We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Ruinas de San Ignacio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$106.67*
and up
San Ignacio Ruins Plus Wanda Mines Full Day from Puerto Iguazú
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The mission at San Ignacio are well worth a visit. We had a local friend who took us around and explained about the history of the guaranis and the Jesuits. The site is very impressive and the official guides speak several languages so if you are not a Spanish speaker you will still be able to understand the commentary. We spent about two hours there but took our time and hundreds of photos!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MadelineW1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    301
    60
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Impressive Ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Jesuit history is not our strongpoint and it was very interesting to see these impressive ruins and learn about their history. The site is well laid out with an indoor museum and grassy walks around the ruins. We hired an english speaking guide and thouroughly enjoyed our hour there. Well worth stopping if you are nearby or on the road.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The most preserved of many jesuit missions in the area. A nice trip if you are on your way to Cataratas.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank KarelJanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
207 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent place to know colonial history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Worth to visit. Interesting to know how the guaranis and jesuits lived some centuries ago.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank assaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruinas de San Ignacio also viewed

Posadas, Province of Misiones
 
Province of Misiones, Litoral
San Ignacio, Province of Misiones
 

Been to Ruinas de San Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing