We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town”
Review of Rincon de Fuego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rincon de Fuego
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Tilcara
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
“Out of town”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I feel really let down by some of the other reviews on this one. We just wanted something convenient to town as it was just an overnight stop over. On reading the reviews I was led to believe that the location was a short walk into town; just 100 meters, I think one review stated.
We were to find out that this is far from the truth. It is actually several blocks up a steep hill. Ok if you’re driving, but we arrived by bus, and needed a cab to get us there, and into town the following morning.

The common areas of the hotel are quite nice (see my photos), but the room itself was basic. Just a bed, a small table and chair, and a couch that could double as a second bed. No aircon (just an oil heater), no fan, a small window facing the courtyard, no phone, no TV. The bathroom was OK, except that the shower splashed onto the floor (the glass screen was inadequate) and the water took about three minutes to warm up. Worst of all, the water never really got hot. Oh yes, and the toilet paper was the cheap ultra-thin variety that falls apart in your hand.

I would find these downsides perfectly acceptable for a cheap hotel, but I was paying 760 pesos, which is over US$100. For this kind of money I expect more.
Somebody came in off the street in the morning inquiring about a room, and they were quoted 680 pesos. It appears that it’s cheaper to walk in off the street than it is to book from one of the booking agents. I booked the room with Bookings.com.

Finally, we found the staff here a bit stand offish, and not particularly friendly or welcoming when we first arrived or at breakfast, but that’s not really unusual in Argentina.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinconDeFuego, Gerente at Rincon de Fuego, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Google Translation
Tilcara es un pueblo de montaña, sus calles son empinadas por naturaleza. Estamos a 2 cuadras del centro. La terminal de bus esta a 3 cuadras, el mapa de Booking le muestra al viajero su ubicación, puede caminar o venir en taxi a preferencia del viajero. El hotel es una típica casa de pueblo, no ofrecemos aire acondicionado ni ventilador, las ventanas son como es propio del lugar puesto que es una casa reciclada. El agua tarda un par de minutos en calentarse por la distancia a los termotanques. Agradecemos su observacion, el papel higienico fue reemplazado acorde a su comentario. Tenemos 2 tipos de habitaciones, el viajero eligio la mas economica, su tarifa es de 680$ incluido desayuno e impuestos, es la que se observa al ingresar al hotel, por disposicion de las autoridades gubernamentales se debe declarar las tarifas y exibirlas en mostrador. La diferencia comentada es porque compro en buscador Booking con precios en dolar fijados a fin del año pasado, este mes hubo fuerte modificacion en la política cambiaria que altero el precio al convertirla a pesos según cotizacion oficial. El personal fue alertado por su queja y estamos trabajando para ser mas cordiales y amables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    18
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
18
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

it wasn't that easy to find although it was in fact just 100 meters from the town center but that hat to do more with our lack of orientation than with the hotel.
The hostess was so friendly; she did everything she could to make our stay as pleasant as possible even though she spoke only 3 words of english and we 2 words of spanish. She even prepared us a Mate (of course with sweets)
We had the choice in rooms and selected the upstairs room; a lovely, good sized room with many adobe details: beautiful! A minor remark: it takes 5 minutes to heat up the water for the shower. the hotel has a lovely small garden with great views on the mountains. Breakfast was OK with a fantastic european style pancake with (What else?...) dulce de leche.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rho28500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

There are now manymore hotels in Tilcara than the Ricon, which was branded best by Lonely Planet. It is a fine, welcoming, quiet hotel. The rooms are small and so are the bathrooms. Not much light as many rooms are at the ground floor and not oriented towards the sun.
Limited but sufficient breakfast.
Front desk is very friendly and gives good recommendations.
There are better hotels, they may fill up faster.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Great place to stay but a bit overpriced in our opinion. Pictures are better than the place really is. Staff isn't very helpful. Rooms are spacious but noisy. Breakfast... Fresh bread which is nice. Loved the fireplace and sitting area!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was a wonderful pousada! The rooms were very cosy. Very good service. Excellent cuisine. We could watch the chef preparing the meals.We could sit in the lovely garden under fruit trees (and order coffee from the chef), or in the evening in the lounge beside the open fire. Beside WLAN the pousada provided an extra computer for guests. We felt like at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinbeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Rincon del Fuego in Tilcara in late March. The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from the town center in this small town in northern Argentina. The town itself is at 7500 feet in elevation in the Andes mountains. The hotel has nice rooms with insuite baths; there is adequate internet available; the room rate includes a decent breakfast in the morning, too. The staff is not bi-lingual so you'll have to make do if you can't communicate in Spanish. We felt very comfortable at the Rincon del Fuego. I would recommend it if you come to northern Argentina. Note: we took a bus from Salta which took about 3.5 hours and the bus station was close to the hotel. Also, if you want to see Purmamarca, another town in the Andes, you can take a local bus from Tilcara. The cost is about $2 per person roundtrip and it takes 30 minutes each way.

Room Tip: No great advice as most rooms are similar. I did find the dogs and chickens in the neighborhood to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchum, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were lucky to get the last available room in this small hotel on a very busy weekend. The room was dark, but it was clean and cozy with comfortable beds and pillows. The best thing about our stay was the chef, Tomas, and the manager, Natasha. The dinners here were so fresh and tasty, that we didn't want to eat anywhere else, and Natasha was very friendly and helpful. I hope they will be replaced by equally good people, because they will be leaving the property soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtmama753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinconDeFuego, Encargado at Rincon de Fuego, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear costumer.
Our staff is in constant change. We employe chefs from Córdoba, San Juan, Buenos Aires, Jujuy, Salta... We believe in change our menu and our chefs constantly to make a unique experience un Tilcara.
Thanks you for your review.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tilcara hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Marias Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Posada Con Los Angeles
Posada Con Los Angeles
#7 of 15 in Tilcara
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Reposo del Diablo
El Reposo del Diablo
#5 of 15 in Tilcara
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Norte Rupestre
Norte Rupestre
#10 of 15 in Tilcara
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vientonorte
Hotel Vientonorte
#6 of 15 in Tilcara
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon de Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon de Fuego

Property: Rincon de Fuego
Address: Calle Juan B Ambrosetti 445, Tilcara Y4624AEI, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Tilcara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tilcara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon de Fuego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rincon de Fuego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon De Fuego Tilcara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing