We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem, fell in love with it, an oasis while travelling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estancia Las Tacanas
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Even though our stay at Las tacanas estancia was a while ago (end of 2011), we keep on thinking about our super memorable stay at LT! Not only were we struck by the absolute beauty of the place - the lovely renovated adobe house, filled with beautiful antiques, a wonderful garden and surroundings of mountain ranges, but we have also had the best company one could wish for. Monica was a very welcoming and warm host, and very hard working. Our stay felt as if we were welcomed by a family, and not as paying guest.

The house consists of the main premises, which has an age-old feel and is decorated with taste, antiques and old jesuit artifacts. There is a garden behind the main building, that is surrounded by the rooms, of which we rented one. The room was very comfortable, good bed, lovely linen with the initials LT embroidered in them, and good bathroom with a bath and beams on the ceiling. we immediately fell in love with it. The room has no TV. which we liked.

Breakfast was also great, there was fresh fruit salad, bread with cheeses and meat, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juices. It was such a relief to have a fresh and proper breakfast in Argentine, we had it with the common mini-croissant and dulce de leche after a few weeks of travel. The room for breakfast was beautiful, old paintings and a collection of antique plates on the wall, just very pretty.

As said, we felt like family there. We were invited up on a horseback ride into the mountains, where we drank mate with the guys, the typical ' Argentinean things' except from the fact that we didn't have to pay more than the locals and we never ever felt like tourists doing them (well, only when our horses had the best of us...). We met some great people, and made some good music until late in the night, at the house's asado. Some of the best memories from our journey in Argentina were made at Las Tacanas. It is amazing how relaxed the atmosphere was and the people were without being pretentious ( or hippies:))

If we could ever have a home in Argentina it would be Las Tacanas. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fergusson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

Lovely atmosphere. Rustic & peaceful. Monica,the manager, is very professional & attentive. Great location with comfortable accommodation. Memorable.

Room Tip: Think that all the rooms, although different,are good. Look at the website & contact Monica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Unik atmosfære, god takhøyde (i dobbel forstand), ekte, rustikt, rent og svalt. Store værelser, romslige bad, og vi sov godt! Deilig nypresset mandarinjuice til frokost, deilig nybakt brød, litt snaut med pålegg, men herlige frokostblandinger veide opp i massevis. Vertskapet snakket engelsk, tysk og spansk ++++, og service, varme og omtanke for sted og gjester hadde hovedfokus. Stedet ligger midt inne i den lille sjarmerende fjelllandsbyen Tafiz. Anbefales!

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room on the south side or choose a large and sunny corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondeduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

Estancia Las Tacanas in Tafi del Valle fulfilled all my expectations. I like to stay in small hotels in restored old buildings, offering comfort, ambience, great breakfasts, nice gardens and inexpensive prices. I have "champagne taste on a beer budget".
This 300 year old building is the oldest in the Valley, built by the Jesuits as the house for their missionary's farm.
The house has been in Senora Pena's family for about a hundred years as their vacation retreat. Now it is a boutique hotel. We were made to feel like true house guests rather than paying customers.
The house is filled with antiques, the beds comfortable, the linen to die for, the bathrooms squeekly clean anf the breakfast delectable.
The price was really inexpensive (under $US 30).
lastacanas@hotmail.com

4  Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank polloricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solano8, Propietario at Estancia Las Tacanas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank todosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tafi del Valle hotels
6.3 mi away
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
#1 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Lunahuana
Hosteria Lunahuana
#2 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabanas del Valle
Cabanas del Valle
#2 of 39 in Tafi del Valle
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nuestro Destino Bar & Hostel
Nuestro Destino Bar & Hostel
#6 of 39 in Tafi del Valle
48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Descanso de las Piedras
Descanso de las Piedras
#1 of 39 in Tafi del Valle
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waynay Killa Hotel
Waynay Killa Hotel
#3 of 12 in Tafi del Valle
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Las Tacanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Las Tacanas

Address: Avenida Pte J D Peron 372 | C.p. 4137, Tafi del Valle T4140AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > Tafi del Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Price Range: £76 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Estancia Las Tacanas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las tacanas was an old jesuitic estancia whose construction is dated around 1720 It functioned as a estancia till 2002 when it was remodelled to become a hotel boutique runned by the owners with a lot of history it is strategically placed in the village Visitors can go walking to restaurants and shopping in the area It is ideal to rest as it has a big garden that isolates it from the village You can organice asados in the quincho with all the ammenities needed We have a special room for incapacitates, disabled will have a room and bathroom specially designed for them We are eager to tell you about the history of this unique hotel and show you the original room from one of its early owners who was 3 times elected governor of the province and retired to manage his estancia in 1828 Tafi has a marvellous climate and scenery We will be glad tohelp you spend a nice stay in Las Tacanas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia Las Tacanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing