We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Spacious clean room. Helpful and cheerful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Didn't try their dinner buffet. Right across the street from the bus terminal and good restaurants. Short 2 block walk to ATM. Good recommendation for a driver to San Ignacio Mini Jesuit Mission ruins. Bathroom floor can be slippery when wet; husband slipped, only bruised. A/C works very well; a little noisy; hard to adjust. Big bathtub. Great water pressure in shower; felt good.

Room Tip: Close to bus terminal & restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoythejourney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    733
    257
    80
    52
See reviews for
626
785
86
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Solid hotel with very friendly and attentive front desk. A nice lobby but older upper floors and rooms. Location good - across from bus terminal and several restaurants. The main part of town is comfortable walk. The pool area is decent, with reasonably priced drinks and big glasses of wine. Breakfast was standard, but good. My biggest issue with the hotel was that the WiFi was shoddy (worked great, then not all, worked great, then not at all ect). We loved staying in Puerto in general. Felt safe shopping, eating, and walking around the town. We had a good stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samdogNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel provides an oasis of calm and relaxation with its comfortable rooms, good service and lovely gardens and pool. There are a wealth of restaurants around but it also boasts a good one itself. Nearby is a bus garage where there are frequent buses to the falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the St. George for two nights. The rooms were clean and the staff was great. We had paid for an upgrade but the room was not as nice as we had hoped. The bed was lumpy and sounds could be heard through the walls of adjoining rooms. The wood on the bottom of the shower was slippery and I was afraid of falling. The breakfast had limited selections. It was well located and the air conditioning worked well. My husband went down to the bar to bring up two glasses of wine. They would not sell him wine to take to our room. It had to be delivered and then we had to pay a tip. He tried to bring me a cup of coffee from the breakfast room and they wouldn't let him take the cup out of the dining room to our room. After an evening of listening to the crying child next door, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is Iguazu Falls, not an urban oasis! The rooms were comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, internet was free, and breakfast was included. And, in this tropical climate, the A/C worked well. Plus, the hotel was half a block from the bus station, which was very helpful for us. Sure, the furniture was dated, but this isn't uncommon in Argentina, in our experience. And as GhoulDog said, this wasn't terribly different from a lot of the smaller hotels in New York City, but with much larger rooms. The price was reasonable, and there were good restaurants nearby. You can find nicer hotels in Iguazu, but they cost a lot more. I recommend this place for all the reasons stated above.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We chose this hotel,l as we visited the Brazilian side of the falls first and wanted to be near the bus station,which is just over the road.We booked a junior suite with jacuzzi bath. The room was a bit dated but very clean.The a/c was a bit noisy and the room overlooked the main road with some traffic noise but not enough to drive you crazy. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and lots of space in the room,we cant understand why it didn't have a sofa.
Service,especially in the bar was somewhat slow although the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel had a pool and hot tub but we didn't use it as the water didn't look inviting enough,however that could have been due to the large amount of rain they had just had.It rained so hard that water flooded into the bar area. We ate in the restaurant attached to the hotel the first night and were given a voucher for a discounted buffet (108 pesos,about 15 pounds) lets just say you get what you pay for. The restaurant just over the road (Color) was a little more pricey but boy,what a difference in standard and Quality.We ate there the day after too and were made most welcome and given a 10% discount. Buses to and from the falls run every 20 minutes with a company called rio uruguay and cost 30 pesos each way pp,just under 4 pounds. The falls on the Argentinian side DO NOT accept credit cards to gain access to the park,so be sure to take pesos with you.Puerto Iguacu is not the most attractive place in the world and it is more pricey than the rest of Argentina but the falls are spectacular and the hotel was'nt as bad as we were led to expect. Breakfast was quite a large selection mainly a cold buffet but some hot items too. The cakes are very sweet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donaldbovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

First, you have to know that Puerto Iguazu is a horrible, horrible village. Nothing to do or see there. Only built to sustain this huge tourism business around the Iguazu falls (which, I admit, are quite fantastic).

This hotel is a perfect example of this constructions that shouldn't have existed in the first place, and that go even worse when they get old.

It is just not nice, clean and interesting enough

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#17 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Property: Hotel Saint George
Address: Av. Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing