We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by negative reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raices Esturion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I only checked reviews after arriving and was amazed by some of the negative comments posted. The hotel is lovely, set in spacious grounds on the sloping banks above the Iguazu River, some 400 metres from the Tres Fronteras view point overlooking the confluence of the Iguazu and Paraña Rivers. From this point there are views across the Iguazu to Brazil and the Paraña to Paraguay.
The air conditioning on entering the hotel is a blessed relief from the heat and humidity of December. The staff were very friendly have remained so during our stay. The lobby bar area is a large communal area with comfortable settees and chairs and access to 3 computers for taking advantage of the free wifi available (in all bedrooms too).
The bedroom is of a decent size, equipped with a large, comfortable double bed, chair, 26" flat screen TV and minibar. This room is tastefully, and fairly recently, decorated and has very effective air conditioning. There is a French window opening on to a small balcony complete with a large flower- and plant-filled box on the balcony rails.
The bathroom is smallish and perhaps a little gloomy, but has bath/shower, basin, toilet and bidet.
The buffet breakfast is excellent. I cannot comment on the restaurant as we have not eaten lunch or dinner there.
In the grounds there is a rectangular pool with loungers, tables and chairs with parasols and some games tables. At the pool-side bar drinks and food can be ordered.
We have not experienced any noise problems from inside the hotel or, indeed, from local youths playing loud music into the early hours. Our experience has been entirely favourable. I would have no hesitation (a) in staying here again and (b) recommending it to others. In my opinion, it is better to be located away from "downtown" as the town itself has very little to commend it!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DJRoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

I traveled here with my mother on a three day excursion to see the Iguazu Falls. We found the hotel spacious and inviting with interesting splashes of color on the walls and modern design touches, as well as being impeccably clean. Our room was basic but nice with a large t.v., balcony, and good airconditioning and lighting. The restaurant didn't have huge variety of options, but the meat dishes we tried were solid and it was a nice place to have a drink. The staff was not particularly outgoing, but were helpful with our questions when asked. Most of the other guests appeared to be Argentine families, which leant a laid back feel. Overall, a fun and relaxing base camp for our Iguazu adventures, at a very excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthroviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed for holidays. Nice breakfast, good service. My room desperately needed maintenance. Bathroom shower had no water pressure, old pieces in bathroom fixtures, old curtain. Also the beddings need to be modernized.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avv1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Wd stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in our Iguazu trip.
The hotel is built near the end of the small town and covers a large area. It has an average size pool, a bar, shopping and a restaurant.
The room was OK, felt like acountry hotel of course but it needs a little bit of upgrading. There were shops selling souvenirs which was very helpful for me as walking down the town was not really a pleasant think to do. We had dinner in the restaurant but unfortunately we did not enjoy it. The menu was limited and the food was not really cooked properly. The service was problematic with half waiters not speaking enough English.
I thought I did not get good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just stayed 2 nights at the hotel as was pleasantly surprised how good it was. A friend recommended it but with a few "but's" in there, so was somewhat concerned.

Firstly one - was a bit far from downtown Iguazu. Yes it is about 6 blocks away from the downtown main street. But you can easily walk it in about 15-20mins comfortably. Also the town buses to the bus station runs past the hotel front gates every 10-15mins and are always on-time. The bus to the Falls also runs past with a sign "Cataratas" on the front. Costs around ARG25 for a one way ticket.

Breakfast is great and alot of options. Also had dinner at the restuarant one night and also very good. Staff were very pleasant and as with most of my trip around Sth America we played I dont speak Spanish and they dont speak English. But sign language, smiles and pointing works just fine.

The only couple of problems were:

Wifi. Doesnt have strong strenght in the rooms. But found going up to the reception area, which had alot of coaches and wifi would work great. Worked ok as I would only go online for maybe 30-40mins each night just to clear emails and check future travel plans so nothing big.

Slight damp smell in the room. Nothing big considering the humidity in the area. Left the balcony doors open for a few hours and was gone. Also travel with a small container of room freshner which again killed any residual smell. Also the rooms are a little dated and can be a little noisy with the tiles floors and people moving furniture or slamming doors, but nothing too bad.

While didnt use it also has a good pool area and a games area with table tennis table and a real tennis court.

Really good value at aprox USD$125 a night in this area and very suitable for a 3-4night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aoz48x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel with a nice pool and gardens. Food was good, though the buffet and wine were v overpriced. But service was with a snarl. We had an awful experience with the waiter who seemed to take a dislike to us when we didnt take the wine he recommended which was nearly the most expensive on the menu. Front desk and other staff were equally unpleasant. A shame as the hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Service was professional and smiley, breakfast was huge and good.
The walls and windows are very thin so you are going to hear what happens in the rooms next to yours but if you are lucky enough (I was) then you "neighbors" won't disturb you.
Its location is not ideal if you are not keen to walk as the city centre is around 15 mins away (but there is plenty of taxis).
Roomds are spacious anc lean but Internet worked very badly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioinoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#19 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yvy Hotel de Selva
Yvy Hotel de Selva
#23 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Exe Hotel Cataratas
Exe Hotel Cataratas
#28 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,267 reviews
3 mi away
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
#22 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raices Esturion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raices Esturion Hotel

Address: Avenida Tres Fronteras 650, Puerto Iguazu N3370AWT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raices Esturion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raices Esturion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esturion Hotel And Lodge
Esturion Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing