We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gem of Iguazu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huaraz
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Gem of Iguazu”
Reviewed 31 January 2007

After a wonderful four week journey through Argentina, my wife and I finished our trip with a crescendo. We had a great experience, one that John Fernandes, the delightful host and owner at Secret Garden Iguazu, had a hand in creating. He arranged inexpensive transportation to Ciudad Del Este in Paraguay and to the Brasilian side of Iguazu Falls. He was always attentive to our needs and requests, directing us to good restaurants and providing other necessary local information. Moreover, as a bonus, we enjoyed the deep philosophical discussions we had with John each night.

The room we had at Secret Garden Iguazu was well-appointed, very clean, quiet and air-conditioned. John's jungle garden provides an ambience that makes this bed and breakfast a very special place. The overall experience: Excellent.

Thank you, John, for such a wonderful time!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyJonesHuaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    73
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
79
476
73
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2007

We stayed at the Secret Garden for 3 nights back in September 2006 and loved it. There's nothing negative that can be said about this place or the owner - who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome be it with complementary drinks on the verandah or an 'orientation' tour around town to help you get your bearings.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfasts include delicious fresh homemade juice, bread and jams and the evening Caprianhas are a real treat.

Also of note is the proximity to the bus stop - we used the local bus services to get to and from the falls and to Paraguay - cheap and reliable.

To sum up, this is a great place to stay, in a beautiful setting, and was definately the most memorable accommodation we stayed in on our travels in Argentina and Brazil - just wish we were back there now!

Pete & Fay
Manchester - England

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_and_Fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

From the moment we were picked up at the airport till we were taken back 2 days later, we felt completely looked after. John is an amazingly warm host for whom nothing is too much trouble. As ours, and another couple staying there's flight's had been delayed, cutting our time in Puerto Iguazu I was concerned that we wouldn't be able to see everything the parks had to offer, but John quickly arranged a car to take us all around for the day which was wonderful and we were able to maxmise our time there and meet come wonderful people at the same time. Cocktail hour and the chance to meet and chat to other guests and share stories was a wonderful part of the experience. The rooms were lovely and the chance to escape from TV, phones and internet was great. Can't recommend this place highly enough, it's great. Thank you John.

  • Liked — warmth and hospitality
  • Disliked — one morning we had cold water - due to a bad storm
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we couldn't wait to visit Iguassu and staying at the Secret Garden contributed to our enjoyment of the area immensely. The drinks, town tour, Roxy the puppy etc. added so many elements that a hotel can't hope to compete with.

The room was nicely decorated and much more comfortable than many of the nondescript hotels we stayed in during the rest of our holiday. G and Ts on arrival and caipirinhas on the deck in the evening were a nice way of relaxing and meeting others. There was also unexpected bonus of John having an award winning tango singer as a house guest (we were embarrassed to comment on the quality of the CD that was playing and then walking past the lounge window to see that it was Maria Volmonte in person).

Reading the guest comments book showed just how far the garden itself has grown in one year. A whole range of birds visited the garden during our time there and it was fun to watch the tiny hummingbirds taking on much larger competitors for the food.

There was a reasonable selection of restaurants in town and Aqua had a choice of local fish which gave us a break from steak. Surubi was the local river fish and came with a tangy fruit sauce. Most restaurants were a 15-20 minute walk and as most of this was on the main road it felt safe.

We were particularly impressed with the team of local drivers that John had arranged as it took all the guesswork out of having to find buses or cabs that wouldn't rip you off. The driver for our day trip to the Brazilian side (including the bird park) in the morning and Argentinian side in the afternoon cost just $35. He was also able to avoid a lot of queuing at the border. For a further $40 he took us to Paraguay for the day and guided us around the city on foot. We took the ferry which was a very peaceful means of getting there and meant that we got to drive into the city through pretty countryside.

Did I mention the falls? They were pretty impressive as well.

  • Liked — The deck / garden
  • Tips/Secrets — If visiting Brazil then go to the bird park after the falls. Go early as Brazil is 1 hour ahead.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blackeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2006

There are three things not to be missed in Iguazu - John, Filisberto (the taxi driver who took us around) & the Cataratas (the Falls)

John is an amazing personality. He has tremendous experience and knowledge, and is an interesting conversationalist. Very rarely do we come across such a person.

The service was extra-ordinarily awesome, the best stay we ever had. I really enjoyed the evening gettogethers. John arranged a cab for us to visit the Cataratas, that's how we came to know Filisberto.

John even took care of burning our photos onto a CD.

Maria and the other ladies were great, and it was fun to play with Roxy. It was hard to leave Secret Garden/Iguazu.

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sgsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2006

Spent 2 nights at the Secret Garden in December. Are embarrassed to admit we initially tried to get in at the Sheraton but delighted to say they were full for the time period we needed. Consequently we booked with John Fernandez and found his personal service, hospitality and accommodation to be just as good as other TA reviewers have described. We are not particularly outgoing but found his excellent caipirinha aperitifs an excellent way of relaxing in his company and the company of fellow travellers.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abadaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

Stayed 2 nights at The Secret Garden B&B in Iguazu. John picked us up from the airport, and gave us a short sightseeing tour of the main town on the Argentine side, Puerto Iguazu. He has a small home with a terrific garden and all the rooms are detached from the main house, with a lovely little walk way through the secret garden. We had capirinias each night and breakfast was served on the decking each morning. We were lucky to spot a humming bird while drinking coffee one morning. The accomodation is comfortable with air con which was really needed. The rooms are basic with no phone and no tv, but we never needed this. John organised a driver for us to take us to the falls each day. He is very knowledgeable about the local area and the perfect host. We enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to all.

  • Liked — Roxy, the Dog & the Caipirinhas at night
  • Disliked — The mosquitoes......they're everywhere
  • Tips/Secrets — Aqua restaurant in Puerto Iguazu if you are looking for an escape from Bife
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brian&Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Property: Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Address: Calle Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Secret Garden Iguazu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing