We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Racist owners” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Racist owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We ordered online through choice hotels and we were traveling to mesa for an extended stay because of work. When we checked in everything seemed ok but after that night we felt watched and spied on. When we inquired about possible staying longer than we paid for that week, the owners said no that they normally do not allow people to stay more than a day or so. His story was a lie because i had meet people who had been staying there for a month. Most of the people there were older with no kids and we had kids with us. So i thought maybe because of kids but the next morning they starting complaining to us about every little thing in our room and state he wanted us gone after our week or if we left before he would refund us money but he preferred us gone. I started talking around to people and found a staff member who told me they do not rent out to blacks or hispanics. When a minority comes into the lobby they simply tell them they are full. The only reason we were able to get a room was because we prepaid for the week online and did not meet us first. That didn't stop him from telling us to go. It was the first time i have received this bad of service from a choice hotel and we are diamond members who stay at hotels often. The Owner missed out on 10 weeks of business because of the color of our skin. if you read this becareful of this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rigo76443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    96
    54
    17
    27
See reviews for
77
108
33
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Another overnighter, but in the height of Summer (August), so not many other guests staying at the time. That would explain a room rate of $44! First impression was that the stairways & hall had worn carpet, but, the guest rooms were large and comfortable. Ours had two great beds & pillows. Plenty of hot water in the shower.

Unfortunately, the air con in our room (#215) was not coping very well. To make things worse we were facing West. So, we left it on and went out for dinner. Returning a couple of hours later, it was still really bad. The temperature in the room now hovering around 106 degrees F !!

After a call to the front desk, they sent someone up to our room and he diagnosed that it had a faulty thermostat. After he suggested we could change rooms (now around 9:45pm), we did not hesitate and were relocated to a room directly across the hall with working air con within 10 minutes.

In the morning, the included breakfast had a large variety of goodies: four cereals, variety of breads, waffles, eggs, pastries, four different fruit juices, tea & coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear guest.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Clean, well maintained, well equipped rooms and facility. Staff was efficient though not what I'd term "friendly".
Not the best area of town, but OK. Construction in street requires a bit of maneuvering to get to entrance depending on your direction of approach, but not a big issue.
Adequate and clean continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,G/M
clarion inn
mesa,az 88045
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

After traveling in Arizona for 2 weeks, our final 6 days were spent at the Clarion in Mesa. We selected the motel from recommendations on tripadvisor. We were a little unsure of the location at first as the area seemed to be run down. There was light rail construction on the street. Our room had been completely updated and was very clean. The beds were the best we found out of the four different chain motels in which we stayed during our travels. The breakfast also gave us the most choices and variety for the 6 days. Nice not to have the same old thing everyday.
The choices included hard cooked eggs, waffles, breakfast sausage sandwiches, danish, muffins, 3 juice choices. apples, bagels, toast, variety of cold cereals and variety of hot oatmeal, coffee and teas.
The staff was courteous and helpful. There is internet access and a business center if you need to print any documents. We used the washer and dryer in the guest laundry which was so handy and inexpensive.
We would stay there again. The price was very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear guest

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
409 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stay in motels in the Choice chain because they are usually good quality accommodations and a reasonably hearty self-serve breakfast. This place just barely meets the minimum standards.
The room we stayed in (147) was a bit run down. The door lock / mechanism was mechanically unsound...with a piece of black electrician's tape covering the "inner workings" on the outside of the door. The door barely closed and you could move it almost an inch in and out once latched. It needs a bit of maintenance. I had the feeling this door could be opened by even a novice. Also, our room was by one of the entrances to the parking lot...lesson learned, don't get this room in the future. You can hear all the travel in/out of the door during the evening and early hours...not much sleep in this room unless this type of noise doesn't bother you.
The breakfast in the morning was sparse. If all you want is coffee (not fresh brewed, but made from concentrate) and a bowl of cereal you are in luck. The rest of the food was replaced on about a 30-40 minute basis, just enough to last for about 15 minutes. It is obvious they don't want any to go to waste, but if you go in there expecting a meal, you need to get there right after they restock. The breakfast room is small and there clearly isn't sufficient space for the average number of patrons here.
The wait staff at the desk and in the breakfast room were very friendly and it appears they are trying to maintain a quality atmosphere, everything was very clean.
It is a good value for the cost (one night was $58 with tax), the room was comfortable with a dated TV (old 'tube type' 24" screen).
Main Street is in the middle of significant renovation (they are building a light rail system) which makes entry/exit to this facility very difficult. Parking at the motel is plentiful but getting in and out is a real pain. Hopefully they'll be done by the summer or fall, it looks like they've got quite a while to go.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room at the far end of the hallway (where the exits to the parking lots exist), you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel. Darsh (desk clerk) always seemed to be there when we came to the front desk. He went out of his way to be friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful with granite shower surround and countertop. It was clean and fresh and updated. Continental breakfast gave us lots of choices (fresh waffles, boiled eggs, assortment of cereal, yogurt, pastries, fruit). Although this hotel is in a run down area of town, we didn't feel unsafe. We didn't have a great view, but it didn't matter because we were out hiking most of the day. We did not use the pool and hot tub, so I can't discuss that. Good water pressure and nice hot water in the shower. It was nice to be able to use the computer in the lobby. Our first 2 nights in AZ were spent in an upscale hotel in Phoenix. Our second 2 nights were spent at Clarion. The beds here were so comfortable that we slept better at Clarion that in the upscale hotel. Great value. We will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTD609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
tj
frant desk
480-833-1231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our second one week stay at the Clarion Mesa. I would highly recommend this motel. It has been completely renovated to the highest standards. Everything works! The decor is very attractive and sophisticated. The beds are very comfortable, new pillow top mattresses. The shower is excellent with unlimited hot water. There is a good quality microwave and fridge in every room. Plenty of power points. Excellent Wi-Fi. Very good continental breakfast. Outdoor pool open all year Very helpful staff..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejash p, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .
480-833-1231 my name is tj

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

clarion inn mesa
thank you so much
have good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesa hotels
0.8 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201-7107 (Formerly Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix Hotel Mesa
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Mesa, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing