We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Iguassu visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exe Hotel Cataratas
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel for Iguassu visit”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A good place to stay for a visit to Iguassu Falls. This may conflict with some of the other reviews but I guess "cleanliness" is a subjective thing. The hotel does show some signs of its age, but overall the maintenance is excellent so it is easy to overlook bits of tattered carpet in the public areas and a few chips in the furnishings. The room was spacious, comfortable and and in my judgment very clean. The desk staff excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of the kinds of things one finds at breakfast buffets in this part of the world. In my opinion there were lots of good things to eat. The hotel is located some distance outside of the town so if you want a choice of eating places, it requires a very long walk or a ride to the nearest option outside of the hotel restaurant. Taxi service is easy to get and not expensive. Access to the falls is easy by taxi, though bus service is available. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    461
    318
    114
    101
See reviews for
466
444
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed there for 2 night in November and we didn’t like it !!!
It seems the hotel was never renovated since he was established and that was very very long time ago. Carpets are dirty and moldy the toilets had a leak and bathroom is old fashion style.
Breakfast is very basic and served like in old factory dining hall
Overall experience was not pleasant and its definitely not a 5 star hotel, maybe it was back in the 70'' ?
The stuff gain one star for service and efforts, they rarely nice and trying, but this hotel is not recommended at all ….

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We ordered Caesar salad fries and creme caramel. My salad was swimming in the dressing, the lettuce was soggy, so much cheese that was tasteless and the chicken tasted funky. The fries were cold and the creme caramel was like scrambled eggs with a vague caramel taste.

This also cost us almost $60 AUD not worth it. I actually had to throw up after eating because it just didn't sit right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My dad booked the room initially on Expedia without telling me. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and got concerned! No need, all around good experience! I even booked another 2 nights myself. We had a big room, 2 queen beds, flat screen tv, nice bathroom, no mould anywhere. We had abalone only of view of clean pool area, nice. I did peak at some other though and saw a couple small, cramped ones though.

Room Tip: Rooms 151-154 have small balconies overlooking pool. No chairs though. Most rooms have no balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacock8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stay on sept 7th thru 8th, with 2 roms , lucky for us it was only one night, the lobby look nice but don't let that fool you, the room were super dirty carpet, bathroom, ceiling drapery in one work EVERYTHING, with moldy and smelled bad.
Dinner and breakfast was very expense and not good.DO NOT STAY In this hotel ever again
The $140.00 USD is not woth it for this can hotel that I will grade as a MOTEL instead.

Hotel sucio con mold,rentamos 2 habitaciones y estaban igual no hay ningun tipo de sanidad al tener mold, la comidas caras y mala calidad. No RECOMENDAMOS EL HOTEL, ya que in el precio de $140.00 usd es para un hotel de tan baja calidad.

Room Tip: Rooms with mold and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2001JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed in the beginning of August. My stay here was horrible!! Do not book this hotel. The free breakfast was not good: watery eggs, hard bread, and not enough options. I did not enjoy it. The actual room was old and smelled bad, had moldy ceilings, uncomfortable beds, and was not enjoyable. The pool area was dirty, the water was filled with bugs and leaves. Additionally, the hot tub pool area was always filled with people and it did not look sanitary. The staff was nice, but the 100$ a night was not worth it. Please do not book this.

I hardly ever write reviews. This was such a horrible experience that I did not want people to book this hotel. I took pictures of the moldy ceilings and will post later on.... Save your money!

Room Tip: all horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmeralda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a nice hotel, big, clean, neat rooms, big pool, big open green spaces; food is good, and theres a nice variety of it. It can use a little refurbishing because it looks like a 70's movie. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is nice, it's just not modern. One of the best things of it: it's location, it is outside town so is very quiet at night, very near the waterfalls park, even the Brazilian side is quite near; it's also very near the town of Puerto Iguazu, where you can find stores, restaurants and tours. Staff was very nice and helpful. Like I said, it's a very good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosDeLaTorre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
#25 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
408 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,918 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Hotel Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Cataratas

Property: Exe Hotel Cataratas
Address: Ruta Nacional 12 4, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Cataratas)
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exe Hotel Cataratas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Eurostars, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exe Hotel Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataratas Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Cataratas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing