We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Basic hotel”
Review of Wilson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wilson Hotel
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The hotel is a decent and basic hotel with spacious and clean rooms. The hotel is located very close to the center, next to a busy street. Rooms facing the street are noisy in the morning, but rooms facing the backyard are very quiet.

The breakfast is served at the bar in the lobby, which at times was a little inconvenient as the hotel appeared to be popular among the locals for "gatherings".

Be aware that the hotel may not accept credit cards, regardless of what any booking site may state. At my stay they "faked" a malfunction to the terminal obviously preferring to be paid in cash.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

The location is very central, the staff pleasant and helpful and the rooms spacious and clean. The architecture of the hotel, however, makes it very noisy. There is an open-plan lobby area with loud TV, and no walls between this and the short corridors leading to rooms. The hotel is also used by bus tours with early departures, so the corridors are noisy with key-clinking, doors slamming and suitcase pulling from 6am, and the open lobby area makes it seem like sleeping in a bus station. The staff were helpful when we asked to move room (they were obviously used to such complaints), but the noise reached even three floors up, due to the open-plan design of the building. It's a pity, because apart from the noise this was a very pleasant hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up the building as possible, away from the noisy lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This hotel is clean and the rooms are good size with good size full bathrooms. It has a cafe/bar in the lobby and free wifi throughout the hotel. If you have your own car, there is free private and secure parking across the street. It has a good location within minutes of the main square, shops and restaurants. If booking this hotel, make sure you ask for double bed (if that is what you want) otherwise you may end up with a room with twin beds. I would recommend this hotel for overall value and location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Hotel Wilson - Situated in centre of Salta. Extremely comfortable and clean. Really friendly and helpful staff, great value for money. Would definately revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbadosPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

My sister & I stayed at the Wilson Hotel for two nights on July 11th and apart from being fairly central, it offers little else.Salta has plently to offer visitors for a few days so little time will be spent in hotels anyway. First impressions were nice & although our twin room was quiet, our beds incl a huge double & tiny single. We ended using the single for storage of bags. If you get the chance, do the 4 hour quad biking trek we booked with Salta Rafting company (can't remember address, but it's office is just off main square). Fantastic views, picnic & transfers from the hotel. Breakfast was included which incl an average array of breads, meats/cheeses & juices.

1  Thank ritzabitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

I did not pick this hotel which was part of a pre arranged tour of the area so I was pleasantly surprised to find a small modern hotel. Although the single room was very small it had all of the amenities of a large chain. There was airconditioning, cableTV, a safe, a bath & shower, a telephone and a desk and chair. Wi-fi was also provided free of charge. It is close to lots of places of interest and lots of shops. As they only served 'snacks', the staff suggested good local restaurants that were reasonably priced and were happy to suggest a sightseeing tour for me. The 2 nights I spent there were very pleasant and I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying a few nights in the area

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandA2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Not the most central hotel in town, but still extremely noisy. Traffic and AC will keep you awake all night. Prison cell-like rooms.
To expensive!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Reisefot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
1.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Ref
Apart Hotel Ref
#37 of 86 in Salta
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#12 of 86 in Salta
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ghala Hotel
Ghala Hotel
#22 of 86 in Salta
484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Vegas Hotel Salta
Las Vegas Hotel Salta
#21 of 86 in Salta
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#26 of 86 in Salta
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Hotel

Address: Calle Alvarado 950, Salta A4412DUA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Price Range: £47 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilson Hotel is conveniently located three blocks form the principal square the 9th July square in the centre of the city, its prepared to offer to its guests the maximum quality on service and the best security for a pleasant stay. Built on a modern design with oversized guest rooms and halls and comfortable assemble rooms for seminaries; parties or any kind of events; it includes WI_FI internet access and the best technology to provide the security you deserve with emergency resources, internal and auxiliary stairs, anti panic doors and two spacious elevators. We assure you a quiet stay for you and your family. Our configurable rooms allow us to offer in a few minutes the atmosphere you ask for. We offer the best quality on services and comfort. Know why our services are above the three stars category, we wait for you to enjoy Salta La Linda at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Wilson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Hotel Salta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing