night, and the room was dingy and awkward. The breakfast in the morning had day old bread, old fruit and that was it.

the staff was terrible, no one was ever at the front desk and they could care less about helping out. Its almost as though some owner overseas is just raking in the money from this terrible hotel and not putting one dime back into the upkeep of the hotel. Basically the whole place needs new management that even cares in the slightest OR needs to be torn down.

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is two blocks from the bus station. Taxis are so cheap that you can stay anywhere, no need to be close to the station.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadianloogif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We arrived at the airport with no reservations. A desk in the airport suggested this 3 star hotel and gave us a brochure which made it look acceptable. It is not acceptable and is not 3 star. 1 star is more like it. However, when we arrived it was pouring rain so we decided to try it for one night. Big mistake. We had to change rooms 3 times. Once, the door lock was broken on the room. The second, the fan wobbled so much we feared it would fall on us. The third, the tv had no reception. In each case, there was no hot water, no racks to hang towels; the rooms were tiny with no where to put luggage. The front desk was manned only intermittently, and the man there the night we arrived was very unhelpful and unpleasant. The rooms were clean but dingy. Only flourescent lights which were very weak. The beds were firm. The swimming pool was tiny. The room came with breakfast but it looked awful. We did not eat it. We left early the next morning and found another hotel once it stopped raining.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The best part about this place is the location...it is just a couple blocks from the bus station (where you can catch the bus to the falls), and is within walking distance to the restaurants in Iguazu. The TV is tiny and the room is dark, but otherwise adequate. When you shower, half the bathroom floor gets wet. There were a couple of mosquitoes that made their way into the room so I did get some bites while sleeping.

The included breakfast is very basic, but all that I needed. The dinner buffet (not included in the hotel price) has a good selection and is a great value. And unlike all other hotels I've been to, they don't hike up prices for water or soda.

Overall, a convenient place to stay. A bit overpriced in my opinion (about $76/night for a double), but you only need to stay here for one night anyway as 1.5 days is plenty to see the falls.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Pleasant stay.Clean and comfortable.Booked on the net and representative of pictures.Staff pleasant and tried to speak english.Very convenient location.The only down side which we thought quite funny was the remark by someone when we asked for a hairdryer was "it's not the presendential suite"!
The evening buffet offered several choices(very inexpensive) and the morning breakfast (free)was basic fare
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel has a great location – very near all amenities in Iguassu town, and short walk from the bus station to Iguassu Falls. Exterior of hotel looks old but the rooms are great. Comfortable, warm rooms and English speaking TV. Good buffet breakfast – but get there early for best selection. . Iguassu is a very busy town so make sure you book accommodation in advance (you don’t need to book park entry).

We liked to eat at Color Pizza and Wok Restaurant (by the fire). Make sure you allow an hour to get money out of the ATM – there is only one ATM service in Iguassu.

Worth buying lunch in Iguassu town as the Falls are predictably expensive. Note that visiting Iguassu is very expensive – AR$85 to enter, AR$110 for a 12 min boat ride.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We checked in here as it was close to the bus station and we didn't have much time to search around. This turned out to be a mistake though as almost everything about this place was poor.

Lets start with the room which had a TV and a phone but was very basic otherwise. The TV barely picked up any channels at all and there were ants all over the room. We informed the receptionist who merely grunted 'insecticide' and sprayed something on the floor. The bathroom was dirty and mouldy but at least did have hot water.

The breakfast was appalling, one of the worst I have had in my seven months of travel. It was a mixture of old fruit, rock hard bread and watered down juice. As for the other facilities, the reception area did have free internet but the wi-fi did not work in the room. There is also a pool which looked clean but I did not go in.

The staff here are also incredibly unfriendly to the point of being rude and made no attempt to help when we reported that we had lost our camera.

I think it is trying to pitch somewhere between a hotel and a hostel, but fails on almost every level and is not that cheap. My advice would to be to go elsewhere, there are plenty of other options in town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.5 mi away
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
#31 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#30 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
752 reviews
1.1 mi away
Raices Esturion Hotel
Raices Esturion Hotel
#24 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tropical
Hotel Tropical
#41 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Strada
La Strada
#40 of 55 in Puerto Iguazu
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Helechos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Helechos

Address: Calle Julio Paulino Amarante 76, Puerto Iguazu N3370GVD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £32 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Helechos 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Los Helechos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing