We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark, Damp & Dirty”
Review of Los Helechos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Helechos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dark, Damp & Dirty”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This place was awful, the rooms were dreadful although in fairness the communal areas were well kept and the pool area was nice. The bathroom was horrendous covered in mould.

The breakfast was basically old bread and cake and the service was probably the worst I received in seven months of travelling, none of the reception staff could crack a smile or were helpful in any way.

Stay away there are so many other better places to stay in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooms77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    57
    71
    34
    32
See reviews for
50
80
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I stayed at this 3-star hotel with my husband for 3 nights in May 2010 after deciding to treat ourselves following a bad night's camping.

This hotel has very clean rooms and common areas. There is Wifi in the lobby and upstairs rooms though not the external bungalow rooms. The upstairs rooms should cost 258 ARS and the bungalows 198 ARS incl. tax & breakfast. The pool is clean, well-maintained and is pleasantly warm, though maybe a little shallow for some. There are two lovely and impeccably-maintained tropical garden areas, one with happy budgerigar birds. The bathrooms are small though impecccably clean. The bungalow rooms are a little dated from a fashion perspective compared with the upstairs rooms, but all rooms are extremely well-kept, neat, clean and fresh. The linen is very clean and smells lovely. The pillows and mattresses are moderately firm - certainly not soft. The upstairs rooms have air conditioning whilst the bungalows do not. There are small but decent CRT TVs in both kinds of rooms with a decent selection of channels in English including general-release movies of varying ages.

The breakfast is a buffet-style breakfast and included (during our stay): bread, toast, butter, jam, marble cake, apricot/apple pie, pears, watermelon, avocado, real freshly squeezed juice, coffee, milk, a selection of teas, frosted flakes. We like to have a very simple healthy breakfast and so the fruit juice and fruit was lovely; it would be nice to have some muslei instead of the frosted flakes though.

There is a buffet dinner available every night from 8pm for ARS 30 pesos. This is a real bargain (this is approx. USD $8 or so). As I said, we like healthy food and we were very well catered for - sometimes a rarity in Argentina - but for those into pastas, bolognaise sauces, 'milanesas' (schnitzel), stewed beef or fried chicken, there are plentiful options as well. We enjoyed some amazing salads. The deserts are just average, but even without the desert this is an amazing value dinner. Furthermore you can get a small bottle of wine for just 10 pesos (about $2.50 or so) which fills two small glasses - so for us, for example, two meals and two glasses of wine plus deserts cost $14 or so. A great deal for Iguazu!

The staff are very efficient and helpful, though they are a little chilly at times, at least, they are certainly not forthcoming with the smiles and hugs that often define Argentine hospitality (we've been in Argentina for 3 months and are very attached to their friendly nature) however they are perfectly reasonable and easy to deal with. They pay a great deal of attention to detail and I would be surprised if anyone has had difficulties dealing with this hotel - they seem very efficient and reasonable to me.

The location is very good; it is only 100 metres from Cordoba Avenue, the main street with tourist services e.g. restaurants, bars, travel agencies, souvenir shops and so on. Furthermore, this hotel is a two minute walk from the bus station and a four minute walk from the Brazilian consulate. A local bus can be caught to the Iguazu falls from the bus station for 5 pesos (about $1.50) each way. Tickets may be bought in advance or on the day and there are departures every 20 minutes from 7:20am to about 8pm (check the piece of paper they hand out with departure times for exact details) daily. The bus takes about 15 or 20 minutes and drops you right at the 'boleteria' (ticket office) at the falls. It overtakes all the other traffic waiting to enter the park as it is a public bus (a lot of the Iguazu staff use this bus to get to work) not a tourist bus.

Good luck, enjoy the falls!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I thought the Los Helechos was a great little hotel in Puerto Iguazu. The rooms were cosy and comfortable and it almost felt like a B&B. Staff were nice and friendly plus the breakfast wasn't too bad at all either.

The falls were absolutely stunning, definetly one of the highlights of my trip to South America. Definetly stay on the Argentinean side as the falls as it is a much nicer town and has a lot more to explore as far as the national park goes.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We arrived in Iguazu having had a local resident reply to our request for information about the hosteria as " its ok". Sadly for us it wasnt. We were greeted by a surley and unhelpful man on reception who showed us to our room which was dark with grotty bed clothes and curtains and a bathroom that was frankly grim. To be honest our budget meant we were hoping for more so within half an hour we had left and booked in a few doors up at the Saint George. There are loads of places to stay in the town and although the location is good, even though its not expensive our advice is search around a bit more and if your on a budget try the more tradtional hostels.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedsterlondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

I originally booked a double room at Los Heleches, but my partner was not able to make that part of the trip. The manager was very willing to change my room to one with two twin beds, at a reduced price. The room was comfortable, facing out to the interior courtyard, and had air conditioning and ceiling fan. The bathroom was large and clean.

There is a restaurant at the hotel, which serves dinner, as well as the included breakfast. The dinner is a buffet, complete with good salad bar, several varieties of chicken and and beef, and even cooked vegetables (a rarity in Argentina). They even included dessert. The price was 30 pesos ($9 US).

The breakfast was less spectacular, a basic continental breakfast of coffee or tea, breads with jelly, and some kind of sugary cereal.

The pool is small and in a small courtyard with no shade. It can be very hot midday.

Close to bus station. Internet on two computers in the lobby. Stop by the Saint George hotel next door for some cooling off. I think you can tap into their wireless too.

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Hotel was pretty good, not great. The room was a little drab, and the bed wasn't the best, but it was fairly clean and secure, and the TV worked and got a good range of channels. The breakfast was lackluster, and the service was okay. It is only a short walk away from the main bus station and the better restauarants in town and is on a quiet and apparently safe street lined with other hotels. For the value ($108AR for a single when I stayed) I thought it was worth it.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Just a little blah in general
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank axcxtxixoxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

This was the only time we've relied on a travel agent at an airport to book us in somewhere .... and the rating of 2 (nearly a 1) suggests that's not a great idea! The positives are location - a couple of blocks from some good restaurants and the bus station (which is useful in Iguazu) and it does have a pool. But overall it just feels old, grim and dirty.

It looks OK from the outside but as soon as we went in I knew it wasn't for us - just a tired old hotel with no character. Room was spacious enough but just had a feeling of grubbiness. The toilet overflowed when flushed - covering you with goodness knows what if you didn't move quickly - the water wasn't hot one morning and there's no maid service at all. Breakfast was varied but just not particularly appetising - and the ants crawling out of the hot water thermos really put me off my mate. And it's not particularly cheap.

I'm sure there's better near the bus station than this. We moved after 2 nights to RioTropic.

  • Liked — Location was OK
  • Disliked — Most of it
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Burntwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kelta Hotel - Iguazu
Kelta Hotel - Iguazu
#28 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#47 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,812 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
#39 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Strada
La Strada
#34 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Helechos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Helechos

Property: Los Helechos
Address: Calle Julio Paulino Amarante 76, Puerto Iguazu N3370GVD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Helechos 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Helechos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing