We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in Iguazu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Iguazu”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Secret Garden is a gem. The staff is very attentive and adds to the ambience of the B&B. Carla was the "innkeeper" during John's brief leave for personal reasons. She added so much to the experience with her intellect, wit and hospitality. The Inn is within walking distance of a grocery and restaurants as well as the city center. Carla assisted with all our needs from places to eat, taxis, area information, etc. The Inn is in a very quiet neighborhood and provides for a restful nights sleep. I enjoyed the early evening cocktail hour(s) as a time to relax and reflect on the days events but mostly the enjoyable conversation with Carla and the other guests. I would highly recommend this wonderful retreat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhardycpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    71
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
78
473
73
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed with John at the Secret Garden for three days/two nights. John could not have been a more gracious host, showing us around town, introducing us to some of the best restaurants, and making sure our stay was comfortable. You could easily pay three times as much for a room at the Sheraton next to the falls, but that would just be silly when you could stay at John's place with a delicious breakfast, plenty more restaurants and stores within walking distance, and much better conversation with people from all over the world.

Thanks again for doing what you do, John - keep up the good work!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastrocurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My boyfriend and I along with one of our single friends were looking for a nice place to stay in Iguazu for our 3 day visit. Secret Garden was the perfect choice.

John is an incredibly inviting and interesting being who just loves to chat and get to know people that come to stay. John greeted us with a big smile and had his driver take us around the little village to get us acquainted with the area. It was a very nice way to start our stay. We quickly found out that John is a well-travelled individual who is always ready to have a laugh. What a blessing it was to stay in his home and meet his acquaintance.

John's place is very clean and offers 3 spacious rooms that are kept by two wonderful and dedicated ladies . They all do a very good job in making everyone feel like they are in a private setting and they make a delicious banana bread and pay a very special attention to detail! They are both very polite and we appreciated everything they did to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

Something we truly enjoyed was the 7pm get together in the main living area where all guests are invited by John to have snacks and drinks. It was such a nice way to start up the evening and also to get to know the other guests in house.

We loved every minute of our stay and John will forever be remembered.

I would 100% recommend this place for anyone travelling to the falls.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angoulême, Poitou-Charentes, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

When we were planning a short trip to Iguazu to see the falls, I asked friends on Facebook if they knew of a good place to stay and one of them recommended the Secret Garden and said they loved it. The prices seemed reasonable for us so we booked two rooms (we were two couples traveling there) and I'm so glad we heard about this place.

Their driver was there to pick us up at the airport and was available to take us to the falls at a very fair price (and he was an excellent and careful driver). We were greeted at the Secret Garden by a lovely young couple who were watching over the place for a few weeks while John was out of town, and they gave us a tour of Puerto Iguazu and then joined us for welcome drinks and snacks that evening that were amazing (maybe the best food and drinks in town!) The dining area is a porch which looks into the garden and was a nice place to eat breakfast as well (and check email too, as there's wifi)

The rooms were clean, bright and spacious with very comfortable beds. They're set back from the main house a bit so you have a feeling of privacy. The BnB is on a quiet residential street which is very nice and right near a little park which would be good for kids. Its also one block away from the main street and a walkable distance to the center of town (maybe 15 minutes). There's an empanada joint right next to the supermarket on the corner which has amazing empanadas.

I would definitely stay at the Secret Garden again! Its great! There are only three rooms, though, so make sure you book in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent a couple of nights at the Secret Garden in June. It was definitely another highlight of our trip to Iguazu Falls. Good location, comfortable, clean and spacious rooms, delicious breakfasts surrounded by luscious greenery, attentive and very kind staff, a useful short guided tour of the town, and Roxy the dog. Not to forget John, the Secret Garden's charming owner and exceptional host, who looked after us from the moment we arrived... The evenings spent solving the world's issues with a glass in his Secret Garden will be sorely missed. We thoroughly recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Secret Garden during our honeymoon after a recommendation form friends. After reading previous reviews, it just sounded lovely and I have to agree with every kind work said about this place.
From the minute you arrive, John and Roxy are SO welcoming and as it was our honeymoon we had a glass of champagne waiting for us when we arrived.
John is so helpful and a font of knowledge of the local area, even taking us on a small tour the following morning to help us find our way around. Juan, the driver is also amazing and would take us wherever we needed to go and wait for us to take us on to the next place.
The cocktails and nibbles each evening made it more like you where staying with friends than in a B&B.
Roxy is just gorgeous, and extremely friendly, often coming to sit on my knee when we where having our evening drinks.
The town itself is extremely safe and it is within walking distance of plenty of restaurants, and the most amazing red wine you'll even drink.
I will always come back here if travelling in the area again and would recommend to anyone wishing to visit Iguazu.
Thank you John and Roxy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Under the careful guidance of John at Secret Garden you can gave a relaxing fun time in Iguazu. John will organise all trips, restaurants etc so you will be well catered for in those respects
Johns place literally is a ' secret garden' with neat, very clean rooms and very friendly staff
Highlight fir us was drinks on the Deck each night when we could have some stimulating conversation with John and fellow travellers.
Definitely a great place to stay in Iguazu...and you wont be disappointed by the falls. An afternoon on Brazilian side and a day on Argentine side just about does it we reckon...and be prepared to get wet!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsmithScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Property: Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Address: Calle Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Iguazu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing