We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My daughter stayed here for a long weekend and was not impressed with the service at all. The first morning we went down to the Zuni restaurant for breakfast. The sign out front just said the time the breakfast buffet was served, no price mentioned. When we went in there was no offer of a menu or mention of the cost so I wasn't sure if it was included in our rate or not until we got our bill and it was $15 a person. Each time we asked for directions somewhere the front desk attendants didn't know. The one morning I aske the girl what hundred block the intersecting road was she had no clue what I was talking about and said she didn't live in Mesa and didn't know where the restaurant that I was inquiring about was. Not very helpful when you are visiting out of state. As far as the shuttle service, what a joke 3m radius. There isn't anywhere within 3m you would want to go in that area. The last night we were there we were looking at the sign to see when the restaurant opened for dinner. Amanda a Housekeeper came over and said she wasn't sure if they would be opening since their #' had been down. She asked at the front desk and of course he dind't know!!! So she suggested asking at the bar, and they told us they would be open. We headed out to the pool and Amanda came out later to clean up around the pool and asked us what we found out. I told her about our experience with the front desk and she apologized(not her fault!!!) She gave us some great ideas of things to do that evening so we went to Tempe Marketplace and had a great time and an awesome meal at the restaurant she suggested. Thank you Amanda!!!!! Finally someone who works in the hospitality but not directly was more than helpful and went out of her way. She deserves a promotion!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiO385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear HeidiO385 :
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your recent stay on trip advisor. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was less that pleasant and our staff did not seem to be of service in the least. I can assure you this is definitly not the norm of our service here at the Hilton Mesa and I will address these concerns with the staff immidiately. Thank you again for the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve.
I do hope you will come back and give us another chance to show you the great service we do provide.
Thank you and have a good day.
Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    290
    157
    103
    52
See reviews for
243
141
58
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very impressed with the hotel and the staff...we were late for dinner because we had travelled from the Grand Canyon and were on our way home. The restaurant was supposed to be open til 8 but it closed early...the management staff went out of their way to give us dinner at the "Bar" area even though we had a 15 year old. The servers were so hospitable and our early checkout was so easy very early in the morning. Would definitely go there again.
Pool and hot tub were also excellent

Room Tip: Good rooms are facing the back of the hotel, away from the Interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Leanne H:
Thank you for giving us your feedback on trip advisor for your stay. We always appreciate the comments we get back from our guests. I will be passing your feedback along to our staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Take care,
Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The design of this hotel is quite interesting with a large central atrium and all rooms arranged around it facing outwards. The room was good however I felt it was starting to show signs of wear, nothing dramatic just the odd worn curtain etc.

I would reccomend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

Room Tip: As always higher is better and the sunrise view is quite pleasant (east facing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo82UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Paulo82UK:
Thank you for providing your comments on Trip Advisor for your most recent stay with us. We always appreciate any feedback from our guests. I do hope you come back and see us again as we are in the process of undergoing a guest room renovation! If you are ever back in the area please do not hesitate to contact us and inquire about these newly upgraded rooms. Thank you again and have a great day.
Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Show Low, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Staff was friendly and our room was pretty nice. We are not frequent travelers but have stayed in several hotels over the years and this room was the best we've seen in a while. It was decorated nicely and had 3 beds when you include the pull out couch bed which came in handy with 3 children. My wife and children enjoyed the pool while I worked during the day. It was a great time & we have no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Eric L:
Thank you for providing us your comments on Trip Advisor for your recent stay. I am so pleased to hear that your stay went well. I do hope you come back and see us again soon as we are in the process of renovating our guest rooms! I will definitly pass your comments along to our staff. Thank you again for the feedback and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We came back to the Hilton this year after being away for a few years, when I called to make my reservation Marge booked our rooms and I told her we used to stay at the Hilton for 15+ years, then we strayed off to try a few other hotels in the area. Once Marge new we were long time customers of Hilton she took very good care of us. Rachael (Ray) at the front desk was also very helpful and the bellman Tyler Fox was GREAT! The staff at the Hilton was very friendly and always willing to help with directions, places to eat, ect. Corwin in the executive lounge for breakfast was also a wonderful employee, catering to all your needs. One draw back is that during our stay there were families with young baseball teams staying there and the people took over the pool which is not fair to the other guests, they need to think of a way to accomadate all the guests, maybe a second pool since they do have land to extend. Also they need additional & new pool furniture.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98LisaW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear: 98LisaW98

Thank you for providing us with your comments on Trip Advisor for your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Tyler, Marge, Ray and Corin as they will be happy to hear everything went well for you. I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future and please dont hesitate to contact marge for future reservations.
Thank you again and have a great day!
Sincerley,
Alex Slingerland Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently and really enjoyed the stay because of the great service provided by the staff. It started at the front desk with Brianne who made a great impression upon check-in. Gloria who works the happy hour on the executive floor provided great service and makes you feel like family. Patti provided good service during breakfast in their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelLong1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear MichaelLong1963:
Thank you for giving us your feedback on Trip Advisor! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure and pass along your comments to Brianne, Patti and Gloria as well. We hope to see you again soon.
Take Care,
Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel looks nice from the outside. But once inside you will find a hotel in need of a complete overhaul. Large and very dark atrium with a lobby bar. Small pool area despite lots of open space surrounding the hotel. Oversized rooms and ok beds but TV was too small. They seemed to be understaffed in housekeeping. Rooms were not cleaned before late in the afternoon, typically between 5 and 6 pm.

Neighborhood is quite depressing. Hotel is surrounded by huge parking space and vacant commercial real estate. But there is a large, and still open, shopping mall nearby called the Fiesta Mall.

Hilton should really make their mind up about this facility; sell it, close it or renovate. As it is now it is quite depressing

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank eralaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear: eralaj
Thank you for providing us your comments on Trip Advisor for your stay with us. Back in October of 2012 we started a room renovation which will pick back up starting in May of this year. In this renovation we are updating all carpet, bathroom will not have contemporary glass tile in the shower, new tile entry and tile in bathroom. Rooms will also recieve all new updated fixtures and fresh paint through out. I do hope you come back and see us again to experience one of our newly renovated guest rooms.
Thank you again for your feedback and take care.
Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesa hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
11.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa

Property: Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
Address: 1011 W Holmes Ave, Mesa, AZ 85210-4923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mesa
#7 Family Hotel in Mesa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phoenix East / Mesa Hotel Mesa
Hilton Mesa
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing