We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of the Jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yacutinga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yacutinga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of the Jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Wow! The Yacutinga Lodge was an experience beyond any experience I've had in my life. We arrived to an open hearted staff that greeted us with excellent service, and a beautiful jungle that welcomed us with open branches!!!!
Amongst all the cool activities, our favourite was the floating adventures!!! Our guide, Cholie, was a true angel who guided us down this tranquil river, where we saw some breathtaking birds and even some monkeys!!

The lodge & surrounding areas were soooo peaceful. It is a great place to meditate and do yoga!
I would highly recommend this lodge to any spirit/adventure seeker! Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karuna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    36
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
91
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
877 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

They are doing very good things here. It is privately owned, but set up as a nature reserve. Two resident naturalists will introduce you to the camp and will accompany you on the activities. Any staff I had interaction with were very helpful and friendly. Beware of the “orientation” the first evening. It is a long talk on problems of the rainforest and things that you have been aware of since high school. Come for the last half hour (probably round 7:30 as dinner is usually at 8pm) for information particular to this property and info. on the next days activities.

The rooms are well-designed and architecturally interesting. Each “pod” has four rooms that share a hot water tank. If you are on your own, ask for a pod where just one other room is occupied.

The food is excellent and plentiful. But bring snacks as it is quite a long time in-between lunch (around noon) and dinner (usually 8pm). Each time you return from an activity, you will be offered a very welcome lemonade.

There is limited cell service at the camp, but good wi-fi in the main lodge (not the rooms) which is complimentary.

I stayed two nights in the room called Toucan 8 and it was very comfortable. I visited in late September and there were no problems with mosquitoes. I didn’t do all the hikes, but had a good time sitting and reading in the hammock near the pool. I enjoyed the float trip (very easy) very much.

It is about a 2.5 hour ride from Iguassu in a large vehicle. Roads can be bad, so if you don’t want to be jostled around, sit in the front or the middle of the vehicle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Highly recommend this place. Extremely accommodating, kind and helpful staff, amazing meals (chipas!), and wonderful surroundings. Our guide, nesto, was fantastic - funny, knowledgeable, and very genuine. A must do if visiting iguazu. Surreal experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Every moment is a magical adventure at this unique, extremely memorable and surprisingly romantic eco lodge and our 2 nights were not nearly enough. Keep in mind that you're deep in the jungle, which is alive with all manner of creature sounds and sightings, night and day, so urbanites beware. But if you're looking to get your 'Tarzan & Jane' on, there's no better place. Rustic chic, with all the comforts, architectural eye-candy everywhere, and excursions lead by knowledgeable and caring environmentalist-guides that are exciting, engaging and enlightening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent two nights in Yacutinga and were transfixed by the beautiful surroundings. We saw lots of capuchin monkeys, gorgeous hummingbirds, some toucans, a coral snake and more (most of these in the grounds of the lodge itself). I identified many different species of birds.

The food was fantastic and the staff were very kind. My husband wasn't very well while we were there but they were very attentive and understanding.

A few tips. The journey to the lodge is long (about 2.5 hrs) - be aware that there is no scheduled toilet stop. The weather can be fairly torrential rain and waterproof clothes are advisable for the hikes (I was very, very wet at the end of one hike). Don't do this trip if you're not ready for a 'real' jungle experience - a mouse and a frog appeared in our room at one stage! Finally, be prepared to have to be patient and stay quiet in order to see the wildlife - it is not a zoo!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maisie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I was visiting with my husband. We both love the outdoors and have a passion for "nature" photography. We not only were able to have amazing photo opportunities but we learned so much about natural habitats up close by the very passionate and knowledgeable staff. For someone like me, who wants to live as "green" as possible, I believe the lodge is a true testament to sustainability. We truly enjoyed being close to nature as well as comfortable, clean, and secluded accommodations. The staff were friendly and the food was fresh and with wonderful produce that is native to the region (mangos were delicious!). We recommend this oasis to anyone who is passionate about nature and the simple pleasures it has to offer!

Room Tip: All rooms are set in a bungalow style offering a good amount of privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent two wonderful days and nights at this remote eco lodge (about 2-1/2 hours ride on a mostly rocky dirt road from Puerto Iguazu). The lodge was deep in a lush sub-tropical region filled with exotic birds, butterflies, lizards, and the sound of monkeys high in the trees. A knowledgeable guide and a tribal chieftian made our hike a fascinating experience. There was a kayakying trip down the broad Iguazu River, a remarkable evening of entertainment by children from the local native Guarani, comfortable accommodations, and excellent food. The stay at the lodge was a fine introduction to the region and made our visit to Iguazu Falls all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
29.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
30.2 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
29.9 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#11 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
32.3 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
31.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#10 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yacutinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yacutinga Lodge

Property: Yacutinga Lodge
Address: Calle Yacutinga | Upper Iguazu River - Misiones, Puerto Iguazu N3370HSA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yacutinga Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in the Interior Atlantic Rainforest this is the first and unique jungle lodge of Argentina. Sustainable tourism. Eco oriented tours within the exclusive Yacutinga's Private Nature Reserve. 80 kilometres away from the fantastic Iguazu Falls and its massive tourism. This Lodge has been built JUST FOR NATURE LOVERS. Native meals, ecotours conducted by ecologist & biologist, 20 rooms and 1 suite with a very intense contact with the Jungle atmosphere. A list of over 570 species of diurnal butterflies, more than 320 species of bird listed. Do not expect to observe plenty of mammals, our ecosystem doesn't allow this kind of gift. Expect for capuchin monkeys, coaties, hundred of butterflies , over 40 to 60 bird species in two days of ecoactivities. There other mammals that sometimes show up. Remember this is not a Zoo, everybody is free here... Including us. We do not offer a luxury accommodation. We offer equilibrium. Thank you for your attention. Carlos Sandoval Owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Yacutinga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yacutinga Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing