We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what you're getting into.”
Review of Latino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Latino Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Know what you're getting into.”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

After spending two months living in Argentina, this hotel seemed very nice. Know what you're in for when you travel to an area. Though I would not consider this hotel in any way acceptable in the US, it is definitely nice by Argentinean standards.

The room was nice sized and had modern decor (that, or decor that was so old it's back in style). The shower was nice sized, and relatively clean (there was mold around the drain, and it was clear that it had been installed by someone who wasn't very skilled at plumbing). The bathroom air vent was missing a grill. However, the toilet flushed (and well!), and everything was clean.

Do the towels look old? Yes. But they were clean, if a little dingy. The linens were clean, and there was a refridgerator that stayed ant-free (though other areas of the room definitely had them).

The restaurant was nice. For the price, you really couldn't go wrong. While facilities may be of lower standard in parts of Argentina, dining and service definitely is not.

I didn't go near the pool during my four nights here, but it looked clean (and I saw it being cleaned twice).

If you're staying here and want to go into town, it's a short bus ride away, the stop is about 100m walk up the hill when you exit the hotel, to the left. It was 2pesos as of June 2012. This will take you down to the Three Corners monument (worth a quick look - just stay til the next bus comes around), and downtown to shops and restaurants.

Not many people in the town speak English very well, so a working knowledge of Spanish is helpful (mine is rudimentary at best, but I got by traveling alone). The hotel staff know minimal english, but were as helpful as they could be.

So, if you want 4-5 star casino hotels around Iguazu, get a Brazilian visa and stay on the Brazil side. But, if the Falls are your main reason for coming, and you want to try living like the locals do, give this place a shot.

Room Tip: Stay Poolside for a nicer view and quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    35
    11
    17
See reviews for
31
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I recently went to the Latino hotel for two terrible nights. It is definitely only 1 star, not a three star hotel. There was a feral cat in the room across the hall, plentiful bugs, a dirty pool, and broken stuff all around. the elevator was old and shakey and it is not a good location for tourists. Yuck! I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csacroltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

Varese, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We booked for three nights but once we arrived in our room we decided to leave the day after: the bathroom was dirty, towels in the room were stained, spider webs everywhere...We wanted a bottle of water in the evening but there is no bar and the restaurant at 9.00pm was already closed...For the same price there are many other hotels clean and very well located.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mody07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We stayed at the Latino for 3 nights. It is a really old hotel but did the job as it was cheap. We had a room facing the road and it was really noisy, but the staff didn't have problems changing it to another room in the back for the next night. Friendly staff with limited english and minimal in terms of breakfast.

Good location as the bus station for the falls was right across the street from the hotel. It was about a 10 minute walk into the city center of Puerto Iguazu where all the restaurants, supermarket, cambios, etc. are.

  • Liked — good location, cheap
  • Disliked — really old hotel
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

This hotel looks like it might have been quite grand 20 years ago, but hasn't been updated since. It could really do with a lick of paint. Having said that, it was cheap and did the job. The pool was actually fine and kept clean. Good spread for breakfast. And the staff were very helpful, despite their limited English. Bus right across the road to the falls, and a less than 10 minute walk into the town for the night life. I would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Iguazu
0.1 mi away
El Libertador
El Libertador
#39 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
426 reviews
3.5 mi away
Turrance Green Hotel
Turrance Green Hotel
#34 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosetti Apart Hotel
Bosetti Apart Hotel
#44 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lider Palace Hotel
Lider Palace Hotel
#56 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#46 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latino Hotel

Property: Latino Hotel
Address: Av. Victor Aguirre 391, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Class:3 star — Latino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Latino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing