We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, perfect hostel in a lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antigua Tilcara B&B
Ranked #1 of 41 Tilcara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, perfect hostel in a lovely town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The double room we stayed in was really clean and comfortable with a heater for the cold nights. There was very hot water in the shower and clean towels each day. There are a handful of staff that were so friendly, with varying English skills but a good excuse to practice Spanish language skills. A real comfortable hostel that would be great for a long stay. Amazing restaurants only a short stroll away and the start if the hike to Garganta del diablo is not far away also. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Borange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    97
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
60
216
86
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

You know you are in a great hostel when you are greeted at the door with a big hug, especially after a long car journey! My husband and I stayed in this hostel for six nights, we just couldn't leave! The rooms are clean and cosy. The breakfast provided is great to get your day started, especially as the breakfast room has views of the gorgeous mountains surrounding tilcara. The best thing about this hostel is the staff, they helped us with activities around the area and made us feel at home. A true restorative and peaceful place to explore the Jujuy region.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Antigua Tilcara is a great place to stay! I was traveling with two friends in Northern Argentina. We decided to make Tilcara our base in the north for four nights and are so glad we did. If you are looking for accommodation that is a bit better than a backpacker hostel and still affordable in price, then Antigua is the place! The view from the lounge/breakfast area is amazing. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and were provided many recommendations for things to do in the area. Thanks so much and I hope to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g6bspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We just stayed for 2 nights, but really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and good comfort in this B&B. The staff was more than cordial and helpful. The room nice and cosy equipped and everything really clean!
We would like to come back =)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ela123303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We loved everything about Antigua Tilcara! The rooms are immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. After a long day of traveling up from Salta we were tired and ready to relax but Felipe welcomed us with a warm smile and told us we had to drive up to Hornocal to see the hill of the 12 colors. He sat us down and sketched out a map and we were on our way! It is a must see if you are in the area--the windy, bumpy road was a challenge in our little rental car but the views at the top made the journey worth it. After getting back Felipe invited us to join in on a fabulous parilla he was doing with friends and anyone staying at the B&B. I, and another woman don't eat meat and Felipe went out of his way to grill up plenty of veggies. I can't comment on the meat but my husband Chris said it was the best he had during our 3 week stay in Argentina. We spent the evening drinking wine, eating, laughing, and meeting wonderful people from all over the world. This evening was definitely a highlight of our trip. The B&B is fabulous, and the town is charming and wonderful. We both loved Felipe so much we wanted to take him with us on the rest of our trip. Only wish we had stayed one more night. Come to Antigua in Tilcara--you will love it! --Erin and Chris from Seattle, US

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

A friend and I spent 1 night at Antigua in November. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a great view. Thanks again Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francescahazlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchéis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Beautiful hostel, cozy common area to hang around, nice breakfast, excellent and personal service, the staff really takes care of you and gives you great advice, not only about what to do in the region, but also about your whole trip in Argentina. Can only recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sariindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tilcara hotels
0.0 mi away
Las Marias Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
El Reposo del Diablo
El Reposo del Diablo
#4 of 15 in Tilcara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Con Los Angeles
Posada Con Los Angeles
#7 of 15 in Tilcara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posta La Falda
Posta La Falda
#8 of 15 in Tilcara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Patio Alto
Patio Alto
#3 of 15 in Tilcara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Tilcara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Tilcara B&B

Property: Antigua Tilcara B&B
Address: De la Sorpresa 484, Tilcara 4624, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Tilcara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tilcara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Antigua Tilcara B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Antigua Tilcara is a small hostal, simple, beautifully decorated, comfortable, safe, located 3 blocks from the main square of Tilcara and 2 blocks from the church. It has a café with an unbeatable view of the hills of the Quebrada de Huichaira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Antigua Tilcara B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing