We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Grand Cruceo, excellent service, big spacious triple room, breakfast buffet was good and the location is excellent (right on the first big roundabout as you cross the Argentina border and about 1 mile safe, easy walk into Puerto Iguazu).
New Hotel (opened in January 2013 I believe) with great facilities. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The lifts are fragile/tempremental - I'd ask for a lower floor room next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeP90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Mike: Thank for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Crucero. We take big pride in our service. Your words will be shared with all our team members. We will keep working to improve our services and make other travelers feel in the same way you felt here.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    514
    86
    17
    3
See reviews for
655
672
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Grand Crucero is part of "Crucero del Norte", a long-distance bus company with international routes, which has an enormous garage attached to the hotel. Our suite (all standard rooms were booked out) was very spacious and well-equipped (2 big TV's) and even had a large jacuzzi, which we didn't use. Niggles - only 2 pillows on the bed and no spares in the room, which one should expect in a 4-star hotel. Also the walk-in rainfall shower was virtually unlit as the single downlighter in the room was over the adjacent toilet area. A major complaint is the very mean 10am checkout, although they readily extended it to 11.30 when we told them our bus was only leaving at 12.15. The restaurant menu was very limited but my tenderloin steak (130 pesos) was fantastic and cooked to perfection (medium-rare), not easy to do with a 3-inch thick medallion. On tuesday (also thursday we were told) evenings an excellent harpist plays, a great rarity, which made the otherwise bland ambience so much more appealing. Sadly, no review of this hotel would be complete without mentioning the bleak surroundings, the rough cobblestone road made of sharp broken rocks, and the very muddy non-existent "side-walks". Just to walk to the small (almost deserted) shopping-centre on the opposite side of the road is very uncomfortable, and after rain would be a nightmare.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest: thank you for reviewing our hotel. We take our guest´s comments very seriously and we are already working in the service details you mention. We already added more choices in our Menu. I understand your complaint about the check-out time and as we did in this opportunity we always try to accommodate our guests needs. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel b/c it was new & others in area looked old & dated. Very pleasantely surprised how new & modern the hotel is. Not sure if quality of fixtures will hold up over time though. Needs finishing touches like crown molding, and finishing around, elevator doors, etc.

LOCATION: 1/2 way in between Falls (120 pesos Taxi ride = $22USD) and 1/2 way in between downtown restaurants (5 min taxi @25pesos = $8USD). But really after you walk 5 mins to bus to Falls (30 pesos = $10USD), then wait for bus to arrive & ride to Falls will take not less than 25 mins, but more like 40 mins. No big deal b/c all the shuttle buses drop & pick up here. This hotel is closer to Falls than hotels in downtown.

BREAKFAST: Included in my rate, and it was Fantastic! Huge spread - eggs, fruits (whole & cut pieces), croissants, argentine pastries. Food was excellent at this hotel.

SERVICE: Front desk stepped up when I needed a ride to the Falls to try to make the last train to Devil's Throat (4:00pm, not 4:10pm) since the local Bus drivers to the Falls mislead me (they speak no English!). The hotel had their driver (Mr. Mario Andretti LOL) rush me to the Falls. Mariana, thank you for the extra effort!

GYM: 2 new treadmils, located in room overlooking pool. Nice small quality gym.

POOL: Nice cabannas & pool bar attendant there all day (even though pool wasn't busy when I was there during week). Pool looked, clean but didn't get in, just laid out. On top of roof, so there's good sunlight from all angles. Pool towels could be larger in size, as they're as small as bathroom shower size towels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurboKickChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your candid feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We hope that you will consider staying with us again. We will certainly celebrate your kind words with our team.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely new hotel (8 months old) with modern amenities located between the town and national park and across the road leading to Foz Iguacu. Pleasant and attentive staff most of whom spoke English. We had a snack in the coffee shop on arrival and supper in the restaurant one evening - well presented and tasty food. Very good complimentary breakfast. Lovely pool and deck on the top floor to relax after a day at the falls. Although the hotel has a no smoking policy in rooms our room had a strong cigarette smell - our room was changed without hesitation. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a balcony to relax in and enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishore H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Kishore: We are so pleaded that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank for sharing your experience with us and other TripAdvisor readers. We do apologize for the smell in your first room and thank you for giving us the chance to solve this problem. Than you for the compliments on our Restaurants. I will pass this comment to our Food and Beverages Manager.
We hope to see you back in Puerto Iguazu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a great stay at the Gren Crucero in March 2013. It is right next to the bus which goes to the falls. Top tip - if you are going to the Brazilian side of the falls (and you definitely should) take a taxi as it is confusing to get back via bus (two buses are needed and it's not at all clear where to get the 2nd bus from).

We were upgraded to a better quality room at no exra cost - which was a nice touch. The swimming pool on the roof and bar area made this hotel worth every penny. To relax in the breeze after a hot day at the falls was bliss.

The hotel is a short walk from the main town, but to be honest if you stayed here and just visited the falls (which are the most amazing natural wonder I have ever set eyes on) and did not go into the town you would not be missing anything at all.

The food served int he hotel restaurant is very good indeed, another reason not to bother with Iguazu town!

Staff were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay, providing directions and arranging taxis for us.

Good value for money - I woud happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahd148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Sarah: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular the service of our team members. Every comment is for a us a unique opportunity to keep improving our service.
We hope we will see you back in Puerto Iguazú again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Maybe it was because I had just come from a stay at a nice boutique hotel in Buenos Aires, but I found the Grand Crucero to be lacking.

Upon entering the lobby, you are under the impression that you have arrived at a nice, modern hotel, but I personally found the orange color scheme and décor of the room to remind me of the 70s.

The room was very spacious, but the space wasn’t used very well. You have this huge empty space on one side of the room, which would have benefitted from either a larger bathroom, or maybe some space to put your suitcase and some plugs to charge your electronics. The bed was hard, the ventilation system was out of whack (a few degrees cooler or hotter than what you have preset), the shower was not very hot and its design caused a very wet bathroom floor after your shower.

There is free wifi in the room, and a buffet breakfast is provided. Make sure you go early for breakfast though. I made the mistake of going after 9am, and there were a lot of things that were not refilled. Plates and glasses included.

There is a gym, but it’s very small, consisting of a treadmill, an exercise bike, a weight machine and some weights. The outdoor pool is on the same floor; but it’s not the kind of pool for laps. It’s a decorative looking pool. When I went at night, the water was fairly warm. It appears to be a nice area to lounge around during the day.

The location of this hotel is fairly convenient; it is under a 5 minute walk to the bus stop, where you can catch a bus to the Falls and there is a shopping area just across from the bus stop. Near the bus stop, there is a convenience store where you can buy water, pop and other snacks for cheap.

We went and had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. The food was absolutely delicious. Go earlier (as soon as it opens at 730pm) to ensure speedy service. Once the dinner crowd picks up, the wait staff are slammed, and then service is just horrendous. We spent at least 10 minutes waiting for our bill.

Mini fridge available in the room. Toiletries included: shampoo, conditioner and body wash.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
GrovieGurlie: Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent visit. We are truly delighted that our Restaurant food exceeded your expectations. We were also pleased to learn that you enjoyed our location.
We understand that design can be very personal to each individual’s taste. Our interior designer was inspired by the soil colours you find in this area.
We were truly disappointed that you had some service gaps. We will certainly take your feedback into consideration to keep improving our room facilities. Please trust that we are looking into each point with our team to address and solve for our future guests
Thank you again for sharing you experience with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent 4 days during what seemed to still be a soft-opening phase of the very new, very clean, semi-upscale Grand Crucero hotel, located about a 20-minute walk (or short bus/taxi ride) from the downtown area in the direction of the National Park.

The bus/taxi stop is half a block away, very convenient to travel to all the attractions:
o Iguazu Falls National Park (Parque Nacional Cataratas del Iguazu)
o Animal refuge Guira Oga
o Triple Boarder Milestone Argentina - Paraguay - Brazil
o Puerto Iguazu downtown shopping and restaurant area

Our upper-floor room was well furnished, wonderfully spacious and modern, with floor-to-ceiling windows and a sliding door to a private terrace featuring stylish lounge chairs and affording a commanding (though not too interesting) view of the area. The bathroom was on the small side, the shower area could use more light and shelves for the necessary toiletries. The A/C was powerful.

The staff was generally courteous, but often seemed unprepared to meet even basic service needs of the guest. This caused confusion and delays at different points:

• printing boarding passes at the front desk and/or the computer area was an adventure not recommended for the weak of heart

• puzzled staff was trying hard (and not-so-successfully) to cover bases at breakfast

• a waitress serving a mere four tables for dinner at the bar was completely flummoxed; some guests were ignored, dishes were served to the wrong tables (resulting in cold pasta, which they kindly reheated), and drinks never arrived; however, it should be noted that on a different evening, the bartender provided fabulous service, working both the bar and the dining area with ease; in fact, we were hugely grateful when this bartender appeared at the door to our room late that evening with an iPhone that we had left behind.

Granted, all of these issues can be overcome with training and, hopefully, are resolved by now.

The buffet breakfast at Colonos consisted of basic fare with abundant carbo-loaded options. The food spread layout could be improved to enhance circulation. The staff (likely under training) seemed to lack a consistent system to operate and, as a consequence, was routinely running around “putting out fires” often caused by complaints about running out of expected staples.

Oddly enough, the Colonos breakfast area gets reinvented every evening as Demetrio Grill and Wine, the main hotel restaurant. We did not find this place welcoming (it feels bland and rather “cold”) and so opted for the first floor bar, the Lobby Lounge twice, the best option for a comfortable and tasty dinner.

Additional comments:
• The chatty elevator seemed to have a mind of its own
• The terrace pool with the Tropicalia cocktail bar is a well-designed space where classy cabanas provided welcome shelter from the hot Misiones sun. The only dissonant note (pun intended) was the inevitable music occasionally blasting through unnecessarily loud speakers.

Despite the service glitches, the hotel is a good value. It’s maybe 3 stars on its own accord, but we’re giving it 4 stars considering how it compares to other alternatives in the area in terms of price-point, location, amenities, and the fact that it is still quite new.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SunTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#10 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel

Property: Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Address: Av Victoria Aguirre y Calle Tordo, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Crucero iguazu Hotel is situated in one of the prime locations of the destination, just a few meters away from the most important shopping centers, main attractions and recreational areas. We offer warmth, comfort and the best service to the travellers, so they can enjoy a surpassing stay at the Land of the Falls. Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel is capable of accommodating over 220 passengers. Its 77 rooms and 4 suites are wide, comfortable and fully equipped with air conditioning and heating, LCD TV, minibar, IDD/NDD, Wi-fi internet, safe-deposit box, laundry service and room service. The Hotel also has two restaurants, lobby bar, capacious lounges and open spaces for events and conventions, swimming pool, pool bar, solarium, gym and its own tour agency to help you organize your itinerary and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing