We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Not Return - Improvement Required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Would Not Return - Improvement Required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The setting is very nice and if that is all you want then you might be satisfied. I was not.

Breakfast. One of the worst I have had in many years of travel. A glass of orange juice, a yogurt-like drink, two cheese and ham on a plate, stale bread, three other pieces of bread with three pats of butter. No fruit, no cereal, no jam, nothing. Coffee or tea.

Lunch and dinner. The menu has no salads and there are no dishes that include vegetables. I had them make me a limited mixed salad. I had some empanadas on my first day - very greasy. A form of fried potato seemed to be a staple of any main dish.

No maps for hiking. On one afternoon there were directions given to ascend some hills. It is best you are willing to scramble and improvise. Went on a walk to a local waterfall with a member of the staff - it was nice.

Asked to go horseback riding. Was told at 5 PM. Sorry we can't find the horses. Really?

Most of the staff do not speak English. The manager, who does speak English, seemed to have her interest focused on visiting friends.

Final note. I was the only person at the property. Maybe they were just not up to making the effort. In any event, I would not return nor would I recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    45
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
74
79
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ascona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but their restaurant was recommended to us and so we drove the 10km from Tafi del Valle on a dirt road, previous phone call to reserve a table and were not disspointed, it was worth it. Our Swiss friends gave this lunch 10 out 10 points after 12 days on the road thru the NW of Argentina. The steaks was perfectly done, the empanadas and pastelitos, were delicious.Very friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GranmaAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed only one day and regret not staying longer! Rooms are beautiful, very nicely decorated and with amazing views on the grounds. We went for a ride on their horses around the property and enjoyed that very much. We had dinner there and food was ok. Breakfast had limited options but maybe due to the fact that there were only 2 more rooms occupied apart from ours. Staff is very helpful. Beautiful place to stay and relax during your trip to the North of Argentina.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights but I would have stayed for ever! Great and quiet place, sorrounded by mountains. Incredible landscape, very friendly staff, great food and very nice rooms and bathroom. A great place to rest, away from the noice of the city and it's a short drive to Tafi del Valle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome - Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed one night in this beautiful estancia located close to Tafi del Valle. It's not easy to get there but it's worthy!!! The estancia is an old jesuit building dated in the 18th century. Rooms are very comfortable and the restaurant is superb! Unfortunately I couldn't enjoy the activities planned at the Estancia because I stopped only before heading to Cachi through the Routa 40. The owner gave me a lot of useful info about my trip in the North of Argentina.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioRicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We loved our 2 nights at Estancia Las Carreras. Built by Jesuits over 200 years ago, this is a place with a story to tell, and at night when they light candles throughout the patio and main house, it is a magical place! We enjoyed seeing how they make their own cheese and dulce de leche, and the other activities of the estancia. The staff are outstanding, and the food is delicious and surprising to find gourmet dishes at such a small property.
Expertly led by Hernan, We went on a trail ride, way to the top peak of the closest mountain- inspiring views, and a lovely mountain top picnic with homemade breads and cheese.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Las Carreras is one of the top places to stay in the area of Tafi del Valle. While it is technically an Estancia, it would be wrong to compare it with a traditional estancia such as you would find in the Province of Buenos Aires. This area has a different terrain, and activities are different to what you would have in the Pampas area. Staff is very friendly and try very hard to serve, mostly with good results. Outdoor views and activities are varied, the horseback activites are a must... the views are amazing. The drive into town is 14kms. so its best to arrive here with your own vehicle so you can have some autonomy to drive around or go into town for a meal if you want that flexibility. The style of the Estancia is rustic, but includes all amenities needed to make you comfortable, with excellent hot water and heating service (it was very cold when we visited). High speed internet is also available, and they have a TV room with Direct TV for those that need their daily dose. Some details with staff and food have room for improvement, but overall this place is very good considering you are staying in the middle of the mountains... I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaucho100K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tafi del Valle hotels
6.3 mi away
Estancia Las Tacanas
Estancia Las Tacanas
#4 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hosteria Lunahuana
Hosteria Lunahuana
#2 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cabanas del Valle
Cabanas del Valle
#1 of 33 in Tafi del Valle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Tafi
Hotel Tafi
#7 of 11 in Tafi del Valle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.5 mi away
Waynay Killa Hotel
Waynay Killa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tafi del Valle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica

Property: Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
Address: Ruta Provincal 325 Km. 13, Tafi del Valle, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > Tafi del Valle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing