We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poramba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poramba Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Saint bénigne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Here for 3 nights and good satisfaction.
Employees are available, give us good information and helpful.
Good place to go.
Just 5min from the city center.
They allow us to stay the whole day before our flight, possibility to take a shower, just perfect.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahyNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    53
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
66
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Like a previous reviewer mentioned, this is a hostel not a hotel, and in the tropics of Argentina. We had an ensuite in a basic room with an air conditioner. The room could have been cleaner, but we have stayed in worse. One of the advantages was the peace and quite after Buenos Aires, which led to a good nights sleep.

The hostel is a comfortable walk into town and the bus terminal to catch the bus to the falls. Breakfast consists of fresh bread rolls and croissants, jams, juice and coffee/tea. The young guys that were running the hostel whilst we were there were very pleasant and helpful.

Remember you get what you are prepared to pay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private ensuite room and found it pretty standard. There was a musty smell off the blankets but overall decent for a night or two. Wifi didn't work in rooms but was grand in reception.

The kitchen was well equipped and staff friendly and helpful. The location is ok, about 10 minute walk into the centre of town and 5 minutes from the bus station. Seems to be one of the cheapest places in Puerto Iguazu to stay and its definitely a decent budget option.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven_F555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were disappointed in this hostel. Not really clean and it had uncomfortable beds. The kitchen and common area were both outside which made it difficult to use in the winter (and most likely very hot in the summer). Breakfast is at 7:30 (a bit late if you're headed off to see the waterfalls early in the morning as suggested) ...and don't DARE ask for coffee earlier than that as the girls will flatly refuse you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChangesInAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My stay at Poramba was great and I definitely recommend this hostel! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We wanted to change our tour and they called for us! We also missed breakfast and they brought it out just for us, and they even brought out snacks when we were hanging around the lobby. If you have any questions or need suggestions, they will call any company/restaurant for you (the town is very small so they know pretty much everyone). It's very close to the bus terminal and you can walk anywhere from the hostel. The room was clean and in good condition; just keep in mind that this is a hostel, not a hotel, also this hostel is not located in the U.S. or Europe. Seriously consider this hostel if you are going to stay in Puerto Iguazu!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank living0utofasu1tcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Poramba for 2 nihjts due to its good reviews while visiting the falls. Staff is really excellent and helpful. But what was def. A minus is the location.though "just 4 blocs from the bus terminal",it's 4 blocs too much.te busterminal is really the center,and while there are loads of other hostels around there,we were walking 4 long blocks into nowhere...
Our bed in a double room was a desaster...after travelling 20hrs by bus (and having another 20hrs busride ahead of you while going back) ,you'd expect a relaxing comfortable bed and mattress.but exactly the mattress was so bad and wirn out,we bith got back-ache...
In the back where the pool and kitchen is,there are mosquitos 24hrs..
Pool was unuseful,because dirty and not welcoming to have a cool-off.
Almist ni sun coming dien to the poolside.
No wifi in rooms,only at receiption.
And no really comfi communal area or seating area.
So allover despute the effort the staff us doing,i def. Won't go back there....too many things that were bothering me and that all other hostels can iffer aswell with better infrastructure...maybe for 3.-- usd more per night

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schmeichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in April when the place hadn't been open very long. We took a gamble on trying a new place out - turned out to be the only people staying there but had a fabulous stay nonetheless. Lovely little spot, about 5 mins from the centre and bus station. Our double room was compact but clean and bright - nice clean bathroom too. The rooms are all layed out around a small pool in a pretty garden with plants for the hummingbirds to come and visit! The kitchen is a good size too and pretty well equipped - we cooked all our meals here during our stay. The owner and his partner were both so friendly and helpful - with lots of general info and advice of what to see in the local area. The morning we went to see the falls we left very early and the breakfast pastries hadn't yet been delivered to the hostel by the bakery (fresh every day!), so we left for the bus station without having breakfast, only for the owner to follow us all the way to the bus station with our DELICIOUS and HOT pastries after they had arrived! Great place, great service :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ItchyFeetGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#10 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#25 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Lilian
Residencial Lilian
#28 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poramba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poramba Hostel

Property: Poramba Hostel
Address: Calle El Uru 120, Puerto Iguazu N3370DBD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poramba hostel offers comfortable accommodation in a quiet and relaxing area surrounded by nature, with air conditioning, swimming pool and breakfast included at a very competitive rate!As there is no curfew you can feel free to come and go as you wish.We have a mixture of shared dormitory rooms and private en suite rooms.For chilling out there is a bar and a TV lounge, a kitchen where you can cook your own meal, an outside seating area and a swimming pool. There is also a computer in the lounge area for guests to use and access the Internet free of charge.Free Wi-Fi access is available in the public areas of the hostel and left luggage facilities are available too. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing