We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Breakfast Lovers”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is conveniently located for non-package traveler close to the bus terminal (across the street), where buses leave for both the Argentinian and the Brazilian Iguazu/Iguacu-National Park. There are also long distance connections allover Argentina and to a number of cities in Brazil. A number of restaurants are also within walking distance, while the city center is about 1 km away.

The hotel itself is soulless, perhaps a tribute to all the one-time visitors which never return. We were told having got an upgrade to the best category of rooms which predominantly was roomy. The ceiling fan switch needed a couple of hours to become discovered and the jacuzzi doubtless has seen better days; one jet nozzle did not work at all and it took twenty minutes to get the tub level beyond the jet nozzles. But everything was clean and worked properly - besides this fussy things.

The front-desk was friendly and helpful, but not always somebody was at hand who speaks English - you are in the heart of Latin America!

But by far the worst was the breakfast buffet. It was huge, speaking in dimensions, justified by the size of the hotel. The selection was so much the worse. In a subtropical region, overflowing with fruits, you got to sorts of juice, which both has been diluted with water. As fruits they offered water and honey melons, the latter so economically peeled, that you always got half of the melon skin. And there had been mango slices. They offered scrambled and hard-boiled, eggs, sausages OR meat patties, no hot ham or bacon. As cold cuts you could get the ubiquitous molded ham and pre-sliced cheese, e.g. no salami, which is produced in a wide variety in Argentina. Add toast and some danish and you have the full range.

As so often you pay for the privilege being at a place with a world-renowned attraction and not for the quality of your stay.

Room Tip: The room we had to one of the arterial street of Puerto Iguazu was at night not noisy at all, but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 2,302 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

The staff were nice, they get us a taxi to go to the brazilian and argentina's falls on the same day, and it was perfect. The breakfast is ok, however theyserve during dinner a great buffe and for a fair price. I strongly recomend it. And if you nees a taxi, ask for Carlos, really an excellent service. The lication is also great!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment. It is important for us to know what our guests experience was while staying at Saint George Hotel.

We try our very best to make sure that our guests are comfortable during their stay and is really gratifying to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Saint George Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is not a 4* by miles. We are not particularly hard to please but can safely say this hotel was the most dyer place we have ever stayed, that includes hostels and dodgy places throughout Asia. We had three rooms in two days because the first smelt really bad, musty, stale and generally unhealthy. The second room was not much better but it had a balcony so we could at least air it. Then it rained and the hole in the ceiling (there was one in each room) leaked rain water all over our bed, camera, passports and iPod. We got moved but there was no apology and it was as if they expected it. We saw a few people being shown alternative rooms and we were only there two nights. Pool was unhygienic, would never let a child swim in it. Staff were quite pleasant. We felt quite sorry for them as they must deal with lots of complaints. Will be asking for our money back as we had two really bad nights sleep because of noisy air con units and an annoying vibration all night long coming from the walls. Would not recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: We never got to see the new building but apparently the rooms are nicer. We ended up in a junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrezabelGuernsey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel whilst visiting the Argentinean side of Iguazu Falls. The hotel was part of the tour we were on - ie, it was not one specifically chosen by us.
The Iguazu Falls themselves were absolutely spectacular. Having seen Niagara and Victoria Falls, I can say that the Iguazu Falls are probably the best - there are 275 drops - everywhere you look, there are waterfalls.
And the boat ride from the Argentinian is terrific - but you will get soaked to the skin so dress appropriately (eg, swimmers) (they give you a large, tough waterproof bag for stuff you want to dry, like clothes, phones and cameras). They'll stop a little way from the falls to take photos at water-level, and then you can put your cameras away. Keeping your sunglasses on is a good idea - if you don't, you'll be closing your eyes when you go into the falls and won't see anything. We just wore swimmers and glasses.
The Brazilian side doesn't have as many pathways or vantage points as the Argentinian side (Argentina has 3 different pathways; Brazil has one), but the Brazilian side pathway takes you right out and close to the Falls, so if you choose to go out, again, you'll get drenched (cue bathers and sunglasses and nothing else). Note, you don't get waterproof bags on this side, so take your own or have someone stay behind. The Brazilian side also has a helicopter ride over the Falls for about US$110.00pp (2013 price).
On the Argentinian, we walked on paths through the river system that feeds the Falls, and saw giant catfish, a caiman, and numerous plush-crested jays. Around the park, we saw wild guinea pig, coatimundi and a toucan.
As for the hotel itself - the location was good - close to shops and some good restaurants in Puerto Iguazu.
The reception staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. They went the extra mile.
The rooms were tired but clean. We had twin beds, separate bathroom, TV, bar fridge and air-con. There is free wi-fi in the rooms.
The hotel has a spa (massage, etc), but we didn't try it.
Breakfast was a large buffet with plenty of choice in the cold department, though not a big choice of hot food.
The pool and surrounds were nice - we spent some time there, and had a swim.
Yeah, look, it's not a stunning hotel, but it's fine, and the fact that it's a short walk to a variety of restaurants from fast food to up-market, and shops (we bought beer and water to take back to the rooms), was useful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We are independent travellers and had reservedfor a stay of 4 nights by internet requesting a room in the new block. . We checked in and were asked to pay in full (smart move) because we were then told that we had been allocated a room in the old building and when we were taken there we refused the room as it smelled and was in a shabby condition. We were then upgraded to a junior suite which was also shabby but didnot smell. The room had two large beds and one chair and a table, but no sofa or easy chairs. We subsequently realised that the nicer rooms in the new block were being reserved for the tour groups.

We had the buffet dinner on the first night and whilst the choice of starters was good, the main course meat and fish were inedible. The included breakfast buffet has a wide choice of breads and pastries but is of poor quality.

Overall this was the worst hotel we have stayed for many years and you should stay here if location is your top priority.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the new block and refuse anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Spacious clean room. Helpful and cheerful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Didn't try their dinner buffet. Right across the street from the bus terminal and good restaurants. Short 2 block walk to ATM. Good recommendation for a driver to San Ignacio Mini Jesuit Mission ruins. Bathroom floor can be slippery when wet; husband slipped, only bruised. A/C works very well; a little noisy; hard to adjust. Big bathtub. Great water pressure in shower; felt good.

Room Tip: Close to bus terminal & restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoythejourney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Solid hotel with very friendly and attentive front desk. A nice lobby but older upper floors and rooms. Location good - across from bus terminal and several restaurants. The main part of town is comfortable walk. The pool area is decent, with reasonably priced drinks and big glasses of wine. Breakfast was standard, but good. My biggest issue with the hotel was that the WiFi was shoddy (worked great, then not all, worked great, then not at all ect). We loved staying in Puerto in general. Felt safe shopping, eating, and walking around the town. We had a good stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdogNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,509 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,951 reviews
1 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#21 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#30 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#19 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Avenida Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Easy Market Spa, getaroom.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing