We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”

Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante
Ranked #15 of 941 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lindsay & McKellips
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This has become our go-to when it comes to Italian food. Thin crust pizza, wonderful pasta entrees and salads and super specialties. You cannot go wrong. Add to that super service and wonderful surroundings and this is hands down the choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eisenteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    46
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My go to restaurant when in Mesa AZ”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This has always been my favorite Italian restaurant. I always take time to eat here when in Arizona. The atmosphere is very family friendly and the staff is great. Javier in the kitchen does an AMAZING job preparing the food. I suggest the pizza, my go to pizza is a double crust, white sauce with ham. They also have the best lasagna out of any restaurant I have ever been to. I have been dining here ever since they opened their doors and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank ASCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza; overpriced pasta”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We live in the neighborhood near Vito's, and have eaten here less than 10 times over the last 22 years. Other than the pizza, the pasta dishes have been mediocre. Italian food is one of my favorites, but I don't find that Vito's has the quality or value I'd expect from a good Italian place.
We recently went back with a Groupon and ordered a pizza which was delicious. The service was fine, a bit robotic but that isn't uncommon. I was astounded by the high prices of the pasta dinners - way too pricey and a side salad was $3 extra. We haven't been to Vito's for well over 2 years because on our last visit the quality and flavor of my pasta dish was substandard. Probably won't be back for a long time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzDEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“italian all the way!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nothing to dislike here, Vito has owned and worked this restaurant for over 30 years and it is true Italian. The also have a banquet room for those large parties.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chicago pizza in Arizona!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The family who started this restaurant re-located from Chicagoland, and they brought south-side Chicago pizza with them! Great Eggplant Parmasian.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angiepenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing