We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars? I think NOT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

First impressions were good. Lobby looks nice, people are friendly. The decor is decidedly SW USA. The room is nice, comfortable bed
That's where it ended. We got off the elevator to the 9th floor and this pervasive smell hit us. Mild, mildew? We couldn't place it. We get into our room,and the smell follows us. The floors along the way and into our room are badly stained. The water doesn't get hot, there are no washcloths, and the breakfast buffet is minimal.
Now, before I get ripped apart by others, we have been in Argentina for over 10 days traveling to a couple other destinations, all considered 5 star. No strange smells, no stains, great breakfasts, and washcloths.
I would NOT recommend staing here. Stay at one of the Bed and Breakfasts.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigAl_inCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managenet, Director General at Alejandro I Hotel International Salta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Healthy1,

Thanks for your review about the hotel is very important for us to know our mistakes. We apologize for the inconvenience with all the problems and we are very sorry for being unable to achieve your expectations. On behalf of staff will appreciate the time dedicated to write your rewiev and send a warm greeting.
Sincerily,

Juan Manuel Lavallen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was the ONLY hotel in Salta to have a room free over the mega-busy Easter period ( I phoned 30+ other hotels that were all full). We paid AR$1260 for one night, but I would imagine that you can get it for less when not high high season.
The standard of service and of the room were excellent, as one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Extremely comfortable beds, luxurious bathroom.
The breakfast buffet had a much wider selection than other Argentinian hotels, but the majority of choices were still very sweet. (They did, however, have the only wholemeal bread I had seen since leaving England).
The problem with this hotel is the lack of soul. There is no atmosphere. The style is too contemporary and manufactured for a place like Salta. It feels like a hotel you would find in a business park off a motorway (highway) in the middle of suburban Europe. There are much more interesting options in Salta (eg. Hotel Salta, Hotel Colonial).
It was a good, but totally forgettable, experience.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StokeNewingtonN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managenet, Director General at Alejandro I Hotel International Salta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Michael_London,

We thank you for your comments in great shape they enrich us and help us to improve on every aspect you mentioned. We will strive to improve and appreciate your valuable input. I send warm greetings on behalf of the entire staff of the hotel.
Sincerely,

Juan Manuel Lavallen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We chose this hotel on the basis of its central location, good Tripadvisor reviews and size - whilst we normally choose small hotels for their better atmosphere we are not at all good Spanish speakers and thought we would have a better chance of being able to communicate any non-standard requirements we may have at a big hotel where there was more chance of some English-speaking staff. It seemed to work although, with the benefit of hindsight, Salta is much more of a tourist destination than we had realised, and we would probably have been OK at most hotels in the city.

We actually stayed there 3 times, for a total of 4 nights, having flown into Salta and then hired cars from there to go to (a) Purmamarca and (b) Cafayate. It turned out to be very suitable for this purpose. The reception was extremely quick and efficient, even to the extent of providing wifi password on each occasion without us having to request it, and by the third time of checking-in we were greeted like old friends!

The rooms (we had two different ones, and exactly the same room on two of our tree visits!) were very comfortable, clean and spacious, with all the required facilities (excellent shower, wi-fi and safe). Also, from our room on the 8th floor, there was a superb view over Salta - even from the first floor, there was a better view than expected, as the hotel has two floors (leisure suite and function rooms, I believe) between the ground and first floors.

The bar/breakfast room/restaurant was, however a bit of a disappointment, totally lacking in any atmosphere with its high ceiling and with the tables and chairs in the bar area making it look more like a cheap cafe - in our view this needs a serious make-over. The only saving grace about the decor was a range of beautiful paintings (mainly of scenes from the area) around the walls. However, the breakfast buffet was very varied and beautifully presented - the cheese scones were a definite hit for us! We did not eat dinner in the hotel, because of the unappealing room, plus the fact that there are plenty of restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managenet, Director General at Alejandro I Hotel International Salta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear David68_11,

We really appreciate your detailed reviews about the hotel and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay on the three times. We consider so important your comments about the restaurant for future reforms and really appreciate the time you spent writing your review. On behalf of the entire staff of the Alejandro Iº Hotel we send warm greetings.
Sincerely,

Juan Manuel Lavallen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Chose the hotel because of the position, short walk to the main square with all the important buidings. Very efficient, not very friendly, check-inn. Very nice rooms with goord bathrooms (seperate shower and a good bath) and a good bed, soundproof. Breakfast is OK. Hotel is relatively expensive, I made a reservation through booinng.com and the deucted the room rate straight away from my credit card which was not according the rules of reservation.
They have a parking garage so that is handy, they vallet parked our car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managenet, Director General at Alejandro I Hotel International Salta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear EKHolland27,

We greatly appreciate your comments about your stay at the hotel which always help us to know about our mistakes and how we can improve our services, like more kindness at check-in or payments by booking.com. Thanks again for your review and we are we waiting for you during your next trip to Salta city.
Sincerely,

Juan Manuel Lavallen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with clean, comfortable rooms.
Great breakfast.
Unfortunately, with the exception of 1 front desk person and cleaning staff, we found the staff to be very rude. There must be a No smiling rule there. One front desk lady practically rolled her eyes at us for requesting an area map.
No excuse for such poor treatment in a hotel of this caliber.
Very unfortunate as we would have given it 5 stars otherwise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzzy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managenet, Director General at Alejandro I Hotel International Salta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Dizzzy14,

We appreciate your opinions on the hotel and apologize if we have not been kind to the treatment of you. It's essential for us to be hospitable and friendly so take your review very seriously to improve in this topic. Really apologize again.
Sincerely,

Juan Manuel Lavallen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have stayed here as the hotel of choice on many occasions over the last 3 years. It is in a great location, walking distance to all the main areas in the centre of salta. It has staff that are very helpful and best of all can speak english on reception. The rooms are clean and spacious some with views over the square. They have a tourist desk, and very good and busy gym for those looking to keep fit. The food is good and laundry service very prompt. If you are here on business it has all the facilities you need with free wifi, and valet parking . It caters well not only for business but families and couples. If you measure this hotel against others in Salta it would certainly be one of the best. Having stayed at the Sheraton I would put this one above it with respect to service and location.

Room Tip: rooms facing the square can be a little noiser with bands playing from time to time although the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managenet, Director General at Alejandro I Hotel International Salta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Annatrips,

We really felt pleased with their comments about the hotel and motivates us to be working to provide the excellent quality of service that you and each of our guests deserve. Hoping to regain your distinguished presence in the near future will send our best wishes. Regards,


Juan Manuel Lavallen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

First, the big picture of our trip: We wreally loved the whole area around Salta, Salta itself, and the hotel we stayed in Salta, the Alejandro. Hence, our very good impresssion of the hotel is of course linked to the overall grteat impression of out stay, but still we would say this hotel sis poarticularly excellent. Why ?
- The service is truely 5 stars, with 4 star prices at most
- Staff is extremeley friendly
- Many free goodies like Wifi and parking
- Management is always open to discuss things, like additional bed inmthe room for free
- Location is great, right in the center, in front of a nice little park
- Great fitness area, nice pool
We would recommend exactly as we did: Spend vacation around Salta and use Alejandro as a base in Salta

Room Tip: We had an executive room which is very niec because of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagelowsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managenet, Director General at Alejandro I Hotel International Salta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Jagelowsk,

We really felt pleased with their comments about the hotel and motivates us to be working to provide the excellent quality of service that you and each of our guests deserve. Hoping to regain your distinguished presence in the near future will send our best wishes. Regards,

Juan Manuel Lavallen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#12 of 85 in Salta
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#10 of 85 in Salta
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#5 of 85 in Salta
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#11 of 85 in Salta
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 85 in Salta
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#7 of 85 in Salta
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alejandro I Hotel International Salta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alejandro I Hotel International Salta

Address: Calle Balcarce 252, Salta A4400EJF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Salta
Price Range: £63 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alejandro I Hotel International Salta 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Choice 2017 Winner. Five stars at the best location. Excellent service with a regional touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alejandro I Hotel International Salta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing