We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Ranked #1 of 53 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We stayed here at September and we enjoyed every minute. John is great! He is a great host, he does everything to make you feel comfortable. And last but not least: he knows how to make great caipirinas. Really something to recommend!
Christel and Costa from Holland

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
There are newer reviews for Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2006

Stayed here while visiting the falls and was given a hearty welcome by John, he gave us a tour of the town, shared some local history and makes great cocktails! This really is a home away from home. The garden is fantastic and watching a humming bird was having breakfast was special. Maria makes the best cafe con leche in Argentina.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnCailinDeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

My wife, Jennette, and I had a magnificent time in Iquazu, and more specifically with the accomodations at the Secret Garden. John was wonderful help as far as getting us to see the falls from both sides and anything else our hearts desired.

I also enjoyed the dinners at the local restaurant near the public soccer/basketball courts where one can have a relaxing and real argentine dinner, then walk 10 yards and watch the locals play soccer, with the raucous and friendly crowds.

John has created a wonderful place from which to experience the surroundings, and no matter your taste, off the beaten track traveler or classic tourista, John knows what, whom, and how to get you to experience what it is your are wanting.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time and can not say enough positive things about our stay, I hope we are able to get back there again someday.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jasoncross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

We stayed at the Secret Garden earlier this month and can only concur with the numerous reviews already posted for this excellent B&B.

The B&B has been open less than 12 months and this is the first experience the owner John Fernandes has of earning a living from the hospitality industry. He has taken a refreshingly personal approach to his new business, which leaves the guest feeling as if they have had a complete experience rather than just a place to sleep for a few nights. As other guests have mentioned, John is superb at providing orientation of the area, along with organising logistics for any day or evening activities that you might fancy. And no matter what walk of life you come from, I would defy any overseas visitor to say these trips are not enormous value!

John's evening drinks sessions demonstrate a generosity rarely (i.e. never) experienced at large hotels, along with a genuine interest from John in the stories and lives of his visitors. It is amazing that in a country as picturesque and beautiful as Argentina, that one of our lasting memories will be the hours spent on John's porch swapping stories, jokes and friendly banter with the other guests from all over the globe.

We are a couple that will almost always stay in large hotels when we travel and can honestly say that we couldn't have felt more sorry for anyone who paid big money to stay at hotels in the Iguazu area. We can't speak highly enough of Secret Garden and thank the other Trip Advisor members who have previously posted for guiding us to this excellent B&B.

John, you should take great pride in receiving this unanimous support in the new and life changing adventure you have taken on.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BuzzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Secret Garden during our trip to Argentina in March and we absolutely loved this place. John was a great host and made us feel right at home. His drinks and snacks are delicious! We truly enjoyed our conversations with John about Argentina and its people. He went out of his way to make sure that we had a great visit to Iguazu. Don't stay anywhere else!
John, sorry I didn't post sooner.
Janet and Sean (NJ)

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jpeppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Our family are seasoned travelers and we have become somewhat cynical of what we might expect when staying someplace new for the first time.
Arriving in Puerto Iguazu airport, we were not only met by the driver that John (the Secret Garden's Owner) had promised us, but John himself came along to greet us! More unexpectedly, John proceeded to show us around the town and its environs, all the while entertaining us with his wit and honest humor about where he has chosen to make his life. He had all kinds of good recommendations as to Restaurants and good itineraries for visiting Iguazu Falls as well as sites in Brazil.
When we arrived at his B & B, we were not prepared for the well-designed and private little world that John has created in the rear of his property. Suffice it to say that the moniker John has chosen- Secret Garden -is a very apt and accurate description of what you will find.
Since John has a constructed a separate structure with his guestrooms in the back of the property (reached a beautful boardwalk thorugh the Garden) and there is great sense of privacy as a result.
The rooms are surprisingly large (very large, actually) and since the whole structure is only about a year old, everything is modern and spotless, including the bathroom and shower stall which are almost too good for the price charged.
John is amazingly generous, and unlike many other B & B owners we have met, loves to have tea & drinks with his guests, and seems to prefer good intelligent conversation. It was a real pleasure spending time with him, and a real learning experience.
In fact, we felt our stay in many ways was more luxurious than staying in some of the 5 star hotels we have frequented around the world, due to the lavish personal attention shown by John and his small, but very able staff.
Here is an example of his generosity and willingness to help-We were scheduled to depart Puerto Iguazu on a Saturday morning on a 1:15pm flight. While we were out sightseeing on Friday, John received a call from our airline informing us that our flight had been cancelled. When we returned to the Secret Garden that evening, John reported to us what had happened. Since it was late in the evening, we could not get in touch with our airline, and John checked the airline schedule online and mentioned that we might be able to re-book on a morning flight. We explained that we had not seen all of Iguazu Falls & that our original plan had included a 1/2 day at the falls Saturday morning before our flight back.
Well, by the time we had arrived at John's beautiful outside veranda for breakfast ( you MUST try John's homemade Passion Fruit Jam, and his perfectly steeped tea! ) the next morning, he had already booked us on a 3:00pm flight out of Iguazu, allowing us even a bit more time for sightseeing than originally planned.
We had a great day at the falls as a result.
I can't say enough good things about John and his Secret Garden property, but there is no question that our stay there was one of the most memorable we have EVER had anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Sheldon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

If you want to go to a brand new, cosy B&B and drink caipirinia every night with matterfull conversations with a well educated and an absolutly intelligent owner, please do not hesitate to go to
SECRET GARDEN IGUAZU!

Eszter and Tibor

John! Thanks again for your kindness and helpful behavior! We loved Secret Garden.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eszter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,827 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Address: Calle Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £84 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Iguazu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing