We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John is cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Ranked #1 of 55 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2006

The secret garden is a great place to stay if you're going to the argentine side of the falls for a few days. John was great to hang out and have a beer or glass of wine with, and a wealth of knowledge about other areas in argentina to check out. He also arranged pick up to and from the national park if you need that sort of thing. The breakfast was nice, and everything was great. Oh yeah, I was there in april or may, but am late writing this as usual, but that was a fabulous time of the year to go visit the falls, hardly anybody in the park and temps in the 80 degree farenheit range.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank biggiepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2006

Have to say this place and this host were fantastic. You will be made most welcome here. A real highlight of our travels. John Fernandez....what a guy !

Mark & Kay, Manchester UK

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank MarknKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

The Secret Garden is a wonderful and immaculate place! John is a most congenial, gracious, and wonderful host. His homemade jams and drinks are fabulous.

The room was very modern, air-conditioned or heated as you desired with your remote control. Immaculate, spacious, and very comfortable.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with John and we wholeheartedly recommend anyone traveling to Iguazu to stay at The Secret Garden! John even offered free international phone calls to home for his guests!

We're from Hawaii, and surrounded by beauty, but Iguazu Falls was breathtakenly stunning and not to be missed!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank warrenhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

We've just returned from a 3 week vacation in Argentina and Brazil. We had planned on staying at the Sheraton in Iguazu - but due to all the positive reviews of John and the Secret Garden - we changed our minds and stayed here instead....and - thank goodness we did!!

Everyone has already expounded on what a knowlegeable, friendly and gracious host John is and how delicious the breakfast is - and it's all true! The bedrooms are also a lovely large size, beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are perfectly adequate etc etc!! They will even do a load of laundry for you at a VERY reasonable rate! (The whole load will cost the same as 1 item at a hotel!)

One of the nicest things about staying at the Secret Garden is meeting and spending time with the other guests! We had 2 very enjoyable dinners with the other guests staying there and our last night we had dinner with John - also a great evening!

The food in Argentina is so good (especially if you like beef!) and extremely reasonable.

John also assists with the hiring of drivers to take you to wherever you want to go. We spent time at the Argentine side as well as the Brazilian side - and would recommend that you see both if possible! Hiring a driver is worth the extra cost if your time is limited and you don't want to waste hours on bus timetables etc.

The falls were a little on the low side - but as one optimist was overheard....."everyone has seen the falls full - we are lucky to see them so low!"

I will definitely recommend to others to stay at The Secret Garden - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cheggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2006

I had the good fortune of happening on this by accident as I was surfing the web for a place to stay in Igauzu. This place is outstanding. it is simple, but classy. English (Indian-English) classy. John is an excellent host and very knowledgeable about the area and the world in general. I especially appreciated finishing each of my days on the patio with one of John's great drinks. You will love this place. I just want to add that this B&B is within walking distance of the town center, but is also secluded and quiet. Thanks John.
Ken

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ken2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Everything said about John in previous reviews is 100% accurate. He is a tremendous host, excellent mixoligist, and above all a genuinely nice and welcoming person. The Secret Garden in Iguazu is the ONLY place to stay. No need to look any further.

My wife and I will be traveling to BA in the future and plan on visiting the falls again. Of course, we'll be staying at The Secret Garden.

Darren and Marisa

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dsgreen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans, Louisiana
11
Reviewed 1 July 2006

We went to Buenos Aires on our honeymoon, planning Iguazu as a little side trip. Little did we know it would become one of the most memorable parts of our visit.

It was just beautiful, and one of those experiences that you will remember for a lifetime.
John was very kind and made us feel at home... attaining that delicate balace between being a gracious host, yet not intrusive in the least. He took the guesswork out of our sightseeing, yet we felt like it was truly an adventure.

We thought about staying at the Sheraton. But we had dinner there one night, and that was more than enough. There is a nice place for drinks with view of the waterfall, but we were not crazy about the corporate feel of that hotel.

The Secret Garden really is fantastic and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#20 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Address: Calle Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £109 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Iguazu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing