We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Choice in Salta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Sheraton sits on a hillside in a pretty residential area within walking distance to all the major sites. The lobby décor is slightly generic, modern accented with local artwork and crafts; the lobby bar is a nice place to have a drink or snack. Note that the prices at the restaurant and bar are quite a bit higher than most places in town. There are a number of computers in the lobby that offer fast internet service; the first half hour is free.

Our room was very large with windows overlooking the pool, city and hills. The room was clean and comfortable with a king bed, a desk, seating area and all the modern necessities. The bathroom could use a little updating but it wasn’t too bad.

Unfortunately, the pool was being retiled so it was not open and the hot tub had been turned off, so it wasn’t hot. Since we could not use the outdoor amenities, we used the indoor spa facilities that were very nice and included a dry sauna and a steam room. The attendants at the gym/spa were friendly and helpful. Service was generally good with some exceptions; Mauricio at the front desk was great, professional and efficient. Our club floor room gave us access to the club lounge. On two occasions we were rudely turned away from the lounge by two men who seemed to be guarding the area. The lounge is only open at certain times and they did not want us there during off hours. Luckily, when we returned to the lounge for breakfast, it was open, the rude men were not there and we enjoyed a tasty breakfast.

Overall, the Sheraton was a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Salta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Due to a flight cancellation, the airline provided us with one night at this hotel. It was beyond my expectations and really did make up for the hassle at the airport.

As I love water, I was over the moon when I saw their pool. Everything so beautifully decorated and a wonderful view of the city of Salta. Especially at night when the lights are on, this is extra beautiful.
The staff at the pool was really friendly, the girl that tended us made a tasty cocktail and as the Spa was closed, it wasn't a problem to leave our wet towels behind with her.

We had diner here (also at airline costs) which contained a three meal course - for each course 2 options and a free soft drink.

The shampoos, etc smelled great actually, thanks for those :)

I don't know if I would stay here normally, only because I found it quite far from the city centre. But taxi's are cheap and most excursion guides will pick you up at the hotel, so it wouldn't be a huge deal. If I did, it would be to relax, using their Spa and pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincesaGaditana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

This recent hotel is located uphill in a quiet residential area. Our room #412 on level 4 has a nice city and pool view. No bothering noise from adjacent rooms was heard.
There are many spots here and there on the room’s walls and some repainting should be done. Furthermore, both soaps handlers were broken and have to be replaced in the bathroom. I understand these are details but at USD150+ a night this should not be experienced in a 4 star hotel.
There were also heavy works taking place within the pool area (construction of a pool bar and replacement of boards around the pool) while we were there but no information about this inconvenience was posted on the hotel’s internet site at booking time.
However, I liked my 3 day stay at this property. The architecture of the hotel was interesting and the ambiance was relaxing.
Staff was helpful in booking our transfer to the airport despite we were not using theirs. Access to the internet was possible through the SHERATON LINK with a free 30 minute daily allowance. Buffet breakfast was also a nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HOTELLMEMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We chose the hotel on the basis of the location on the edge of town and the pool with a view over Salta and we were not disappointed. Even though there was renovation work going on we were not distrubed by the noise and found the hotel very good value. Only small niggles would be you have to pay extra for the gym, but then the room rate was low for a Sheraton so can't really complain. Also the food and service in the bar were poor. Overall found the staff friendly and helpful. Surprised the hotel doesn't get a better rating on the website as we checked the other main options when we were there and we preferred the rooms and the environment at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francetraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We recently stayed at the Sheraton Mendoza for several nights in late May. As you can see in my photos, the hotel's interior was artfully decorated. Glass, rough hewn wood and exposed brick textures were melded together in a warm, contemporary style which was gorgeous. Our room was equally chic and done up in shades of cream.

As beautiful as this place was, our first night was a little marred by air conditioning that did not work. It was stuffy and warm and a visit from Maintenance to tinker with it didn't make much difference. Also, despite being Starwood Gold Members, we were given a room that directly faced their courtyard construction site and were awakened at 9 am to the sounds of hammering and shouting.

However, after speaking with the Manager, Senor Toro, we were upgraded to a Suite on the SPG 4th floor and life improved greatly. Our new room had a lovely view of Salta and the mountains and we were also sent a complimentary wine and cheese plate to apologize for the A/C issues.

I would also like to mention the Sheraton’s staff who all spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Lucas at the Front Desk was especially professional and he instantly took care of any request that we had.

As for the facilities, the Sheraton had a small but adequate fitness facility with 3 treadmills and some free weights. There was no charge to use it and by the way, they had a filtered water dispenser where we could fill up our water bottles for free.

The Sheraton also had a nice outdoor pool with a wooden deck as well as a casino. It was an easy 15 minute walk into the city center. Valet parking was 25 pesos/day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The Sheraton Salta provides all the comforts you would expect from a worldwide chain. The property is located atop a hill overlooking the charming and very pretty city of Salta. The walk to the center of town takes less than 10 minutes. The property features a nice restaurant and bar area, a well equipped gym, and lovely outdoor pool with jacuzzi area featuring incredible panoramic views of the city, and free WIFI in the lobby. There are also two computers for guests to use in the back end of the lobby. The on site casino is separate but a nice source of entertainment if you are into that. The rooms are standard Sheraton stuff, comfortable, clean, but in need of some touch ups. Walls are scuffed and carpets a bit old. They are bland but tidy and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are large and feature good shower pressure. The neighborhood feels safe and very suburban. The staff are pleasant, but a bit lazy. Use the on site tour office if you need to arrange tours or visits. They are much more resourceful and willing than the front desk. The hotel has a quiet, calm feel to it. Probably the best choice in town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The Salta Sheraton. Well, yes, it is a Sheraton so your expectations should be inline with that first and foremost. The property is situated up the hill so to speak so you have a lovely view of the city, day or night. We had made a last minute change in our itinerary and opted to move to the Sheraton since we had some SPG points.

The staff overall was welcoming and very helpful (thank you Fabio!) Fabio from Misiones and the Iguazu Sheraton had joined the Salta team and we spoke with him and several other staff who made our trip very enjoyable. Including helping us order dinner from a local restaurant around midnight because we were tired to go out. Wonderful service!

Our room was clean, had great water pressure and offered very nice views. The spa, gym, and pool were in order and the staff accommodating. The breakfast was plentiful and the espressos and cappucinos got our morning off to good start.

Everyone from the casino, bar, desk, bellman, housekeeping and restaurant were helpful, professional. Thank you, Salta Sheraton!

We walked to Feria Balacarce about a mile (1.5km) and the main square maybe less than a mile in the other direction with ease, through nice neighborhoods, although we taxi'd back to avoid the hill. Salta is easy to navigate and friendly, you will come across wonderful places to eat. On Sunday, after mass, we followed the yummy smells and the masses of locals for wonderful dining. My message to you is to get out and explore, take the local bus and just try things. One great adventure (so to speak) was to get on the local bus to go to the Artensal Market (free trade) which is the white building and not the open air market! Of course we checked out both - but the adventure was our bus driver who was thrilled to have Gringas aboard talk about Salta and even stopped the bus and invited us to take pictures of an area he said was scenic. Some of the locals on the bus were not so enchanted they were on there way and didn't have the same fascination we had with every single novelty we saw. Accordingly, we were polite and respectful of their schedules and were quick about following out drivers instruction to take photos here, here, here =) Kudos to the public transportation system in Salta (drivers made sure we got on the right bus #'s more than once!) Practice your Spanish!

We like this place Salta!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOBY_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.9 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.8 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#5 of 86 in Salta
946 reviews
0.9 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#9 of 86 in Salta
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#12 of 86 in Salta
435 reviews
34.0 mi away
Hotel del Dique
Hotel del Dique
#29 of 86 in Salta
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Salta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salta Hotel

Address: Coronel Francisco de Uriondo 330 | Av Ejercito del Norte, Salta A4406BKQ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salta
#5 Business Hotel in Salta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salta
Price Range: £87 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Salta Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Salta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salta
Salta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing