We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better facilities than some hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SiHostel - Adventure San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We spent a day here and could easily stay longer. The main building is old, but kept neat and clean by the friendly staff. I liked the large communal area with the large fireplace for cold winters, and the pool that was kept in order. There are hammocks under the trees (I happen to love hammocks) and the bar well stocked.
San Ignacio isn't big, so location is kind of less important but Adventure Hostel has a very good location anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manne-Bsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm. The room was basic and a bit dated. Could do with a lick of paint to brighten it up. It was good to get hot water in the bathroom, as we hadn't had that very often in South America. The garden and pool area were large and well kept, although the pool itself needed a clean out. There are hammocks, table tennis, table football, pool, wifi and (old) computers. Breakfast was pretty basic, but there's a large kitchen you can use. It's a bit of a trek uphill with your luggage from the bus stop on a hot day, but a taxi wouldn't cost you much. It's well located for the town centre and ruins. We stayed on a Friday night and there was quite a bit of noise from neighbouring streets until about 5:AM.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We travelled north from Posadas by bus and were at San Ignacio within the hour. The bus terminal is some distance from the centre of town but older style taxis frequently stop at the terminal and not expensive, if you are prepared to haggle. WE arrange our return taxi as abulk buy and found the driver was very reliable and on time. The Hostal is located a short walk from the main centre and is surrounded by lovely gardens with a large pool and cabana. The layout of the rooms was well done wtih no one room close by. Our room was a double ensuite towards the rear and was very quiet and comfortable. The main eating area was very large and well equipped with an adjoining kitchen area, again very large by comparison with other hostels we had stayed in Argentina. The Jesuit Mission is an easy walk through the town and very safe. Friendly staff who provided cervasas by the pool made it all the more relaxing. There is a large outdoor eating and BBQ area under the large pine trees and if we had had more time would have been a great area for an evening meal. Make sure you visist the night light presentation at the Mission. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Chose an ensuite room towards the rear. Room 7 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had originally planned on travelling from Iguazú to Mercedes in order to get to Colonia Pelligrini in the Esteros del Ibera wetlands and only wanted to visit the Jesuit ruins in San Ignacio. A very strong recommendation from other travellers led to us changing our plans and staying in San Ignacio Adventure hostel instead. They weren't impressed by Mercedes (nor were we later). They suggested we talk to the manager, Frederico (great English), about organising alternative transport into the Esteros del Ibera wetlands- and he did. Rather than taking a 13-hour round trip by bus to Colonia Pelligrini, he organised a driver, a 4WD and other travellers to split the costs with us. Thanks again for the absolute highlight of our Argentinean trip Frederico! Like many others, we ended up staying longer than planned and loved it (the pool, hammocks, nice people, Frederico and the baby armadillo). Well worth visiting to chill out for a few days, and of course to visit the Jesuit ruins.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaitK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stopped here on the way down from Iguazu as we wanted to break up the journey to BA. The Jesuit ruins are the main draw here but the hostel itself is worth the visit for a few days r&r.

The ruins are beautiful (50 pesos for foreigners, not the 25 pesos noted in the guidebook) but it's a pretty nondescript town after that. In a way the lack of things to see add to the attraction of the hostel as you can switch off completely.

The hostel is located 2 blocks south of the church beside a small park. The bus terminal however is on the highway about a KM away which is a long way on a hot day with a backpack. Taxi's are available though. We arrived at 3pm on a Saturday and the hostel was an oasis of life in a ghost town.

The lady at the desk had perfect English and I think I heard her speak some German later on. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. Rooms are simple and clean, bathrooms small and a little dated but clean (shower very tight, would not want to be carrying much excess weight). A/c works perfect. But it's outside the room that this place comes in to it's own.

Huge kitchen, loads of space for eating, BBQ pit sunk into floor of common area and BBQ facilities outside, Internet access, wi-fi (little slow at times), large area with couches and tv and books to read, table tennis, pool table, fussball table, swings and slide, hammocks to wile away the day in the shade and big swimming pool to cool down in (shower facilities available outside for those using pool) As you can imagine from the above the hostel is ideal for families with young kids and you might think noise can be an issue but not while I was there. The property has the whole block to itself and is fenced well all around and this space seems to suffer any noise easily. Camping also allowed on site.

Breakfast was simple with the star offering being the homemade cake (some orange juice would be nice though). There is a supermarket on the western side of church block, 3 min walk, with any provisions you may need. Hostel has a fridge full of beer, soft drinks and ice cream for emergencies. They also provide food and entertainment for a fee on certain nights. The town itself has a few restaurants near the ruins (15 min walk) but nothing special.

All in all a fantastic hostel and wish I could have lounged in the hammock for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolaAnMadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Nice hostel with friendly rooms.
The location is super quiet, to relax by the pool. Among the Jesuit reductions, it is a walk of about 15 min, it is similar far to the bus station. Taxis are a problem, but the owner drives you when necessary.
Unfortunately, the bed was too small (about 140x180 cm) and also had a dirty blanket. The coatings as well the towels were clean.
The staff is friendly and helpful and speaks English.
If you are looking for relaxation, we can really recommend this hostel for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank datsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had a double room with private bathroom: clean, silent and relaxing atmosphere. This was the best hostel in a three weeks trip in Argentina. Lot of green, nice swimming pool, the common spaces are wide and well furnished, and last but not the least those amacas below the palm trees are pure gold. Tennis table and Breakfast is rich compared to most argentinian hostels and there`s home made cake too. The kitchen is big and there's room for many at the same time. Finally the people at desk are very nice and easy going, you really feel on vacation.
One drawback is they don't accept credit card.
Highly recommended, we regret we couldn't spend more time there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dario p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Toscana
Hotel La Toscana
#1 of 2 in San Ignacio
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Del Sur Hotel-Museo
Del Sur Hotel-Museo
#11 of 13 in Encarnacion
29 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Urbano Posadas
Hotel Urbano Posadas
#1 of 13 in Posadas
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madre America
Madre America
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
12 reviews
2.5 mi away
Club de Rio
Club de Rio
#2 of 14 in San Ignacio
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje El Descanso
Hospedaje El Descanso
#2 of 3 in San Ignacio
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SiHostel - Adventure San Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SiHostel - Adventure San Ignacio

Address: Calle Independencia 469, San Ignacio N3322AUI, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range: £8 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SiHostel - Adventure San Ignacio 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel located a few blocks from the Jesuit Missions of San Ignacio , in the heart of the city. We offer dormitories and private rooms , both for family groups , couples , individual travelers and groups. All rooms have private bathrooms, air conditioning and heating. Our services include buffet breakfast , internet, wiffi , common guest kitchen , luggage storage, parking , book tours and bus tickets . We have large garden, where you can relax and enjoy the tranquility and nature. Also the swimming pool and barbecue area. We have entertainment room with pool table and ping pong.- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your SiHostel - Adventure San Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing