We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel in Salta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kkala Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in Salta”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I see the Kkala is currently ranked best hotel in Salta on Trip Advisor. I'm not at all surprised. It's a super little boutique hotel in Tres Cerritos, a leafy suburb a taxi ride from the centre of town. The rooms are lovely; spacious & nicely designed. Large bathrooms. Beautiful views from the balconies. Love the design of the hotel - lounge area v nice, pool area, various balconies with chairs/loungers & super views of Salta & the mountains around it. Breakfast v good - the girl who prepares it is very chatty, too! And the staff overall are really nice; a special mention to Ariel and Lourdes who were friendly, helpful & generally made us feel very welcome. I think there are only about 10 rooms here & thus, you get more of a personal touch from the staff and this is what makes places like the Kkala a better choice than a chain hotel, even a very good one.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    48
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
68
224
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Kkala is an amazing hotel and deffinetly the best place to stay in Salta. I was worried about staying far fom the city centre, but that turned out to be a great decision, as the residential neighborhood that the hotel is located in is quiet and peaceful and provides a much-needed rest from the noisy and crowded city centre. Taxis are cheap and the hotel staff can call one for you - we never had to wait for more than 5 minutes. We didn't try walking to the centre because it was very hot, but I think it would take 20-25 minutes. It's easy to find a taxi to take back to the hotel, however keep in mind that most taxi drivers (at least the ones we came across) don't know it's exact location, they just take you to the general area and start driving around in circles. The Tres Cerrotis neighborhood is up on a hill, so I suggest you maybe walk down once and memorize which turns to take, it's really very easy to remember and you'll be able to show taxi drivers the way.

We stayed in the Kkala suite, which is a large room on two levels, with a bathroom, living area with couch, coffee table, tv, etc., and a jacuzzi on the first level and a bedroom and small second bathroom on the second level. It also has a terrace with a table and chairs. The views from the terrrace are great, but there arent't any interesting views from the room. The design of the room combines elemets of local arts and crafts with a more modern style. The overall result is colourful and unusual. I loved this room.

We also got to see the Nevado room, because our room wasn't available for a late check-out, so they mooved us to Nevado. It's also a lovely room, in fact even better in some ways than the Kkala, because you have amazing views over Salta from the room, an even from the shower! The shower is worth mentioning, because it's one of those modern showers with lots of different settings (the one in Kkala is just you usual shower). It's a smaller room than Kkala, but still very spacious. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in either Nevado or Kkala again.

The dining room where breakfast is served is tiny, and the breakfast is nothing special with little choice, however we found that this is typical of small hotels in Argentina, so not a big deal. The hotel provides a room service menu, which can come in handy when you return from a long tour and are too tired to go out to eat. There's a selection of empanadas, tamales, sandwiches, etc. and the food is pretty good. It's also worth noting that there are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel (10 minutes or less), so there's no need to travel to the centre for every meal.

The staff at Kkala are some of the friendliest, most helpful and profefessional people I've ever come across. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always ready to help with advice, suggestions and directions and answer any questions you might have. They also give really good restaurant suggestions! As much as I loved the rooms and the location of Kkala, the staff are what makes this hotel special.

Would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and I'd love to come back to Salta just to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katri0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Kkala and its staff did everything to make us at home! After long journey from the states it was great to arrive at kkala. Such attention to detail and helpful. Our room had exceptional attention to detail with hot tub, balcony and overall room arrangement. Breakfast buffet generous and coffee delicious. Staff also very helpful in arranging transportation with car/driver to cafayate. Nice quiet neighborhood yet can walk to town for restaurants which for us was very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top floor with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abe1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A charming place to stay in Tres Cerritos neighborhood in Salta (about 15-20 minutes walk to city centre). The attention to details and design in the hotel is everywhere -- from the breakfast display to the headboards in the room. The staff, especially Ariel, were very helpful. I went on two day trips (to Cachi and to Cafayate) with tours they recommended. The view of the city and the hills is great. Breakfast was also nice, and it was great to be able to have it set up earlier than usual when leaving early for tours. I also ordered the empanadas and salads a couple times in the evening for a light dinner. I highly recommend this as a place to stay in Salta and will definitely return.

Room Tip: I was in Salinas which has a nice view, a jacuzzi tub and is a bit away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Away from the centre - an oasis.

Wonderful people, quaint decor and hugely comfortable

Breakfast was just right

Will stay here again

Difficult for some drivers to find but that is no big deal

We enjoyed the suite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPPPPPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brummen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is a house on a hill, build on a large corner plot in a quiet neighbourhood. It has many large windows so a lot of the rooms are very light. Inside it is decorated in an pleasant eclectic way: lots of colours, a combination of furniture of different styles and periods and local handcrafted stuff. The lounge is a great place to sit during the day and browse through the confutable books.
In the garden is a swimming pool on a raised deck so the garden feels even bigger. So we spend many hours sunbathing and having a dip in the pool after walking through Salta in 36 Celsius.

We booked in advance a classic room (least expensive and with 15% discount) for a two nights and they gave us an upgrade to a superior room with a beautiful view over the mountains and a big bathroom. We also had a quick look in two of the suites and they looked gorgeous, nicely decorated and spacious. But we were happy with our room. So far so good.
Due to circumstances we had to book two more nights and we were transferred to a classic room (Yatunga or something like that), with the entrée under the stairs. The room itself was light and big enough but it had a big Jacuzzi which took at least 25% of the space….. so a bit over the top. Besides, it had a nice bathroom with a big shower. But the real downside was the noise of the partly iron stairs. Every time somebody walked up or down (not to mention running), it resonated in the room and it woke me up every time.

Breakfast was in a pleasant room with lots of light and views over the mountains and it offered, on not to hot a day, the possibilities to sit outside on the balcony. The breakfast itself was a buffet, not to big but fair enough.

The staff was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Well, we do not recommend to room under the stairs (named 'Yatunga' or so)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Went to Salta in November with my husband and stayed 3 nights at the Kkala Boutique Hotel. Thankfully, the guy renting us our car at the airport gave us very detailed directions as the place is a bit hard to find and the entrance sign not very easy to see. Apart from that we have only good things to say. A haven of calm. The place is welcoming, quiet, easy, clean, pretty (very nice decoration touches). There is a small pool (just the right size), the rooms are large (we stayed in 2 different rooms as our trip was in 2 parts) and were upgraded for 2 night - with an in-room jacuzzi. There is wifi service in the rooms that works quite well. The breakfast location was gorgeous (beautiful view) and the food was fresh and delicious. The service is efficient yet discreet which is great. The place is away from the hectic pace of downtown (which is an understatement - Salta is ALIVE!). I want to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CesarCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
1.2 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#11 of 86 in Salta
760 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#9 of 86 in Salta
680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#5 of 86 in Salta
934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#13 of 86 in Salta
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kkala Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kkala Boutique Hotel

Property: Kkala Boutique Hotel
Address: Pasaje Las Higueras 104 | Tres Cerritos, Salta A4408KAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kkala Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kkala is a charming boutique hotel located at the foot of a mountain, in the exclusive residential area of Tres Cerritos in Salta. The hotel combines tradition with unique antiques and regional craftsmanship. The library invites guests to relax by the fireplace and enjoy the unpretentious hospitality of our staff. Kkala Boutique Hotel is only five minutes away from the city center; perfect for exploring the city, or enjoying typical food in a local restaurant or prepared in house. Start the day with a cozy breakfast in the dining room filled with stunning aromas and overlooking Salta and its mountains. LOCATION Kkala Boutique hotel is located in an exclusive residential area of Salta. Here we can find incredible quietness and comfort without losing the convenience of being no more than fifteen blocks away from the historic center and all the traditional tourist routes. Salta means "beautiful". It's the best description of the city and the province that shares the name. Salta is located in the north west of Argentina, it borders three countries: Chile, Bolivia and Paraguay. Due to its location, forming a ring between the Andes Mountains to the west and the Argentine-Paraguayan Chaco to the east, it has a huge variety of climates and geography. For this reason, landscapes and tourist circuits are incomparable: from the vast and desert like puna to the splendor of the tropical jungle. Besides landscapes, Salta also has the historical and cultural heritage that invites for a deeper understanding. Travellers will have the opportunity to get in touch with ancient customs that remain alive in the community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kkala Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing