We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy dirty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
A TripAdvisor Member
“Filthy dirty!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Booked 4 nights, but left after 1! Disgusting! Stinky Room was dark and dingy with mismatched dented broken down furniture. Nightstand was sticky with rings from glasses of who knows what. Carpets were dirty and had not been vacuumed. Medication and food on carpet. Lampshades were dusty and yellow with age. No one has cleaned mop boards and along the base of walls in years. Bathroom area had all kinds of hair on counter, in the dirty sink, on the toilet, on the floor and everywhere in the tub, which needed a good scouring. Faucets were not clean and still had toothpaste and whatever from previous guests. When we used the tap, found the sink drain was clogged and would not drain. The stool tank lid didn't fit and was at least as old as this aged structure. Bathroom floor was very dirty! Bathroom walls had human waste on them.
Beds had cheesecloth sheets with no mattress pad; sheets did not stay tucked so we woke on a bare, broken down, yellowed mattress. Ughh! What a long night!

We checked four vending machines and could not get one bottle of water. In the morning we hoped to find bottled water on the breakfast bar (which we did not eat from!), and there was none.

When we complained to manager and head of house keeping, their main concern was who had been responsible for cleaning the room the day before. The problem is who has EVER been responsible for cleaning the last year or more! This kind of filth does not happen overnight.

Could not leave this place quick enough. Left without reservations elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkaplan, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the unclean room and agree there is no excuse for it. If you had alerted us immediately, rather than the next day, we would have been happy to move you into a room which would have more than satisfied your stay.
We will be happy to reimburse your stay for the inconvenience caused.

Karl Le Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    113
    119
    119
    151
See reviews for
220
126
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This use to be a nice resort. Very run down now. The sheets were paper thin and would not stay on the bed. Room is dark like a cave---a creepy cave. The restaurant had broken windows and ripped booth seats. Just creepy all over. Only one person working the counter and any time you asked for anything you were told he was too busy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1937olds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkaplan, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. The new owners and management recognizes the reality of this 35 years old resort and are making strides to refresh and uplift her to her former glory - just like 1937 Olds.

Karl Le Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and it was decent for the money so tried it again. The place has gone extremely downhill. The rooms are dirty, we had only boiling hot water and couldn't get any staff to help. The pool never had towels, the first day we had to ask and in 15 minutes they brought them, the following day after awful rain we got to pool at 9:30am, no twirls soaking chairs, went to ask sand were told they would be right out. 20 minutes later after walking to starbucks to get food (breakfast is terrible and not a piece of fruit because "the produce man didn't come this week") and came back to no towels. Asked again and apparently no one could get any. Still 1 1/2 hours later no towels and had to find the one maid cart in the place to get towels. When we asked the young man working g at the front desk to speak with a manager, apparently management staff doesn't work weekends?! And we sat for over another 15 minutes while he tried to get one on the phone with No success. I will never return as there are plenty of better hotels in the valley.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmiller586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkaplan, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It seems we had Pool towel issue day or two. Due to the fullness of the resort, guests using several towels at once, guests taking towels to rooms, and rain that soaked the towels therefore we could not keep up with the demand.
We also had a major pipe burst which caused the hot water or lack of cold water. I apologize for the inconvenience these events caused you and your family. As for the complimentary hot buffet breakfast, it is always up to the guest to indulge or go out for breakfast if we do not offer what they want.

Karl Le Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Employees are marvelous and extremely helpful. Accomodations were sub par. Mold in showers, Poor vacuuming and free breakfast had us going elsewhere. Web site offered free airport shuttle, which was non-existent

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have stayed here before in Dec 2004 and we fully enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast
and our clean and comfortable room. Our last stay in December 2013 was a little disappointing.
The restaurant breakfast was now a buffet style. Our room was a little tired looking and smelled
like stale cigarette smoke. The plumbing has not changed we had excellent water pressure and
the showers were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partsgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wkaplan599, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Partsgerald,
Thank you for your review. I hope your next visit won't take ten years. This year marks our 35 anniversary and the property has a marvelous history. Part of that history was a cooked to order breakfast and the famous Dale Anderson's "The Other Place" Restaurant. Today the Cactus Clubhouse has just re-opened for dinner with a whole new kitchen staff and executive chef. I don't know if we will be able to return to the time of made-to-order breakfast, but we may someday have an option of free buffet or paid for sit down breakfast with separate cooked to order menu.
I apologize about the stale cigarette smell, please inform the Front Desk next time so that we can move you to a better room. We are No Smoking facility yet sometimes our nicotine addicted guests don't like to obey the rules. We try our very best to curb their habit from ruining the experience for the next guest.

Karl Le Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed there for two nights. Our room was nicely appointed, and very clean. The breakfast buffet saved us a few dollars too! The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The primary tip I would give to others is to request a room as far away from the freeway as you can get - and if you happen to be on the freeway side, as we were, turn the heating/cooling fan on high. It was just enough noise to mask the freeway traffic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aznance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wkaplan599, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Aznance,
Thank you for your review. I am glad we surprised you and that our team was helpful and friendly. Please come again and ask for an interior room facing the pool or courtyard or facing the fountains.

Karl Le Claire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I had to book a trip to Phoenix at very short notice. Got a great deal on flight, car and room combination. The car and flight worked out very well. The room on the other hand was a disappointment. The property was very nice looking. The staff was friendly and mostly helpful.
The room was not much. It was large and roomy. It was how ever well used. The carpet and bath tub were stained. The bath and bed linens were cleaned, but well used. The in room iron and air conditioner didn't work. Worst of all there was no COLD water. The iron was quickly replaced. I was told the air conditioning system had been turned off for the winter. The room was south facing and therefore very heated by all day sun shining on it. The air was turned back on the second afternoon I was there.
After telling two different people at the front desk and the maintenance man about the water, it was never addressed.
The hotel's web site says the room I was in rents for $89 a night. Definitely way over priced.

Room Tip: Stay away from south facing rooms. They get very warm from constant sun. I was there in December and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebPat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wkaplan599, General Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear DebPat2011,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you got a good deal on your trip. Bundling can save you lots of money. The days you were here, we did experience some hot water issues and I apologize for the inconvenience. I had spoken to maintenance about responding quickly to guest's needs. If you have any other issues, ideas and concern, please contact me. We would be most happy to take action immediately.

Karl LeClaire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesa hotels
3.1 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Near Phoenix
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Property: Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Address: 1666 S Dobson Rd, Mesa, AZ 85202-5610 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing