We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmmm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Nashua, NH
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hmmmmmm”
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Ok, the property is really nice. Our room was against the a/c unit for the hole building. The entire wall shook, but there were no other rooms available. Ok, I'll put up with it. Then it happened, at 12:34 the toilet upstairs leaked. You got it, all over the bed. It took the front desk another call and 30 min to respond. Long story short I was not happy. When I returned home I waited for mangment to contact me as I requested. They didn't until I contacted again. To be honest the manager did give a more than decent apology. Will I stay again, yes. The property was that nice.

  • Liked — Grounds and pool area
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nashuanh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    117
    124
    127
    161
See reviews for
236
126
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

My son and I recently stayed at the Dobson Ranch for five days in early March to catch some spring training action. On previous spring training getaways, we've stayed at the Marriot Courtyard and Residence Inn, but unfortunately decided to save a few bucks this year by staying at Dobson Ranch. All in all, it was a poor experience as the rooms are very tired and poorly maintained. The service provided by the hotel's minimal staff was also severely lacking as it took three attempts to have housekeeping provide an extra pillow and two days to change the burned out flourescent tube light over our vanity. Additionally, we had problems ordering an in room movie and had game tickets stolen from our room (luckily, we were able to cancel and have new tickets reissued...although the indifferent staff was of no help).

As for positives, the pool is nice and the free breakfast is okay (although a little variety would be nice...). In a nutshell, I would not recommend this to friends or family because of the poorly maintained, outdated rooms and the ineffective, undermanned staff. There are several better options in the Mesa area that can be had for a few dollars more.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ZZXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobsonranch, Sales Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 28 March 2008
The Dobson Ranch Inn is now under new ownership and by the end of 2008 will have undergone a $2 million dollar renovation (including the guestrooms).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mesa hotels

Saskatchewan,
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2008

My husband and I stayed for the week of Feb. 15-23. It was our first trip to the area so we were uncertain about many things. We have not had the best experience with Best Western in the past but Dobson Ranch Inn seemed to be the best value for the money in the Phoenix area. Having breakfast included was a plus and a determining factor in our choice. A larger variety of fresh fruit would have been appreciated but the variety of other items was excellent. Our room was comfortable and large and clean. No smoking, musty smell that other reviews have said - and I am fussy about that. The room was a bit dark - not much natural light but it was not a big problem for us as we were out most of the time. We loved the property - spacious and quiet. It suited our needs perfectly - the location is very central and we appreciated that as we did a lot of sightseeing. We found the staff to be helpful and accommodating. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2008

The only thing good about this hotel is the pool, grounds and restaurant. We called the hotel directly to book our room and were promised a room overlooking the pool. When we checked in the manager was already on the phone with one customer complaining about their room. We were given a room facing the parking lot. It was dark, dingy and smelled like an old smoking room. I had one lumpy pillow. The floors were dirty and the room reminded me of a motel, not a hotel. Like I said, the pool area was nice and the free breakfast was good. But everything else, forget it! We were there 2 nights and both nights we were woken up between 12 midnight and 2:30 a.m. with drunk people returning from their nighttime adventures. It sounded like they were having their own little party right outside our room. We called the front desk and it took forever for them to get someone to come down and tell the people to be quiet. Being that our room faced a parking lot, we did not feel safe going out there ourselves to tell all of the drunk people to be quiet. Oh, and we cannot forget the car alarms going off at 4:00 a.m. If you like noisy nights and dirty rooms, this is the place for you. If not, I'd suggest you stay at one of the many other hotels in the area.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelGurlie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobsonranch, Sales Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 18 March 2008
The Dobson Ranch Inn is now under new ownership and by the end of 2008 will have undergone a $2 million dollar renovation (including the guestrooms).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Our weekend stay at the BWDR was fine.
The room was a bit musty and tired but comfortable and all we needed. I'm sure we would have better things to say about the room if it looked out onto the lovely courtyard or the pool, but our view was of the parking lot and that was OK for our purposes. The front desk called shortly after we got there to ask if everything was OK (a nice touch), we told them one of the bedside lamps didn't work and someone was there within a few minutes to fix it.
On check-in they give you two Free Drink chits which was nice and much needed after the flight. Lots of hotels give you a "free breakfast" which usually includes cereal and fruit, maybe yogurt. BWDR's free breakfast was much better, with eggs, bacon, fruit, bagels/toast, etc. A large step-up from the usual.
My only complaint would be the cost. But that's Phoenix. And when you consider what you would pay in a restaurant for a comparable breakfast, its not so bad.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We stayed here duing the first week in Feb. and it wasnt tooooo bad for the money.
The pool is nice.. but you will be told to leave at 10pm.
The room is very big, great bed, fridge, but it does have that old musty smell.
The shower and toilet are in a separate room, which is great. And although the water pressure is excellent, the shower head is very low. I had to do squats to have the water fall on the top of my head. < Im 5'7".>
Ive had alot better breakfast. Fresh fruit < apples and oranges> no yogurt. The warming dishes that contained the scrambled eggs, bacon, home fries, and quiche.. were very awkward to open and close. I had to stand on my toes, while behind the table a couple of the staff just stood there watching me struggle. But, they never assisted anyone. Not really sure why they were there...lol.
There is one very, very slow computer in the lobby.
The location is great.
There are soooo many great hotels for similar price, we wont stay here again.

  • Liked — The location, and the pool
  • Disliked — Leaving the pool at 10pm. The breakfast.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hi5noon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2008

The rooms had that old motel smell. The desk staff complained among each other about other guests as if you were not there. The second night of our stay, the room key didn't work; we went to the office and found they wanted to see our credit card "again" because evidently they didn't swipe it when we gave it to them the first night? Subsequently, we were able to regain entry to our room and belongings. The site and layout of the property is nice but the rooms and staff should be refreshed. If not, nightly rates should be lowered..

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesa hotels
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa - West
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Property: Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Address: 1666 S Dobson Rd, Mesa, AZ 85202-5610 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing