We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've got bitten by bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phoenix - Mesa/Chandler
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 1 night in mid Oct 2010 and in the morning I noticed I've got bites on both legs. I showed those to the front desk , and the receptionist said only " I will have the room service spray the room". When I tried later complaining, the manager Adam Stanchina doubted my claim. He admitted though he did not even talked to the receptionist on service in the day I left. His only proof according to him, was some exterminator company he claims he asked to check the room. According to my research, those bugs are very small and can not be seen with naked eye, they can escape even to an exterminator, unless the infestation is in high degree.
So, dear Traveler before you decide to book your stay at this hotel, please be aware of the above.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank nickyb96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

Absolutely miserable heat throughout the Hotel, and our only relief was in our room...after we turned the A/C on and sat there sweating for 20 minutes before it cooled off. Hallways were miserably warm. Also tried to have someone serve us at lunchtime, but we ended up walking down to the sandwich shop to eat because no one ever came to meet us, even though we sat at the bar, AND asked the front desk to get us a waiter...they never came out of the kitchen. The FRONT Desk staff was excellent, but restaurant service was nonexistant...perhaps they were all sitting in front of an air conditioner to keep cool?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodloverTemecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Where do I begin with my complaints about this place! I was so disappointed that I actually made a list that I continued to add to during my stay. It was dark, poorly maintained, had dirty, stained carpets, the lamps were missing bulbs, the coffee amenities were half used and is right on top of the 60 freeway exit ramp creating tons of noise. When I arrived to the first room the shower drain was leaking. When I tried to adjust it so that it would stop I discovered it didn't work at all. When they moved me because maintence was already gone for the day I discovered too late that the next shower didn't drain. When I called after my ankle deep morning shower they came while I was gone for the day to fix it. The maintence staff obviously came after the cleaning staff because I came back to find hair and other leftovers in the tub. I only received new shampoo/soap/wash clothes one of the five nights I was there. I'm not a coffee drinker, but I do drink tea which they did not provide. The beds didn't have comforters, just dingy old blankets, although I must say they were quite comfortable when you could get past the incessant noise outside the windows from the freeway.
There were two good things about this place. The rooms were HUGE! Separate living room, bathroom, kitchen type area and bedrooms with separate doors. If you can get past the cons, the room would be great for a family because the parents could close the bedroom door and let the kids sleep on the couch bed in the living room. The second good thing was the comfy bed, if you can get past the dingy sheets/blankets.
All in all I would definitely NOT return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jflsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The staff was nice and friendly. I loved the pool. The first night I didn't get much sleep because our air conditioner was not working. Our room was dusty and had cob webs everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millie6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I found the hotel in pretty good shape. Carpets in the rooms were dated. The big issue for all of us (we had multiple rooms for extended family) was the bed bugs. We all had little bites on our bodies and itching after each night's stay. You need to change your mattresses!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Julie was great,she talked to me and made me feel at home

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justme32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

No issues, great price, would stay again rooms are spacious, ample parking

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesa hotels
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
2.5 mi away
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mesa
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phoenix - Mesa/Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phoenix - Mesa/Chandler

Address: 1600 S Country Club Dr, Mesa, AZ 85210-6002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range: £75 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Phoenix - Mesa/Chandler 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's best kept secret, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites-Mesa, Arizona. Ideally situated off US Highway 60, your stay with us will put you directly in the backyard of both Phoenix and Scottsdale. In addition, you'll find yourself simply a stone's throw away from Tempe, Gilbert and Chandler, via either Interstate 10, State Highway 101 or 202.Our neighbors include Boeing, General Dynamics, Caterpillar, Intel, Siemens, Motorola, Empire Southwest, P&H Minepro, Esurance and General Motors, making us the business traveler's hotel of choice! Take advantage of area attractions, such as: Hohokam Stadium (home to the Chicago Cubs Training Camp), Arizona Museum of Natural History and the Mormon Temple.Here for a leisurely vacation? Las Sendas, The Legacy and Ocotillo are just a few of Mesa's premiere golf courses. Shop til you drop, at Fiesta Mall or Mesa Riverwalk. Take in dinner or a show at Rockin R Ranch, Broadway Palms Dinner Theater or downtown Mesa's very own Mesa Arts Center.No matter how you choose to spend your day, you can 'rest assured' the newly renovated Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is the place you'll want to return to, each evening. Take a dip in Mesa's largest outdoor pool with waterfall. Enjoy American and Asian/Mexican Fusion cuisine, in Redstone Grill or dive into one of our espresso-colored Thomasville Furniture chairs and indulge in a cocktail of your choice. Make it Mesa-make it Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Phoenix - Mesa/Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phoenix - Mesa/Chandler Hotel Mesa
Holiday Inn Mesa
Mesa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Phoenix - Mesa/Chandler Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing