We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked this ranch based on reviews I saw on Trip Advisor. My friends and I were pleasantly surprised and could not have been happier with the atmosphere, location, the manager, John and his wife!
Our cabin was located near the river below the dam. We were entertained by the beautiful wildlife around us. The red rock mountains to the south were magnificent and the sunsets amazing.
If you are looking for a quiet and peaceful setting to unwind, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The cabins near the water are your best bet. They don't rent them during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pammcpat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
31
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great staff! Scenery is spectacular, especially watching the sunset on the mountain peaks. Quiet and restful. A bit rustic but that adds to the charm. By the way, the breakfast on the porch was terrific. Thanks to John and Sean A'lee for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: We preferred the stand alone cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koneill54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corpus christi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I went on a hour and half tour the guide was very knowledgeable had a great time learning a lot about the beautiful desert and damn. A very gentle ride good for experienced riders or novices. Hoping to get my hello travel nurses together and we go again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kelli-gypsy-nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Unfortunately, i made reservations and had confirmation and was called by staff twice with issues within 2 weeks stating that some other guests had reserved entire ranch and we were not welcome. I will never be able to tell you if this place is great or not because i won't be staying here now or in future. A deal is a deal and i had to find other accomodations on short notice. I have never had this happen in my travels and hope no one else has to experience this either. Just be sure you have a backuo plan.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 3 days at Thanksgiving with family here and it was a great time. The cabins are rustic, but clean. Our family had several cabins near the river and we enjoyed sitting there and relaxing while the kids were playing nearby. The landscaping is beautiful and the staff have worked very hard to accomplish this.......even having weddings there. The family style meals are delicious and they are willing to keep meals warm and serve it later if someone arrives after meal time. No alcohol is sold but you can bring your own and they will supply glasses. We enjoyed the location and being away from the big city and crowds. There are no telephones or televisions in the rooms but if you must watch TV, there is one in the main lodge. Cell service is adequate if needed......most people there left their phones in their rooms or only used them for photos. No one seemed to want to disturb the quiet of the place with loud talking on phones. Horseback riding and canoeing is available as well as hiking. This was our 3rd time there and plan on going again. A wonderful retreat for family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great two night stay on a bike trip around the area. We got our own beautiful cabin, had amazing meals (hearty breakfasts, lunches and dinners homemade) and loved both exploring the surroundings (including Native American rock carvings up a quick beautiful hike) and reading by the roaring fireplace. Our only issue is that the room got a bit cold at night, but the heater made it too hot because it didn't seem to automatically turn off.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank shkryger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our family of 34 just spent the Thanksgiving Holiday weekend here and had a great weekend. The place is rustic, but that is consistent with its purpose and why you are there. The food was excellent and the staff was the most attentive I've ever had in all of our travels. The rooms were good sized and clean. The grounds well kept. The location can't be beat. We went horseback riding and they were great with 15 of us newbie riders, including 2 octagenarians. I have no hesitation in saying I would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YooperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
20.1 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
8.6 mi away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
18.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
19.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
21.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Property: Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
Address: 13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215-9724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Tonto National Forest along the banks of the Salt River, this historic guest ranch boasts rustic 26 cabins. An outdoor pool offers views of the Goldfield Mountain Range.Featuring traditional Western décor, each cabin comes with a private bathroom. With no TVs or phones, all cottages offer a place to kick back and relax.Guests are welcomed in the main lodge complete with a stone fireplace and wagon wheel lights. Breakfast is served in the dining room featuring a real Saguaro skeleton.Guided horseback riding is available from mid-October to early May. Kayaking and river tubing are available from April to October. Hiking and bird watching are available year round.Saguaro Lake Ranch is located 15 miles from Mesa in the Tonto National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Lake Ranch Hotel Mesa
Saguaro Lake Hotel
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch Mesa, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing