We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opening Jitters are Gone, Great Lunch Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge

Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge
Ranked #46 of 914 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Opening Jitters are Gone, Great Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge has clearly gotten past the opening jitters and have stepped up their game.

I stopped in for lunch today and was quickly greeted by Elena. She offered booth or table, then asked about drinks. Good start!

After my iced tea arrived, I ordered the Red Mountain Burger, which came with some nicely seasoned fries. The burger was a bit over cooked but still very juicy, served on a pretzel bun. I scarfed it all down.

Elena checked in on me just the right amount to assure all was well, without being pushy. Executive Chef Garfio also checked with the tables, which was a great touch.

Definitely return visits coming up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokinboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good ... and still quite new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

At this posting, Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge had only been open for three weeks. It appeared that the staff was been able to work-out most of the "new restaurant" bumps-in-the-road.

My party of four arrived at 10 AM on a Sunday morning. The first wave of the "after-church" crowd were arriving and, about 60-70% of the tables were full. The hostess indicated that we would be seated within 5-10 minutes, however, we were taken to our table within 2-3 minutes. Our server greeted us within 3-4 minutes and took our beverage orders. Coffee and water were very quickly served. The coffee was flavorful, hot and much better than what we have been served in many other restaurants. Our initial cup of coffee was poured and a carafe of coffee was placed on the table. If there were any specials, we were not notified of them.

The menu contained a wide variety of innovative breakfast and lunch entrees. Many of the dishes have a southwestern flavor with distinctive ingredients, e.g. napalitos (prickly pear cactus pads). The prices are competitive. A diner who drinks only one cup of coffee might find the $2.25 charge excessive. Our server did tell us that the restaurant also offers a create-your-own omelet option, which was not on the menu.

Our server was attentive, friendly, willing to accommodate a special order (substituting a portobello mushroom for the meat in an egg entree), and kept our coffee and water containers full. The quality of service we received from her was superior for this type of restaurant and indicative of her having been a server for over ten years.

Our entree order consisted of the PCH Benedict (shared), the Chorizo Benedict (with the portobello substituted for the chorizo), and a burger. Our server asked the needed questions to ensure that food arrived as desired, e.g. how would you like the eggs in the Benedict cooked? Our entrees arrived within 10-12 minutes, which was an acceptable time period for us. The shared dish was split in the kitchen, which was appreciated and is becoming very unusual for restaurants in this price range. The restaurant does not charge for splitting an order.

Our egg and burger dishes were prepared as ordered and served hot. The whites of the poached eggs were fully cooked. The Hollandaise sauce was smooth and creamy with a light yellow and opaque color. The seasoned fries were firm, hot, flavorful without being overly spicy. The peppered red potatoes were firm (perhaps, slightly undercooked) and had distinctive, but pleasurable flavor.

Our server checked-back with us several minutes after we were served. The discount coupon we presented was honored without any problems and our server pointed-out to us the credit on the bill.

While the restaurant has a few vegetarian breakfast and lunch entrees, they appear to be willing to accommodate modifications including substituting a portobello mushroom for the meat in egg and burger dishes.

Both the men's and women's restrooms were clean and well-stocked with supplies. While our party thought that the restaurant would benefit from additional sound-absorbing material, we were able to adequately hear each other and the background noise did not significantly impact or ability to converse. adorn The walls are adorned with two substantial murals and smaller nicknacks.

The Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge does have a Facebook page, but the menu is not posted. If restaurant has a webpage, it was not listed within the first two pages of a Google search. The latter situation needs to be resolved quickly by the restaurant owners.

I look forward eating at this restaurant again and exploring other menu offerings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arcfjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was disappointed when I couldnt order a bloody mary. They still don't have their liquor license. The food was great though. You can eat in or out on the patio.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nurse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Once we were seated it took about 10 min for someone to come to our table. Our waiter took are order and then came back 15min later and verified our order. At this point it still was not placed. After taking 30 min to get our breakfast it was ice cold and our toast was missing. Another 15 min went by before we could get anyone's attention to let them know we were missing our toast and the food was cold. The waiter asked us if we wanted our toast to go (really???). We were given a bill even though we did not touch our food. Told the waiter we felt we shouldn't have to pay for our meals since we did not even eat them. He said he did not have the authority to credit is. Asked to speak to a mgr and of course another 10min went by which at that time we were credited and gave us a $10 voucher for next time. News flash - there will be no next time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeweles1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Has great potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

When we had breakfast at this neighborhood shop it was only a week old and had not worked out the bugs yet... The up-side: the menu offerings are interesting, not just the same-old listings you'd find anywhere else. I had the "Valley of the Sunnyside" omelette, made with nopales and roasted poblano peppers, served with fresh fruit. An excellent blend of favors. I would suggest a dab of sour cream as a garnish. My husband had pancakes, eggs and sausage and was pleased with them. Things that need work: the waitresses are using a blackberry-type pad to enter orders, meant to speed processing to the kitchen but they are still unfamiliar with how to do it and it seemed to take several minutes to enter our simple order. The prices charged did not match those listed on the menu, nor did the servings exactly match the descriptions. There was some confusion regarding who was responsible to serve our table resulting in our sitting unaddressed for quite some time before being asked if we could be helped. When it did happen, the conversation between the two waitresses gave us the impression that one of them didn't like or get along with the other. The one that served us was very pleasant and accommodating.
Over all, we enjoyed our breakfast and will go back again after they've had some time to improve their operation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Griz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing