We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous experience”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is not a 4* by miles. We are not particularly hard to please but can safely say this hotel was the most dyer place we have ever stayed, that includes hostels and dodgy places throughout Asia. We had three rooms in two days because the first smelt really bad, musty, stale and generally unhealthy. The second room was not much better but it had a balcony so we could at least air it. Then it rained and the hole in the ceiling (there was one in each room) leaked rain water all over our bed, camera, passports and iPod. We got moved but there was no apology and it was as if they expected it. We saw a few people being shown alternative rooms and we were only there two nights. Pool was unhygienic, would never let a child swim in it. Staff were quite pleasant. We felt quite sorry for them as they must deal with lots of complaints. Will be asking for our money back as we had two really bad nights sleep because of noisy air con units and an annoying vibration all night long coming from the walls. Would not recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: We never got to see the new building but apparently the rooms are nicer. We ended up in a junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrezabelGuernsey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel whilst visiting the Argentinean side of Iguazu Falls. The hotel was part of the tour we were on - ie, it was not one specifically chosen by us.
The Iguazu Falls themselves were absolutely spectacular. Having seen Niagara and Victoria Falls, I can say that the Iguazu Falls are probably the best - there are 275 drops - everywhere you look, there are waterfalls.
And the boat ride from the Argentinian is terrific - but you will get soaked to the skin so dress appropriately (eg, swimmers) (they give you a large, tough waterproof bag for stuff you want to dry, like clothes, phones and cameras). They'll stop a little way from the falls to take photos at water-level, and then you can put your cameras away. Keeping your sunglasses on is a good idea - if you don't, you'll be closing your eyes when you go into the falls and won't see anything. We just wore swimmers and glasses.
The Brazilian side doesn't have as many pathways or vantage points as the Argentinian side (Argentina has 3 different pathways; Brazil has one), but the Brazilian side pathway takes you right out and close to the Falls, so if you choose to go out, again, you'll get drenched (cue bathers and sunglasses and nothing else). Note, you don't get waterproof bags on this side, so take your own or have someone stay behind. The Brazilian side also has a helicopter ride over the Falls for about US$110.00pp (2013 price).
On the Argentinian, we walked on paths through the river system that feeds the Falls, and saw giant catfish, a caiman, and numerous plush-crested jays. Around the park, we saw wild guinea pig, coatimundi and a toucan.
As for the hotel itself - the location was good - close to shops and some good restaurants in Puerto Iguazu.
The reception staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. They went the extra mile.
The rooms were tired but clean. We had twin beds, separate bathroom, TV, bar fridge and air-con. There is free wi-fi in the rooms.
The hotel has a spa (massage, etc), but we didn't try it.
Breakfast was a large buffet with plenty of choice in the cold department, though not a big choice of hot food.
The pool and surrounds were nice - we spent some time there, and had a swim.
Yeah, look, it's not a stunning hotel, but it's fine, and the fact that it's a short walk to a variety of restaurants from fast food to up-market, and shops (we bought beer and water to take back to the rooms), was useful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We are independent travellers and had reservedfor a stay of 4 nights by internet requesting a room in the new block. . We checked in and were asked to pay in full (smart move) because we were then told that we had been allocated a room in the old building and when we were taken there we refused the room as it smelled and was in a shabby condition. We were then upgraded to a junior suite which was also shabby but didnot smell. The room had two large beds and one chair and a table, but no sofa or easy chairs. We subsequently realised that the nicer rooms in the new block were being reserved for the tour groups.

We had the buffet dinner on the first night and whilst the choice of starters was good, the main course meat and fish were inedible. The included breakfast buffet has a wide choice of breads and pastries but is of poor quality.

Overall this was the worst hotel we have stayed for many years and you should stay here if location is your top priority.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the new block and refuse anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Spacious clean room. Helpful and cheerful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Didn't try their dinner buffet. Right across the street from the bus terminal and good restaurants. Short 2 block walk to ATM. Good recommendation for a driver to San Ignacio Mini Jesuit Mission ruins. Bathroom floor can be slippery when wet; husband slipped, only bruised. A/C works very well; a little noisy; hard to adjust. Big bathtub. Great water pressure in shower; felt good.

Room Tip: Close to bus terminal & restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoythejourney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Solid hotel with very friendly and attentive front desk. A nice lobby but older upper floors and rooms. Location good - across from bus terminal and several restaurants. The main part of town is comfortable walk. The pool area is decent, with reasonably priced drinks and big glasses of wine. Breakfast was standard, but good. My biggest issue with the hotel was that the WiFi was shoddy (worked great, then not all, worked great, then not at all ect). We loved staying in Puerto in general. Felt safe shopping, eating, and walking around the town. We had a good stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdogNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel provides an oasis of calm and relaxation with its comfortable rooms, good service and lovely gardens and pool. There are a wealth of restaurants around but it also boasts a good one itself. Nearby is a bus garage where there are frequent buses to the falls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the St. George for two nights. The rooms were clean and the staff was great. We had paid for an upgrade but the room was not as nice as we had hoped. The bed was lumpy and sounds could be heard through the walls of adjoining rooms. The wood on the bottom of the shower was slippery and I was afraid of falling. The breakfast had limited selections. It was well located and the air conditioning worked well. My husband went down to the bar to bring up two glasses of wine. They would not sell him wine to take to our room. It had to be delivered and then we had to pay a tip. He tried to bring me a cup of coffee from the breakfast room and they wouldn't let him take the cup out of the dining room to our room. After an evening of listening to the crying child next door, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,448 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,932 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#20 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#30 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Avenida Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £71 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing