We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tilcara
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Wish we had more time, we were only here overnight and didn't arrive till around 6 PM. Very helpful front desk staff, room was quite adequate but mostly was impressed with the overall look and feel of the property. Grounds are lovely, interesting architecture, lots of nice touches (candles on the stairs, interesting artwork). Only had breakfast which was typical buffet. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    81
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
155
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

When we arrived in Tilcara by car and drove through the San Martin street, we certainly did not expect a luxury hotel at the and of the dirt road. What a surprise.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are spacious with a little balcony to sit, rest and overlook Tilcara and the surrounding mountains. I would not mind to wake up with this view every morning !
Swimming pool is a real treat.
Breakfast is OK and served in the central area where you also can sit or have diner in the evening. We did not eat in the hotel as Tilcara has some great restaurants with typical food.
There's a private parking for your car.
I can only recommend this place. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristofV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Spent two nights here in lovely Tilcara. Don't trust the Google map - it doesn't know where the hotel is! Spectacularly designed and very comfortable with very helpful staff. Great breakfasts and very near super restaurants. Artesans market one of the best. Only thing I didn't like were the deckchairs on the terrace - not the most graceful things to get in and out of! Perhaps some normal chairs and table would not go amiss. Overall it was an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the lower level - unless you really like steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

What a place, I got moved seing with how much love and inspiration, with how much appreciation and respect for nature you can build a hotel. Extremely nice and helpful staff, easy and every request never has been a problem.
The only problem was that we had to realize in what a beautiful corner of the world we´ve been so that we better also would leave the hotel.
I´m a musician, traveling a lot, sometimes "living" in hotels, "Las Terrazas" went straight into my Top 5 of the world. Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeneAperdannier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Unusual designed, terraced hotel with lovely views over the mountains. Extremely helpful and friendly staff throughout the hotel. Superb breakfast with all food home baked fresh each day and plentiful quantity. Comfortable seating areas inside and out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and loved it. I spent my birthday there and they had the nice touch of leaving a small bottle of champagne in the room.

There are no lows with this excellent place. Simply home away from home.

By the way... it does not have a restaurant but don't worry, you have plenty of very good options to eat in Tilcara

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This has been the nicest hotel we have stayed in our trip... The owner (Beatriz) is there to make sure every detail is up to her specs. The staff is wonderful, Breakfast is nice and if you want something else like eggs, empanadas, capuccino, etc. Cecilia will prepare for you (at a cost). They don't have a restaurant on prem but they sell bottles of wine and one of my favs was the Brut Champagne enough for 2 glasses.
There are steps (5 steps) to get to the lobby, the dining area (10 steps) and the rooms (another 10)... the building is like a terrace... we loved the look... but you need to know about the steps since you are in the hills and the air is thin. They do have coca tea at the dining room... interesting and helps!
The pool is small but kept warm by the sun (solar)... it's on top of the deck so it has a nice "infinity" view. Rooms are large with a nice bathroom and wonderful shower that doesn't get wet all over... good water pressure and sometimes more than what you want...all rooms have a balcony but ours had a very small view (it's far) of the mountains and the house tops of the neighborhood...
Now, speaking of the neighborhood.... I wish they could take the entire hotel and place elsewhere... the area is not nice... looks very dumpy (Tilcara is... can't find the right words but imagine dust, rocks, etc) We have been to Cafayate, San Carlos, Molinos, Cachi, Purmamarca, Humauaca and they all look a little different but about the same... I wish Tilcara looked a little better) anyways... back to the area of the hotel... it was hard for us to sleep because the dogs begin their seranade at night when you are trying to get some sleep... one starts barking, then 2 more join in and pretty soon there is a whole concert!
If you close the doors, you can still hear them... if you turn on the fan... it helps but the fan sounds like an airplane engine... if this doesn't bother you then maybe the mosquitos will not bother you as well... I didn't get a good night sleep and we stayed 2 nights at the begining of November... it was warm so I can just imagine how hot it gets... you will need a/c...or maybe 2 good bottles of wine!
Anyways... I want to take the hotel home with me... it is adorable!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same... they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilcara
0.2 mi away
Las Marias Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
El Reposo del Diablo
El Reposo del Diablo
#5 of 15 in Tilcara
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Con Los Angeles
Posada Con Los Angeles
#7 of 15 in Tilcara
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vientonorte
Hotel Vientonorte
#6 of 15 in Tilcara
198 reviews
13.6 mi away
Colores de Purmamarca
Colores de Purmamarca
#1 of 10 in Purmamarca
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norte Rupestre
Norte Rupestre
#9 of 15 in Tilcara
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique

Property: Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle De La Sorpresa esquina San Martin, Tilcara 4624, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Tilcara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tilcara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique” is located in the iconic village of Tilcara, heart of the Humahuaca’s Gorge, declared Natural and Cultural Heritage by UNESCO. Our hotel was built developing the knowledge of the aboriginal culture using materials such as stones, canes, earth bricks, combining them together in order to create a cozy atmosphere making your stay a comfortable introduction to the eldest traditions of our land. As a particular detail we have personalized attention, making each guest feel the only one. We make efforts that let each guest enjoy the peace and calm of our hotel. We have nine spacious rooms. They have security boxes, dressing room, bathroom, Satellite TV, minibar, DDI-DDN, central heating and Wi-fi. Each room has a private balconie with breathtaking views of the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing