We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our second one week stay at the Clarion Mesa. I would highly recommend this motel. It has been completely renovated to the highest standards. Everything works! The decor is very attractive and sophisticated. The beds are very comfortable, new pillow top mattresses. The shower is excellent with unlimited hot water. There is a good quality microwave and fridge in every room. Plenty of power points. Excellent Wi-Fi. Very good continental breakfast. Outdoor pool open all year Very helpful staff..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .
480-833-1231 my name is tj

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you so much
have good day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we first approached the lobby to check in we thought the place was closed, it was not they put the customers in the back of this very large motel. I would give this hotel a much better rating if it was not for the staff (female) in the morning we checked out 1/1/14. Not only did she have a an attitude, she sat in the lobby on her computer with her feet up on the table. She should of been in the breafast room assisting..which ws very busy and lacking in certain foods. She didnt even take the chairs down from countert top for the guests. When I asked her for something..she got really annoyed and rolled her eyes..what a piece of work.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEboylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I've stayed here on a few occasions before, and even though the hotel, from the outside, very much appears to have seen better days, the rooms themselves are nice and comfortable, and the staff delivers good service. For the price, it's hard to find a better deal in Mesa or anywhere else in the East Valley, even during the peak winter season.

Yup - the hotel is not impressive from the outside, and the fact that, as of this writing, the street in front of the hotel is undergoing major reconstruction that makes driving one big mess, doesn't help. But don't let that deter you. The lobby is nice, and the staff are quite pleasant and helpful.

The interior corridors are very reminiscent of days gone by, and, like the exterior, don't convey the greatest impression. But the rooms themselves are up to date, comfortable, and clean. I've included pictures of my room with this review and hope that those reading this review find them helpful.

The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were clean, and the shower delivered a good flow of hot water. Internet is free. I did not sample the breakfast and so cannot comment on it.

The hotel is just west of downtown Mesa, along Main Street, between Alma School and Country Club. This stretch of Main Street has been undergoing major reconstruction for many months, and as of right now (December, 2013) doesn't look like it will be completed anytime soon. Your best bet is to approach the hotel by driving eastbound on Main Street - from Alma School towards Country Club. The hotel will be on the right and will be easy to get into. Coming the other way might be a bit more difficult, due to the lane restrictions that are in place, which might make it harder to make the left turn into the property.

The neighborhood looks to be a bit run down, but I didn't find any cause for concern regarding my personal safety. Within a short driving distance are dining options of various types.

There was one minor issue that I do need to mention - but it did not affect my rating of the hotel or my willingness to return, unless, of course, it happens again. When I checked in, I was asked for my ID and credit card, and the front desk clerk made a photocopy of both. Having been the victim of identity theft from copies made of my personal documents by hotels (NOT this hotel) on 2 other occasions, I emphatically do not allow any copies to be made, and I particularly disklike it when copies are made without my permission. I had never experienced this before at this property on previous stays, so I expressed my concern to the person checking me in. She explained that their computer system was down, so that they needed the copies so that they could give me the room key now and complete the check-in later. I reluctantly agreed, although I still did not like it. She offered to return the copies in the morning, which she did, although, obviously, there would be no way to know what happened to them in the meantime. Having stayed here before and having had good experience with the people that run this place, I decided to let it pass and not make a big deal of it, and I'm assuming that this was just a one-time occurrance, based on the fact that their computer was down. But I mention it because it happened, and if it were to happen again on a future stay, then I would be very much concerned.

So ... overall, a good stay and excellent value. Various discounts are available at the brand website, including senior and AAA discounts, and the Choice Privileges frequent guest program, of which Clarion is a participating brand, often has great promotions that provide good rewards to even those who may not travel frequently.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarioninn mesa
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our room was clean, well equipped and spacious. The free WiFI was fast and worked great during our stay. The TV could be updated to a flat panel and we couldn't get HBO, which was listed in the guest book. Breakfast was pretty good and all was quiet while we were there. Overall, we had a decent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the outside, this hotel looks like an older establishment that has seen better days. The neighborhood is also a bit drab, which might tend to cause folks to pass this place by. That would be a mistake, as this property actually delivers surprising value and comfort for an equally surprising price.

While the lobby has been refurbished, the interior corridors of the hotel are quite dated and do show a noticeable amount of wear and tear, with a slightly funky smell. But once in the room, things are dramatically different.

My room was large, clean, and comfortably furnished with 2 large beds, a work desk, TV (not flat screen), fridge, microwave, and in-room coffee maker. The pillow top mattress on the bed was one of the most comfortable that I've ever slept on in any hotel, regardless of price. The bathroom was spotless and the shower delivered an ample stream of hot water. I was on the second floor, and there was a small, walk-out balcony that overlooked the pool. Bottom line is that the room lived up to all of the expected levels of comfort and quality for the Clarion brand.

Check-in and check-in were handled by an efficient and pleasant host.

The hotel offers a breakfast buffet, but I did not sample it so cannot comment on its variety or quality.

What surprised me most was the price - which was lower than Motel 6.

As this is written, major construction is occurring on the road in front of the hotel, and access to the hotel is limited to those travelling eastbound on Main Street.

Various discounts are available at the brand website including senior, AAA, and association discounts (if you know the discount code).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .480-833-1231

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was rudely awakened by a loud pounding on my door, and shouts of time for check out just shortly after 1100 am. When I opened the door, there were THREE hotel employees there telling me it was time for check out. When I informed them that I had extended my stay that morning at the front desk--I was then asked if I needed housekeeping--when I told them no(I was sleeping)--they curtly said I had not had any housekeeping in 3 days!!! Of course, I hadn't had any housekeeping--I sleep in and they don't have housekeeping after noon!!! I couldn't even get clean towels. My trash cans were overflowing. Otherwise, the stay was fine. Room was clean. Everything was in working condition--responded quickly to a light bulb that was out. No elevators--asked for a first floor room and was accomodated.

Room Tip: No elevator service. Poor insulation--stayed on first floor due to lack of elevator service--could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here years ago and it was bad! Now that it is a Clarion they have completely remodeled the whole place! It's wonderful now and will definitely stay again! Great pool and spa! Comfortable beds! The only bad thing I can say is the construction on the road to get to the hotel is awful!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammihayes1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarioni inn mesa
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesa hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Mesa
Ramada Mesa
#20 of 57 in Mesa
330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Near Phoenix
2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa
9.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Mesa-Superstition Springs Center
1.7 mi away
GreenTree Inn & Suites Mesa / Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201-7107 (Formerly Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range: £47 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix Hotel Mesa
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Mesa, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing