We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Ranked #1 of 56 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2006

There are three things not to be missed in Iguazu - John, Filisberto (the taxi driver who took us around) & the Cataratas (the Falls)

John is an amazing personality. He has tremendous experience and knowledge, and is an interesting conversationalist. Very rarely do we come across such a person.

The service was extra-ordinarily awesome, the best stay we ever had. I really enjoyed the evening gettogethers. John arranged a cab for us to visit the Cataratas, that's how we came to know Filisberto.

John even took care of burning our photos onto a CD.

Maria and the other ladies were great, and it was fun to play with Roxy. It was hard to leave Secret Garden/Iguazu.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sgsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2006

Spent 2 nights at the Secret Garden in December. Are embarrassed to admit we initially tried to get in at the Sheraton but delighted to say they were full for the time period we needed. Consequently we booked with John Fernandez and found his personal service, hospitality and accommodation to be just as good as other TA reviewers have described. We are not particularly outgoing but found his excellent caipirinha aperitifs an excellent way of relaxing in his company and the company of fellow travellers.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abadaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2006

Stayed 2 nights at The Secret Garden B&B in Iguazu. John picked us up from the airport, and gave us a short sightseeing tour of the main town on the Argentine side, Puerto Iguazu. He has a small home with a terrific garden and all the rooms are detached from the main house, with a lovely little walk way through the secret garden. We had capirinias each night and breakfast was served on the decking each morning. We were lucky to spot a humming bird while drinking coffee one morning. The accomodation is comfortable with air con which was really needed. The rooms are basic with no phone and no tv, but we never needed this. John organised a driver for us to take us to the falls each day. He is very knowledgeable about the local area and the perfect host. We enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brian&Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2006

From the moment John picked us up from the airport to the moment we were dropped back off there a couple of days later it was clear to us that The Secret Garden is one of the best B&B´s we had ever had the pleasure of experiencing, and the vast majority of the reason was John himself, and, of course, Roxy, the Jack Russell puppy! John´s hospitality was unparalleled: a free tour around the town explaining about the history and pointing out good places to eat etc, advice about anything you wanted to do (always accurate), and free caipirinhas each day at 7:30, which was a great opportunity to meet the other guests. There are only three rooms so the place has a wonderfully intimate feel, and the friendliness of the staff onlys adds to this. Combine these with the beautiful garden, at the back of which the rooms are hidden, and you´ve got a wonderful experience. Special mention must be made of Maria, the ever-smiling breakfast and laundry lady and maid; Somehow it was a pleasure to know her even though we could not speak a word of each other´s languages!! No need to think about it, just book the Secret Garden

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P215705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2006

We were planning to take a side trip to Iguazu during our stay in Buenos Aires, and my wife found this place through her internet research. I'm really glad she did.

It's a small, four-room place with a great environment and a very friendly and personable owner, John Fernandes. There is air conditioning in the rooms and a nice breakfast, then drinks in the early evening.

John can give you good advice about activities in the town and trips to Brazil or Paraguay.

The biggest bonus for us was Roxy, a Jack Russell terrier puppy who's the real boss of the place.

We were only able to stay there one night because the next was booked, and we spent our second night at Hotel Esturion, a generic and depressing tourist hotel that was an enormous disappointment after our stay at Secret Garden.

This place is great. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OrganLeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2006

While looking around on the internet for a recommended place to stay at Iguazu Falls (Argentina side), we came across good reviews for the Secret Garden Bed and Breakfast. I agree with others who wrote -- it turned out to be quite a gem. Very new, clean bungalow -- spacious room with a bathroom. Nice details, very pleasant, and aptly named -- the rooms are sort of "hidden" in a garden setting. We made reservations directly over the internet with John, the owner, who was just as pleasant, hospitable, and helpful as he could be. Very good experience, and reasonable. John can help arrange for transportation and tour guides -- check with him -- he'll graciously help.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank starrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

My friend and I stayed with John for two nights in October. John is one of those people who goes out of his way to make sure everyone is OK and having a good time. His B&B is delightful and even has a resident humming bird. The first evening we arrived it was G&T's on the terrace and there we sat chatting away whilst a humming bird came and drank nectar a few feet away - I was blown away. Maria and the other two ladies who help John are lovely and make a fab breakfast with home made jams - I think one of them was passion fruit. They can even wash your cloths for you overnight for a small fee. The three rooms are really nice and very clean and they have a shared veranda overlooking the lovely garden. You are a stroll away from the town centre and there are some good restaurants nearby. We went to the Pizza place by the river one night which was very good and the setting is brilliant for sunsets. You will need to take a taxi to get there though - John will book you one. John also has a friend who can also take you out for a day to visit Paraguay, the Bird Park and the Brasilian side of the falls - we did and it was well worth doing. This is the place to stay in Iguazu -

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank amandafeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#20 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
372 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Address: Calle Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £105 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Iguazu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing