We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Lounge”

Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge
Ranked #57 of 941 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Staten Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Breakfast Lounge”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Bloody Mary with filet mignon steak n eggs special: excellent! Varied menu with special fruit n vegetable drinks without being pushy health food place. Have Mimosa, Paloma, Margarita, and Sangria, as well, which are well prepared & presented. It's a bright cheery place with friendly and attentive staff. Very reasonable prices. Best breakfast in Mesa? Might be!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank StatenIsland56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, SK, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Armed with a $10 off gift certificate purchased from restaurants.com for a dollar, my friend and I headed for Sunnyside. We were definitely not disappointed. The menu, while small in physical size, holds a world of choices in very small print, (so, if you have a problem with that, be sure to bring your reading glasses).

We both chose eggs benedict, one plain with Canadian bacon, (back bacon to a Canadian), and one Philly cheese steak. Both were excellent, with just the right amount of hollandaise sauce. You can also get fresh fruit or cottage cheese instead of the potatoes, and we were both very happy choosing them. The server was very knowledgeable and made sure we knew exactly what was on offer. If this restaurant was in Canada, I would compare it to Coras. The only off note was the bread pudding, which we shared. The flavour was vanilla, and it was just simply too sweet.

But, overall, it was an excellent brunch, and we will go again, even without the gift certificate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Act Is Still Not Together”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Crowded on sunday morning, service was slow and the meal fell apart for us. I was encouraged when the waitress asked how we wanted our poached eggs done on our Benedicts. Wife ordered medium and I asked for soft. Both came out almost hard boiled. The American fries were cold and almost like boiled potatoes, not fried at all. When we mentioned this to the waitress she said she would tell the kitchen and took my coffee cut to refill it. She never came back. The manager came over and apologized for the meal and discounted it 50%. Nice move, but I don't think we'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had the nicest server on a Monday morning for breakfast. Nice, varied menu. Different items than I find in the Chicago area. Food was fresh and hot. They kept the coffee coming and didn't rush us. Would go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EFTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Opening Jitters are Gone, Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge has clearly gotten past the opening jitters and have stepped up their game.

I stopped in for lunch today and was quickly greeted by Elena. She offered booth or table, then asked about drinks. Good start!

After my iced tea arrived, I ordered the Red Mountain Burger, which came with some nicely seasoned fries. The burger was a bit over cooked but still very juicy, served on a pretzel bun. I scarfed it all down.

Elena checked in on me just the right amount to assure all was well, without being pushy. Executive Chef Garfio also checked with the tables, which was a great touch.

Definitely return visits coming up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokinboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sunnyside Breakfast Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing