We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very mixed feelings unfortunately”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Plus: location very convenient just opposite the bus terminal station. Also known to airport's shuttle bus which was convenient (might apply to all major hotels in the area, might not, not sure).
Staff related to baggages veeery helpful and polite indeed, but reception staff not very so.
I have to admit that because of our first room being very smelly we were swamped to a mini-suite which of course was appreciated a lot from us as a gesture and without any further cost. Unfortunately the rest of our stay left us with mixed feelings mainly due to...:
the part of the hotel we stayed is relatively old, felt like a hotel from another decade. Stains on the carpets, bit smelly rooms, windows that didnt close properly so there was noise from the main street outside during night, mould stains on the bathroom ceiling and hotbath looked really tired, i wouldnt think of using it.

as far as we understood there is also a newer (?) part in the hotel and the rooms looked much nicer and modern at quick look, so perhaps we were just not lucky with our room.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the 'new' part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

For its location right across the omnibusterminal, this hotel is a very good choice. Many hotels is outside the city where not much happens. So unless you like busses and overpriced taxis this hotel is a good choice. People come here to see the Falls, nothing else and this place has taken advantage of this to the max.

The Saint George is an old hotel, and it IS tired to say the least.. As someoneelse wrote, they probably have so many one or two nighters which makes the service like a assembly hall. Staff does not really have a high service level, they dont greet you and they do not smile. Sad. But they will help you if you ask. I was given a wrong room, and it felt like I was asking for an upgrade when asked it to be changed. Breakfast is served in the basement from 630am which is a big plus as many tours starts early. I found the breakfast quite good, coffee horrible. If someone wonders why there is a lack of fresh fruit etc just have a look around and see the lunchbag preparation taking place at the tables...That might be the answer...they also served dinner from 730pm- did not try it so cannot comment. If you dont need high gourmet experiance go to the bus terminal they have plenty of good offers at hand at reasonable prices.
Hotels halls are a bit outdated but the pool area seemed quite nice and very popular..

Rooms i think is a lottery- you might be lucky, or maybe you wont.. Carpeted, comfy beds, sat tv, minibar, safe and hurray a place for your suitcase.. I kept my aircon at full speed at lowest temp but still the room was boiling. The wifi in my room 260 went from very bad to not working. for two days I came home from fullday tours and my room was not cleaned, so I have no idea if it is any good. Its slow thats for sure!

The city itself is nothing special, but then again you are not there for the city. And please do NOt make a mistake of buying the tours on offer to the nationalpark...You can easily do this on your own- bus from the busstation takes 25 mins at a cost of ARS35, stops right outside the park and once you are inside, you wont have any problems doing your own tour, staffs speaks english and are very helpful. Most guides dont really guide you as it is so easy to do it yourself. but again its about milking the tourist. A taxi will set you back ARS150, which is overpricing at its max. And do bring all drinks, snacks and meals as prices inside the park are redicoulous. Again taking advantage of you have no other choices. And buy your tshirts in the airport on your way home, many of them are half the price of what you pay inside the park.

The Saint George prides itself with 4 stars, which is one star too much, and as such not a good option. But lower your expectations and enjoy the good location and go for the best rate, hope for a good room and maybe some cleaning, and you will be fine.

Room Tip: as i wrote its a lottery, you might get a good room and even have cleaningservice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Given that you are in Iguasu to see the waterfalls, this is a good base. Our room was excellent with a lovely shower. However, the breakfast was haphazard with little choice. The pool is good but very uncomfortable loungers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Being right across the street from the bus terminal and 10 minutes walk to anything else (in town) makes this a great choice for a few nights stay. The rooms are average but the included breakfast is plentiful and starts the day right. Tip, we researched this hotel online and went to the counter to negotiate our stay. We paid cash and stayed 2 nights for 79 us dollars versus the 250 we would have paid online. Travel/tour companys in town will readily exchange your dollars (Iguazu airport excluded) for the best rate. We got 10 to 1 versus 6.5 to 1 with little chance of getting ripped off/counterfit due to being legitimate tour providers (didn't even hassle us to sign on for a tour).

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stugillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel itself is not bad. At least for a small town of Puerto Iguazu. The service though was ridiculous. We came to the hotel exactly for the check-in time. The room was not ready and one of a receptionists asked us to wait a bit. No problem. After an hour of waiting and watching the other people coming after us and having their rooms, we went to a desk to ask if we can get our room as well. The other receptionist (this time a nice lady) answered that she had no idea about us and our situation with a room. She explained that her colleague (the guy who served us before) just finished his hours and went home without telling nothing to nobody…

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igorgaljasevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were actually here two years ago, but I feel a little guilty for not reviewing this hotel previously.
After two nights here, we crossed to the Brazilian side and later that afternoon flew to Rio. It was only when we unpacked at our hotel in Rio that we realised that we had left several hundred dollars worth of clothes hanging in wardrobes. From Brazil we went on to Peru and did not get home in Australia for another three weeks.

When we got home, we contacted the hotel, without much hope of ever seeing our clothes again. But the Hotel Saint George had found and stored our clothes. What is more, they packed them and sent them to us, only charging for the freight costs. This was outstanding honesty and service and deserves to be recognised.

Incidentally, their breakfast buffet was very good too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Saint George. The room was clean and comfortable and the pool and deck were good. It seems that they have so many one-night stays that they "process' guests rather that actual host them. The staff smile but everything comes across as routine. The breakfast buffet was good. It is a hotel and you are aware of it.

Being in town allowed me to explore other eating options.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cyrus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,314 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,900 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#20 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Avenida Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing