We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel.”
Review of Hotel del Virrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel del Virrey
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel.”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everything about this small hotel was good. The staff could not have been more helpful. We ate at the two restaurants they recommended and had beautiful meals both nights. The hotel is in a good position and is a lovely building. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeborahTedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear John and Deborah, thank you for your review! :) We are very happy you enjoyed at its fullest your stay in our Small Hotel. Indeed our Receptionists are alert to help properly, with advice, solving problems, or making the necessary contacts or arrangements to provide our Guests the best possible experience. We are glad you found everything you expected with us, and we hope Life bring you all the best in your future activities.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    111
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
47
178
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice, neat and quiet place in the center of Salta.
Very nice hosts. Good in English.
Swimming pool is to small for swimming. Better to cool down.
Breakfast is not very special. Our specious room, located in the front of the building, was.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoogland-Vasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Hoogland, thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed our installations and that you could make a good use of them. About the things to improve, we are constantly working on them to provide the best possible service. Thank you for your kind words :)

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed an extra night in salta so moved here for last night. Lovely little place with only 8 rooms I think. We got it quite cheap €50 for the night not sure what normal price is. Staff very good, really helpful and always smiling. Room was nicely decorated great shower and comfy bed. Breakfast was standard and location for restaurants and bars perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staggy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review! Right like you say, our Hotel has only eight rooms, so we can take good care of our Guests, fulfilling all of their needs, advising, talking, and also listening to their adventures in our beautiful land! All of our staff know how to do their work and they are happy when they can help, even in the slightest details. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and you had a great time in our Hotel. That is our biggest reward.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A lovely hotel. So friendly and helpful. English well spoken.
It is a beautiful building near the main square - but quiet. Parking was in same street and secure.
All the staff made us feel welcome.
A little splash pool - but a nice reading in the evening area.

Room Tip: Hard to say as we had 2 different rooms for 2 visits, and both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review! We are happy our Staff assisted you properly. They are highly trained and they live to serve. And their good service is in key with the Hotel´s unique benefits that you mention: It is excellently located, near the center of the city but away from the noise and rush, so you can enjoy days of peace and nights of silence and relax in our facilities; private parking, so you don´t worry about the safety and keeping of your car, and the pool, that is a little familiar open pool, but more than enough for the people that our eight rooms can hold.

We thank you again for your kind words, and we hope you continue to learn, to travel and to joy all of what this world has to be discovered!

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Hotel del Virrey is on a side street only a few blocks from Plaza 9 de Julio. We had a nice large room with a high ceiling on the ground floor. The people at the front desk spoke English and were very nice and helpful. We needed to get our car washed and they directed us to a place only a few blocks away. The breakfast buffet was very adequate and there was free parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Daryl, thank you for your review! Indeed, our Hotel is positioned at an unbeatable location, only four blocks away from the main square, and near the Balcarce Corridor and the best peñas. In few words, near everything important in Salta. We are happy our Receptionists assisted you in whatever you could need. We work only with the most helpful staff and we strive to serve our Guests in all of their necessities. Like you expressed, the parking is free of charge, as the WiFi Internet, and the pool. Thanks again for your words, and we hope you continue to add good memories to your backpack trip after trip :)

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel Del Virrey is a small and charismatic hotel in Salta. It offers a convenient central place for walking around the historic sights of downtown Salta. The hotel has been renovated but retains its historic charm. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast, however, is a bit on the minimalistic side. If you like eggs and/or cereal you will be disappointed, but if you prefer bread then you are in luck. Otherwise, this is a nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review! :) As you said, the Hotel is located in an unbeatable position, near the main square (only four blocks away), and near the best Peñas and the Balcarce Corridor. We are glad you could appreciate and enjoy the architectural riches of our Hotel, it is a magical place and we hope all of our Guests have the best experience while staying with us.

About the breakfast, we are sorry you didn´t find the specific products you were looking for. Ours is a very complete breakfast, as it includes: Black, Green, and a wide variety of herbal and scented teas; Black Coffee, Latte (Coffee with cream), Milk, Chocolate Milk; White and Black Bread (also toasted), Croissants, Muffins, Apple Pie, Beaten Biscuits; Ham and cheese (to make sandwiches with), and several spreads: Butter, Honey, Milk Caramel, processed cheese and different fruit jams; and also Natural orange juice, Mineral water, Yogurt, Jell-O, different kinds of Cereals, Fruit salad and Scrambled eggs. Anyway, we are taking note of your experience so we continue to improve our Service, which is one of our highest goals.

We hope you continue to meet magical and unique places while you advance on your journey.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My family with two young children (2, 4) spent two nights here on different occasions on our tour of the Salta region.

Our first room faced the swimming pool, which provided the children easy access to a rather cold dip, and the lovely garden. In the morning, our rental car had a flat tire, which Hertz insisted we fix on our own; but the tire iron provided was too short to provide sufficient leverage to change to the spare. The man at the front desk not only found another tire iron from a neighbor, but actually helped us to change it.

This great service caused us to book another night a week later when we came back to Salta one day early. The second room was in the middle of the hallway and although cozy, it was smaller than the first room. Due to the last minute reservation, they gave us an even better rate. We had coffee and desserts twice in the cafe next door; breakfast on site was simple, but good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Rowena, thank you for your review! :) We remember your lovely Family and we hope your stays in the Hotel were pleasant ones. We are happy we could be of help during the problem with the car; we are to assist, guide and take proper care of our guests. We are also glad your kids could enjoy our family pool. It´s always a refreshing pleasure and we keep it clean and full the whole year, so our guests can make use of it no matter the season. (Although it´s an open pool)

About the prices, indeed our Hotel is one of the (if not the) more affordable in its category, and yet we keep the highest quality standards, and you will always find good prices and even a better service in our Hotel.

We do our best to provide an unmatched quality in all the aspects of our Service, so surely you remember that our breakfast, yet simple, is in no way limited, because it includes: Black, Green, and a wide variety of herbal and scented teas; Black Coffee, Latte (Coffee with cream), Milk, Chocolate Milk; White and Black Bread (also toasted), Croissants, Muffins, Apple Pie, Beaten Biscuits; Ham and cheese (to make sandwiches with), and several spreads: Butter, Honey, Milk Caramel, processed cheese and different fruit jams; and also Natural orange juice, Mineral water, Yogurt, Jell-O, different kinds of Cereals, Fruit salad and Scrambled eggs.

We hope you and your Family continue to joy, learn and discover new things while you continue to travel and visit a lot of places!

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.2 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.5 mi away
Delvino Boutique Hotel
Delvino Boutique Hotel
#13 of 86 in Salta
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial Salta
Hotel Colonial Salta
#27 of 86 in Salta
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Antiguo Convento
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Sol
Hotel Posada Del Sol
#25 of 86 in Salta
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Virrey

Property: Hotel del Virrey
Address: Calle 20 de Febrero 420, Salta A4400EMJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Virrey 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Virrey is a charming hotel, located in the historical heart of the city of Salta. It is an old colonial mansion of the early twentieth century; it was entirely renovated keeping its colonial lines with all the necessary comfort to meet the highest expectations of demanding guests.With a prime location just four blocks from the main square "9 de Julio" from the most important museums and from the commercial banking center of the historic city of Salta.Salta is a province rich in history and relief diversity, climate, flora and fauna. His landscapes change abruptly at such a few miles. From the Valles Calchaquíes, La Puna, Valle de Lerma, Salares, among others.In Hotel del Virrey you will be able to enjoy all these circuits with excellent and personalized service. Our staff is at your constant disposal to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel del Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing