We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard fast casual”
Review of Rubio's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rubio's
Ranked #528 of 936 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The first restaurant was opened in 1983 in San Diego by Ralph Rubio and his father, Ray, who started the fish taco phenomenon that spread across the nation. Today, Rubio’s menu has grown from The Original Fish Taco® to include additional chef-crafted seafood recipes that feature shrimp, wild salmon and ono. In addition to sustainable seafood, Rubio’s offers chargrilled chicken and steak, fresh made guacamole and salsas and sauces that are prepared daily.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Standard fast casual”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Mesa Riverview location provides adequate service and consistent, medium quality food at a modest price. While certainly a step up from Mexican fast food, I would not go out of my way for this or any other Rubio's. Best I can say about it is, if you like fast casual, you like Mexican food, and you're in this part of Mesa, they do that pretty well. Nothing fancy, but also not bad for the price & time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bland Fast Food Version of Mexican Food”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I went here with my husband during our vacation, we love spicy food but this was a disappointment. We had burritos but they were really bland and flavourless, adding some salsa from the salsa bar helped a bit but it was pretty disappointing, I wouldn't eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaclynnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very fresh, love this place!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We are new to Arizona. Was hesitant to try the fish taco. Rubio's are very fresh and very good. Big fan!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZsunrise63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Excellent for a quick meal on a Sunday night when many places are closed. You can sit down or take out. Quick service, reasonable prices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AikiJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fast and Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

I stopped in here for lunch on a Saturday based on the "near me now" map and the one good review. It's one of those not-fast-food but not-a-sit-down restaurant places. You order at the counter and they give you a buzzer (!). The place is very pleasant, nice decor, and has outdoor seating. The helpful shift manager recommended a mix of fish and meat tacos, I chose blackened tilapia and carnitas on corn tortillas with black beans and chips. Excellent! Fresh! There is a variety of fresh salsas available as well. With a soda, well worth the $10. I paid a little extra for the blackening and carnitas. I highly recommend Rubio's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j9murph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing