We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxed hostel”
Review of Poramba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poramba Hostel
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived at poramba after a hectic week in BA. It was a great change of pace. Vero, our host was super helpful providing loads of info about the falls and the town. She also arranged our room early as we had arrived before the usual check in time on an o/night bus.
The setting is really nice and although the rooms are a little old they were kept very clean, and we're quite comfortable.
When we were there the temperature was above 37 deg Celsius so the pool was very inviting after a day trekking around the falls.
Thanks Vero for a great stay

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in December 2013 in a mixed 6 bed dorm as a female solo traveller.

Rooms are spacious yet there is no locker. Mattresses should be a little thicker. Well functioning A/C in the room. Bathroom is directly in the dorm - clean and o.k. facilities.

Kitchen is a bit too small if it gets crowded which means 4 people wanting to cook... I did not want to go into the pool though it was hot weather but I am quite picky on pool facilities. Other people were happily enjoying the water.

The two young guys running shifts during my stay were extremely friendly and helpful. You may acknowledge that they work alone and do not to have much experience so it's a very young place in each sense.

The place is further off compared to other spots (you walk about 10-15' from bus station) but this made it a quiet and chilled out spot.

Overall I had a good stay because I wanted a calm, clean and comfortable place which I found.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGirlOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Here for 3 nights and good satisfaction.
Employees are available, give us good information and helpful.
Good place to go.
Just 5min from the city center.
They allow us to stay the whole day before our flight, possibility to take a shower, just perfect.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahyNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Like a previous reviewer mentioned, this is a hostel not a hotel, and in the tropics of Argentina. We had an ensuite in a basic room with an air conditioner. The room could have been cleaner, but we have stayed in worse. One of the advantages was the peace and quite after Buenos Aires, which led to a good nights sleep.

The hostel is a comfortable walk into town and the bus terminal to catch the bus to the falls. Breakfast consists of fresh bread rolls and croissants, jams, juice and coffee/tea. The young guys that were running the hostel whilst we were there were very pleasant and helpful.

Remember you get what you are prepared to pay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private ensuite room and found it pretty standard. There was a musty smell off the blankets but overall decent for a night or two. Wifi didn't work in rooms but was grand in reception.

The kitchen was well equipped and staff friendly and helpful. The location is ok, about 10 minute walk into the centre of town and 5 minutes from the bus station. Seems to be one of the cheapest places in Puerto Iguazu to stay and its definitely a decent budget option.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven_F555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were disappointed in this hostel. Not really clean and it had uncomfortable beds. The kitchen and common area were both outside which made it difficult to use in the winter (and most likely very hot in the summer). Breakfast is at 7:30 (a bit late if you're headed off to see the waterfalls early in the morning as suggested) ...and don't DARE ask for coffee earlier than that as the girls will flatly refuse you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChangesInAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My stay at Poramba was great and I definitely recommend this hostel! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We wanted to change our tour and they called for us! We also missed breakfast and they brought it out just for us, and they even brought out snacks when we were hanging around the lobby. If you have any questions or need suggestions, they will call any company/restaurant for you (the town is very small so they know pretty much everyone). It's very close to the bus terminal and you can walk anywhere from the hostel. The room was clean and in good condition; just keep in mind that this is a hostel, not a hotel, also this hostel is not located in the U.S. or Europe. Seriously consider this hostel if you are going to stay in Puerto Iguazu!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank living0utofasu1tcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Hotel Iguazu Royal
#37 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#15 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Lilian
Residencial Lilian
#36 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Iquazu Falls
Hostel Iquazu Falls
#21 of 131 in Puerto Iguazu
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poramba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poramba Hostel

Address: Calle El Uru 120, Puerto Iguazu N3370DBD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £11 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poramba hostel offers comfortable accommodation in a quiet and relaxing area surrounded by nature, with air conditioning, swimming pool and breakfast included at a very competitive rate!As there is no curfew you can feel free to come and go as you wish.We have a mixture of shared dormitory rooms and private en suite rooms.For chilling out there is a bar and a TV lounge, a kitchen where you can cook your own meal, an outside seating area and a swimming pool. There is also a computer in the lounge area for guests to use and access the Internet free of charge.Free Wi-Fi access is available in the public areas of the hostel and left luggage facilities are available too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Poramba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing