We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast”
Review of Posada La Sonada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Sonada
Ranked #2 of 12 Tafi del Valle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Lovely bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Roberts Hughes, the owner, meets you, greets you, and makes you feel very much at home. His welsh ancestors came to Argentina so long ago that he speaks little English, but is happy to give his English a go if you do not speak Spanish. He does however have a Welsh rugby scarf!

There are three rooms, each well fitted out, and very comfortable. The heating did struggle a bit in May, so I am not sure how it would cope in June.

Roberts gives you a number of suggestions as to what to see and what to eat. We settled for a restaurant meal out at lunchtime, and snacked in the room at night.

We had a nice breakfast with homemade jams and breads, but nothing cooked was offered.

Great view over the local lake. The accommodation is high up above the town, so you get a panoramic view all round

My own feeling was two nights here was about right. Tafi does not have a lot to offer, once you have had a stroll down the Main Street. And local scenery is spectacular, but again limited.

Overall I really liked this place and would recommend it if you are in Tafi - good accommodation, wonderful host, great value for money

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Had a brief one night stay at Posada La Sanada, wish it could've been more. The rooms are extremely spacious yet cosy and the breakfast room is light and airy.The surroundings are stunning and Rob is extremely helpful and interesting to talk to, he made us feel right at home. Shame we couldn't have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Highly recommended! Great environment + beautiful Lodge and apartamentos. Owner Tailormade service!! We Williams be Back son!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinmoebius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We spent 3 nights in La Sonada and honestly we would have spent there at least a week. Roberto and Marcela are welcoming, warm and helpful, you'll really feel like at home.
Tafi del Valle is difficult to reach but it will leave you speechless. And you will be speechless when you'll see your room as well. Huge bed extremely comfortable and amazing view of the mountains. Breakfast included is very good as well, with home made jams. Pet friendly and pet owners, if you are traveling with a dog you will be pleased to see it enjoying the garden. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Mr. Hughes, of Welsh descent, is a very welcoming man, with kind eyes and a friendly smile.

My wife (who shares the same surname as Mr Hughes) and I arrived after a long drive and we were greeted warmly and given an introduction of this very relaxing place.

Posada la Soñada has three excellent rooms detached from the main building with comforts and settings you often see in 4 or 5 start hotels.
The rooms are spacious, with a beautiful view of the valley and there is also cable TV with plenty of English speaking channels.
The beds are king size and so comfortable that I didn't want to get up.
The blankets and soft, nice and heavy.
The bathroom is impeccably clean and it has an amazing power shower.

Breakfast was very hearty too, Argentinian style with plenty of cereals, yogurts and dulce de leche, but scrambled eggs and bacon were available on request as well.
The breakfast area also has an amazing view of the valley.

What made our stay so special was that Mr Hughes was very helpful in directing us to the best restaurant in Tafi del Valle, and he was more than happy to recommend other B&Bs as far afield as Salta and Tilcara.

All in all, his warm treatment made our stay even more special.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowArgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just do not hesitate to go and meet Roberto and Marcella. We stayed only one night but we did have a great time, and immediately regretted not to stay more... the room is really comfortable and cosy and enough for 4. Nice garden, great breakfast... well, everything was perfect ! Much nicer than a hotel room...
Taffi del Valle is a pretty little town and the surroundings are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarOLE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tafi del Valle hotels
1.0 mi away
Hosteria Lunahuana
Hosteria Lunahuana
#2 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
188 reviews
7.6 mi away
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
#1 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Estancia Las Tacanas
Estancia Las Tacanas
#4 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waynay Killa Hotel
Waynay Killa Hotel
#3 of 12 in Tafi del Valle
65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Posada Inti Watana
Posada Inti Watana
#1 of 12 in Tafi del Valle
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cabanas del Valle
Cabanas del Valle
#1 of 38 in Tafi del Valle
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Sonada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Sonada

Property: Posada La Sonada
Address: Ruta Provincial 307 64 2 | Ruta 307 km. 64,200, Tafi del Valle T4140BNA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > Tafi del Valle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tafi del Valle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada La Sonada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing