We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice German Restaurant, sehr schoenes Restaurant, guter Service”

Zur Kate German Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 941 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sarasota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Very nice German Restaurant, sehr schoenes Restaurant, guter Service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very nice German Restaurant with nice staff and very good Service. We had good Food, good beer and good Service. Well Warsteiner is not such a good tasting beer, it would be better, if they would serve Veltins. I am from Germany and I don´t know anybody in Germany, who really likes Warsteiner any more. But the Food was very good. Be back next time, for sure. Hopefully they have anothe beer next time, but no Warsteiner any more, please

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Route66Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    29
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, Basic German Cuisine”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Good, authentic German food at a great price.
Excellent décor. You feel like you're in a Inn in Germany.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOPCAT711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good German Cusine”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This restaurant serves a nice variety of wonderful german dishes with servers dressed in authentic german garb. The atmosphere is true to the experience. Everyone in our party enjoyed the great service and food. I would have liked to see more choices of draft beer, but the one I had was good. The prices are very reasonable and the daily special is a real value. Definately a place to visit on a regular basis.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandAinIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC GERMAN”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is only open in the evenings and has a daily special. On Wednesday I had the German meatball. I'd like to try going on a Thursday when live music is played. Very reasonably priced. The apple strudel looked delicious. The black forest cake I had was just o.k. lots of German beers and good service. There was a used (?) napkin tucked in with the condiments. I asked the young bus girl to remove it, but apparently she didn't hear me. Otherwise clean.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomorrowsantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bland German food served in a lively little place.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We enjoy going here for the occasional German live music and some of the daily specials. The service is a little slow but is very friendly. The atmosphere is traditional German. Some of the tables are family style, which is common in Germany and Austria. They have mostly private booths and tables, though. The biggest problem is that, though authentic, the food lacks a lot of flavor. What flavor it has is not bad (although I can't recommend the sausages). The weinerschnitzel varieties are generally good as are some of the specials. The desserts are ho-hum. It is still our go-to local German restaurant...until we find a better one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamSeeker94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zur Kate German Restaurant also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Zur Kate German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing