We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here - mattress & pillows are disgusting”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth Hostel Terra Oculta
Ranked #71 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Salta
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We booked this place based on the lonely planet review and we needed a hostel because we were arriving late at night from a long bus ride.
We arrived and the outside looked okay, we went in and it was very busy with lots of people around - usually a positive sign.
We were then showed to our room which felt like it was in a dungeon, no widows or ventilation. We pulled back the cover on the bed to find very worn and thin sheets that did not hide the fact that the bed was old and very stained. We then looked at the pillows and they looked like they had never been changed. The sheets seemed clean, but based on the state of the mattress and pillows we were glad we had sleeping sacks (which was used!).
In addition the washroom closest to the private double room (ours) was not very good, the toilet would not flush properly and I didn't even want to use the shower. The next closest bathroom was not much better, very old and worn - although it did seem reasonably clean.
We quickly went looking for a new hostel early the next morning (found an amazing hostel called Inti Huasi, highly recommend) and would never return here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK14Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: O mais barato fic exatamente abaixo do bar, evite-o se deseja sossego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trotamundo562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank paulinha725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solitaria60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jevierpelao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#11 of 86 in Salta
773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coloria Hostel
Coloria Hostel
#3 of 140 in Salta
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
#15 of 140 in Salta
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
1.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Ref
Apart Hotel Ref
#37 of 86 in Salta
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antigal Hotel
Antigal Hotel
#33 of 86 in Salta
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Terra Oculta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Terra Oculta

Address: Calle Cordoba 361, Salta A4402EZG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Salta
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing