We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 January 2014

As the title suggests- this hotel has good and bad. The good is the location (across the street from the bus station) and in the middle of town. Also, they provide a very nice breakfast. Also, the staff is very nice and is very hepful.
The bad was my room. The air condtioner in my room had no controls so you plug it in and it works- blasting cold air. Or you turn it off and suffocate in the tropical heat. Also, the toilet leaked and since I was on the top floor I kept hearing things scampering on the roof- have no idea what it was.
Thius hotel was not cheap so I expected better- just don't take room 402

Room Tip: stay off the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msinfosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 2,087 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great location in front of the bus station, restaurants a supermarket and the town center within walking distance. I am glad we stayed in town. When we started looking at the hotel inside the park the rates were $350 by the time we had a firm date the rooms were $600. We went for a beer at their terrace and enjoyed the view of the falls.
Reception-Carola went beyond the line of duty to help us with a reservation in Posadas.
Breakfast-While the set up looks very good, the variety and the quality are poor. Lots of trays of pastries none too good. The eggs were watery and so were the juices.
We booked a Master room with two queen size beds and it was a good size. It was by the street and it was noisy. It looks like it hasn’t been updated since the 70”s.
Light for reading was good.
The beds were comfortable with 4 pillows each.
Air Conditioning worked well.
Wi-Fi- free and it worked well.
TV- Nice modern TV with some English channels.
Refrigerator fairly stocked.
Room for bags very good for our large bags.
Tea Kettle with a couple of packets of coffee.
The bathroom was very large with a separate tub from the bathroom. The shower is a bit tight but it had good shower pressure.
No clothes line and very little room to hang anything, there are no hooks to hang the wet towels. Hotels want you to save your towels for another use but provide no place to hang them to dry….
Safety bar inside the tub but not very helpful and no bar in the shower.
Towels nice and clean.
Amenities-good normal.
Hair dryer nice with good power.
Full length mirror-No
Makeup mirror-No
Laundry list with no prices.
No iron and ironing board.
No complimentary bottle water.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the reviews we had read before our trip, we really weren't sure what to expect from this hotel and it's rooms ... but pleased to review that we had a positive experience.

We were told at check-in that our room was upgraded. Based on the professional/travellers photos, we stayed in the newer, renovated rooms with hardwood flooring and found it to be large, clean & comfortable. We did not have any issues with noise/insects/mould/bad odour. The washroom was large and the hairdryer was super powerful, which turned out to be helpful in drying out our clothes from the rain/falls. A safe was available in the room (electronic password). Wifi in the room was fine.

Breakfast was the usual spread - bread, ham, cheese, yogurt, some fruit, A LOT of pastries, etc. They also had one tray of hot foods (eggs, sausage or bacon).

Hotel was located downtown, easy access to lots of restaurants and a convenience store right across the street (for water, snacks, etc). The staff at the front desk was not especially warm/welcoming but were able to address our needs when asked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mastershih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here 3 nights to visit the Iguazu falls and the location is perfect as it is just opposite the bus station to go to the falls. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Bathroom was classy. Breakfast was great with a lot of choice of pastries, fruits, cereal and cakes. Just beware of one thing as the hotel is renewing part of the building and the works are loud during the day so if you plan to sleep late or take naps look for another place to stay but if you just need a nice place to sleep at night you will be fine. We didn’t test the swimming pool but it looked nice. Many restaurants within walking distance. One down side was that we booked through booking.com and the price was charged months before our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkieprilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel but without the extras expected of a hotel this price. The staff were friendly and helpful but the restaurant was very over priced and the food nothing special. The bus station is across the road, making it easy to get to and from the falls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Disappointing ! Expected more from pictures and words on adverts.

Not worth top price as charged - ok hotel for less but not for price paid.

Pool area was not in use at time of stay which was not stated at time of booking

Hotel staff did not speak much English and were not that helpful

Rooms were large but a bit dated and the bed was uncomfortable and sagging in the middle

Location was very good and central to town and the bus terminal which was very useful - close to restaurants

Overall disappointing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 224andreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

When we checked in we were shown to a room and given our keys.

We hadnt been in there for more than 3 mins when our phone rang (couldnt really here it as it was a little broken), but it was the front desk explaining they had given us an incorrect room according to what we had paid . It was when I answered the phone that I noticed the bug crawling over the nigh stand. It was more than a few! The carpet was stained everywhere. The walls had marks all over them. The bathroom wasnt dirty, but it was as clean as something that well used could ever get.

We moved to our new room in the new section of the hotel and the room was much better. Very clean, very nice. I guess they are either renevating or it is a new wing, no idea.

The included breakfast wasnt great, much the normal fare for these type of things.

Great location in the heart of downtown Iguazu. Would personally pay the extra and go to the sheraton.

Room Tip: Master room please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,259 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,891 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#19 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Av. Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £77 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing