We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Suites Salta
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Stylish, modern hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over the Christmas period and enjoyed our time at Design Suites Salta. The name may be a bit misleading, as initially we thought we may have an apartment with cooking facilities, but this a hotel with onsite restaurant.

The location is excellent in Salta, within walking distance of all the main city attractions, restaurants, penas, bars. The hotel itself is modern and airy. We had a corner room with floor to ceiling windows providing a great view over Salta - especially great for watching fireworks at Christmas. The room was spacious with a huge bed, design furniture and large bathroom. A safe and fridge are provided in the room.

Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel, including the rooftop pool area (although not as strong up there). A buffet breakfast is provided with a wide selection of Argentinian breakfast staples. We also ate in the restaurant on Christmas Eve (the main celebration for Argentinians) - the meal is buffet style with endless amounts of food.

If you're looking for some modern luxury at a reasonable price, this is a good option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Design S, Gerente at Design Suites Salta, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Design Suites.
It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us!.
We loose a little bit the wifi signal in the pool area. That is because the router is in the 9th floor and it doesn´t get up there that strong. Our apologies for that inconvinient.
We hope that you´ll be our guest in your next stay in Salta "la linda".
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    282
    78
    18
    10
See reviews for
103
351
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I enjoyed staying in this boutique hotel. My room was spacious and comfortable although the quality of the furniture was not very "design". The staff were friendly and the location of the hotel very central. The restaurant was a disappointment though as I had been told it was one of the better restaurants in Salta. Overall I would recommend it and would probably stay there again if in Salta.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mostafa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Design S, Gerente at Design Suites Salta, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped: Le agradezco profundamente el tiempo que invirtió en compartir su experiencia con TripAdvisor. Sus agradables comentarios, los cuales compartiré con el equipo de trabajo Hotel Design Suites Salta, nos invitan a seguir esmerándonos en lograr un servicio de alta calidad. Lamentamos que el restaurante no haya estado a la altura de sus expectativas, hubiese sido oportuno que nos detalle el motivo por el que lo decepcionó para intentar mejorar el servicio que brindamos. Esperamos tener la oportunidad de hospedarlo nuevamente en su próximo viaje a "la linda". Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Very stylish hotel with large, clean rooms in the middle of town. Breakfast is ok but not outstanding. A top location for to discover Salta. If you come by car they park it for you. They charge you an extra 95 Pesos, but it's worth avoiding the hassle to find a place to park close by.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank indigosky_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Design S, Gerente at Design Suites Salta, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:
Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo para compartir su experiencia en Salta Design Suites. Es una gran satisfacción saber que pudo disfrutar de su estadía y apreciar algunos detalles con los que queremos diferenciarnos y sorprender a nuestros huéspedes.
El desayuno consta de 3 tipos de yogures, 2 tipos de jugos, fiambre fileteado (queso y jamón), 6 platos con diferentes elementos dulces, medialunas dulces y saladas, pan del día, tortillas, pan lactal blanco y negro, queso untable, manteca, dulce de leche, 5 diferentes tipos de mermeladas, ensalada de frutas, 6 diferentes tipos de frutas, mix de cereales y bajo pedido huevo revueltos con bacon.
Esperamos hospedarlos nuevamente en su próximo viaje a "la linda", saludos cordiales desde Salta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 1 night beginning december in this hotel and we really appreiciate it. The service is very good, the room was big, despite a very small bathroom. we did not take the breakfast there but i have heard it is a good breakfast. i do recommend this 4 star hotel. his location is good too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murielz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Design S, Gerente at Design Suites Salta, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Design Suites Salta.
The bathroom is a little bigger or smaller depending on the room you have, but is 5 square meters average. Next time it would be appropriate for you to take breakfast if you have the possibility, to experience the varity and quality of it.
Your nice comments which I will share with the Design Hotel team, invite us to continue making efforts to achieve high quality service.
We hope to host you in your next trip to "la linda", best regards from Salta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in as many years. The staff is amazingly cooperative (what is not the benchmark in Argentina), the rooms superbly designed and maintained, and the location can’t be beat, right between Plaza 9 Julio and Balcarce Street, where all my favorite restaurants and peñas are.

The only caveat I could come up with is the breakfast. With just a small effort, the addition of fresh vegetables and a larger variety would make this hotel a real top choice in Salta.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonatan_Glaubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Design S, Gerente at Design Suites Salta, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Design Suites Salta.
Your nice comments which I will share with the Design Hotel team, invite us to continue making efforts to achieve high quality service.
Breakfast is composed of 3 types of yogurts, 6 plates with different sweet items, sweet and salad croissants, 2 different types of juices, ham and cheese plate, biscuits gluten, cereals, bread of the day and salad tortillas, white and black bread, cream cheese, butter and dulce de leche, 5 types of jams, fruit salad, 6 different types of fruit and under order of the guests, scrambled eggs with bacon and sausage. I will speak with the chef about your suggestions to add fresh vegetables.
We hope to host you in your next trip to "la linda", best regards from Salta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadeloupe
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly located near the cathedral and Plaza 9 julio
Our room was large, fully equiped, with wide windows and nice view to the cathedral
The staff is very helpfull and professionnal
The price is average for this category
The restaurant is very good : food and service (but the breakfast is disappointing)
We loved that place !

Room Tip: room with view to the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renselme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Design S, Gerente at Design Suites Salta, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped: Le agradezco profundamente el tiempo que invirtió en compartir su experiencia con TripAdvisor. Sus agradables comentarios, los cuales compartiré con el equipo de trabajo Hotel Design Suites Salta, nos invitan a seguir esmerándonos en lograr un servicio de alta calidad. El desayuno buffet está compuesto de 3 tipos de yogur, 6 platos con diferentes elementos dulces, plato de fiambres, medialunas dulces y saladas, pan del día, pan lactal negro y blanco, tortillas, queso untable, manteca, dulce de leche, 5 tipos de mermeladas, 6 diferentes tipos de frutas, cereales, ensalada de frutas y bajo pedido huevos revueltos. Lamentamos que el desayuno no haya estado a la altura de sus expectativas. Esperamos tener la oportunidad de hospedarlo nuevamente en su próximo viaje a "la linda". Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

In a good location only a very short walk to main square, historic area and shops. The staff are excellent and it's a pity that their great skills are wasted in this awful hotel. Although fairly new, it's cheap fittings and fixtures are already shabby. The room walls are paper thin and you can hear a conversation or tv from not just the next room but any along the hall on your floor. The lower rooms are appalling for noise from the street as well as internally as the design is like an amplifier. We demanded a change of room the next morning and then went to the uppermost floor for another night. The street noise was decreased, the view was very nice but still, the walls are paper thin.Although the windows are double glazed it barely makes a difference to the amount of noise from inside and outside. People getting in and out of elevators on hard flooring. Walking along the hallways or in their rooms on hard flooring. Opening cupboards or doors. The noise just doesn't stop. The bathroom is large but just a big waste of functional space. There would be plenty of room for a separate shower but the cheap design still puts the shower in the bath a long way from your bath towel. Stupid. The room itself, although quite spacious, has the feel of a prison cell. Nothing is convenient or in any way welcoming. Everything is hard and harsh. Everything is noisy. The chairs in the room are laughable. Our rooms had cowhide low slung chairs and it would have been far more comfortable to sit on the living cow. And once your manage to get into the chair, you won't be able to get out without upending the whole thing or crawling out like a spider from a web. If you are over 45, forget it. The bed was OK. I guess it's hard for a trendy designer to ruin absolutely everything. The linen was clean but supposed to reflect desert colours and just looked dirty grey/beige. There was a bit of rag hanging in a frame over the bed and this was apparently an art piece. I'm sure it was skillfully made or great in it's day but in keeping with the rest of the decor it just looked sad and shabby. The air con worked well. The breakfast is in an attached old mansion. Apparently they have "restored" it. This means they have slapped cheap white paint over everything, without any proper preparation so it is all chipped and the original timbers coming through. Then they have put ill conceived lights in a design jangle into the beautiful old ceiling. The furniture is like old Ikea stock. Chair legs chipped and ripped leather/vinyl. The breakfast is poor. The fruit is going rotten. Cereals are just a few sugary things. Not even worth reviewing in detail. I'm depressed just remembering this place. However, the staff could not have been more helpful. They really did their best and were most kind. But the hotel is just not worth the discomfort.

Room Tip: Just go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbo72046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Design S, Gerente at Design Suites Salta, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear guest,
During your stay in our Hotel we have talked about the point of view that you had about various aspects of the structure of the building. I listened respectfully to you being an engineer but you still have to value the opinion of those who builded the hotel and give the opportunity to explain their point of view on your comments .
Breakfast poor as you describe is composed of 3 types of yogurts, 6 plates with different sweet items, sweet and salad croissants, biscuits gluten, bread of the day and salad tortillas, white and black bread, cream cheese, butter and dulce de leche, 5 types of jams, fruit salad, 6 different types of fruit and under order of the guests, scrambled eggs with bacon and sausage.
Fruits that you describe as rotten were only the tip of a banana and the cereals are composed of 5 different types.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in the Design Suites Hotel, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.1 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#8 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#6 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#13 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Salta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Salta

Property: Design Suites Salta
Address: Pasaje Manuel Antonio Castro 215, Salta A4400ELA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Suites Salta 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Suites Salta Hotel is located in front of Belgrano Square.The Hotel offers a quiet atmosphere with modern design and facilities in the historical centre of Salta.In addition to friendly staff, the 4-star hotel offers a bar and a restaurant. The stylish rooms have modern furniture and plenty of natural light, as well as free internet access and other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Suites Salta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing