We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host lovely place”
Review of Caseros 44

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caseros 44
Ranked #12 of 97 Salta B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely host lovely place”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Thanks for the great location of Caseros 44, we managed to have a quick exploration of Salta town's good restaurant, musueum, cathedral, handicraft shops, & etc., in a day on FOOT.

Jorge and his wife are so helpful and gave us many useful tips in picking local food, handicraft and even getting the local currency (as we flew directly from Chile to Salta). The room is spacious and spotless, and we were lucky (so as our dirty clothes piled up during our Chile trip) enough to have the triple room with the balcony overlooking the Convento San Bernardo!

We are still missing the breakfast and chatting time with Jorge's family in his lovely living room. We wish we would have spent more time staying in Salta with Jorge, and Caseros 44 will defintely be our pick if we return to Salta in the future!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vega L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Caseros 44 was just perfect in all the key areas.

First, the location was centrally located, just a few blocks away from Plaza 9 de Julio. You can arrive to any of the major sites in just a few minutes, and the #7 bus that takes you to the Quebrada de San Lorenzo stops right on the corner.

Second, the room. Arriving during winter, we were delighted to have a spacious, but very cosy room. Ample warmth, super comfy bed, hot shower, private balcony overlooking the Convento San Bernardo, it was everything we could have wanted on a winter Salta night.

Third, the breakfast. The standard medialuna, coffee, and orange juice, but also fresh toast and a heaping bowl of fruit. Fruit is quite a rarity in Argentine breakfast, so this American was very grateful.

Fourth, of course, is Jorge. A delight to chat over coffee and hear his stories about life, frienship, love of Salta, and of course helpful advice.

Definitely will recommend this to anyone heading to Salta for both the comfortability and personal touch offered at Caseros 44.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

From the moment we first arrived the level of service from Jorge and his wife was exceptional. Throughout our 3 days in salta Jorge helped us with everything we needed, such as making recommendations for trips, car hire and places to visit as well as helping us arrange a bus to chile when the Argentinian bus drivers were on strike.

The rooms are large and clean and breakfast is lovely but the selling factor of the B&B is the service you get from Jorge. He makes you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My partner wrote a review already but I just wanted to reiterate what lovely hosts Jorge and his wife were. Nice breakfast of warm medialunas and fruit salad too. Front bedroom was large, clean, nice bathroom and lovely balcony overlooking the convent. I didn't like the bedroom at the back as much - the size of the room was fine but the bathroom was a bit small. It was fine for a night however you may want to request the front bedroom if its free. The location couldn't be faulted - a couple of blocks from the main square.
Stay here for the location and the lovely hospitality! Salta is a great city - try La Criollita for empanadas and Cafe Del Tiempo (new one on Guemes) for a cool, modern, European style bar with good music.

Room Tip: The one at the front is much nicer than the one at the back however both beds and bedrooms are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongems1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

This is a great B&B run by the most charming of hosts in Jorge and Susanna.

The location is perfect. You are a short walk from the main square.

The rooms are both big and very clean and tidy. Please note: there is no air con in either bedrooms. That said, we slept fine in both rooms and it wasn't a problem for us.

The front bedroom with the balcony is the better of the two (we stayed in both on two separate occasions), the bathroom is bigger and the room larger and more open generally.

The back bedroom has a smaller bathroom so if that is an issue to you, ask for the front bedroom. I was comfortable in both bedrooms.

There is wifi throughout the house and I got connection on my iPhone in both rooms. Wifi is however best in the living room area.

Breakfast is lovely. Homemade fruit salad, coffee, toast and medialunas. Jorge and Susanna joined us for a coffee over breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed talking to them; they are the perfect hosts.

Overall a great place to stay in Salta.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_London_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on a Wednesday night on a 11pm from Calafate that turned out to be 12.30am. Jorge was waiting for us , even was tracking our flight on Internet to get real time update of our arrival . The minute you got in his beautiful house located in the very center of Salta , you feel at home and Jorge takes care of the rest . The room is big, clean and well furnished ! The bathroom is really nice and as clean as it gets ! The breakfast is homemade and really tasty . The real plus of this place is Jorge, his warmth and stories will seduce you and make you feel at home . He knows the region really well and is a real value added when it comes to plan your itinerary in the area . A must GO believe me !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights and we can definitely say that this was one of the highlight of our entire trip in Argentina.
Jorge and his wife were great hosts during our stay and they made sure that were were always okay or if we needed anything. They also gave us great recommandations on what to do around Salta during our stay.
The breakfast was excellent every morning, and with the various conversations and discussions with Jorge and his wife, they really made us feel as if were were staying with family.
I definitely recommend anyone going to Salta to book this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lormster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.6 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.3 mi away
Ghala Hotel
Ghala Hotel
#18 of 86 in Salta
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#9 of 86 in Salta
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Antiguo Convento
0.8 mi away
Hostal Prisamata
Hostal Prisamata
#4 of 134 in Salta
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseros 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseros 44

Property: Caseros 44
Address: Calle Caseros 44, Salta A4400DMB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing