We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice ride”

Salta Tram (Teleferico)
Ranked #10 of 114 things to do in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cable car takes you to the top of San Bernardo Hill where you can enjoy a view of the Lerma Valley.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
352 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A nice ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This cable car brought back memories of visits to Switzerland, not least bacause the whole thing is Swis in origin! It's a nice ride with wonderful views of the city. We thought the ride was inexpensive (but the pound sterling is strong at the moment).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    983
    340
    49
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

If you like heights and great views then this is for you!
The bottom station is easy to get to from the centre of the city and is interesting, architecturally (lots of coloured glass) and mechanically - you can see all the working parts of the chairlift.
Trip takes about 5 minutes. Gardens and views from the top of the mountain are great. Nice, relaxing diversion from walking the city streets.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a place! What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The view form the top of the mountain is amazing! And the place itself is just perfect! Lots of nature, waterfall (man made) that offers you some moments of peace and reflection! Beautiful view of Salta and it's surroundings! It is a must go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thabata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pass unless it is a clear day”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The tram to the top of the hill in spring when went when it was a high of 85 degrees F was like baking in a box for ten plus minutes. There was a tiny opening but otherwise no airflow, so we were sweating when we reached the top. On the day we went, it wasn't clear, and I don't mean cloud cover, there was lots of Los Angeles type smog in the air, so we couldn't see much. Additionally, there isn't anything to really do at the top. You can look at this fake waterfall they constructed but I fail to see the interest. Additionally there are not many places to sit there unless you want to go to the cafe, which had very little shade despite having a pile of unused umbrellas not set on the tables.

Overall, I wouldn't waste to much time on this. It was recommended by the hotel, but I would personally pass unless it is 100% clear day and you don't have other plans.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We took a taxi to the top and rode down on the gondola. Check the visibility first as the views were limited due to haze the day we went. Another day I climbed the steps(1068 of them) and found that a better experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank onlyinboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salta Tram (Teleferico) also viewed

Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 

Been to Salta Tram (Teleferico)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing